We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 9 June 2005

I took my senior citizen parents here because they love to just sit on the balcony and watch the water. We booked ocean view rooms. You must specify an ocean front room with balcony, or you will get a side room with no balcony. Also there are some "dune view" rooms with balcony, which are just that --you will look straight out on a retaining wall and the base of a dune, so book carefully. The room was SPOTLESSLY clean. This is difficult in a beach front hotel so I was impressed. Good water pressure and shower head in the shower also. Room had a dorm sized refrigerator and microwave, coffeemaker, hairdryer, safe, iron and ironing board. The furniture was just normal motel average, nothing fancy or great, but nothing was broken and the mattresses were new. There is a nice pool between the corner of the motel and the beach, and convenient beach access via a boarded walkway by the pool. Easy to rinse the sand off etc. There was also a very good variety at the free continental breakfast. The location is very central, directly across from the Wright Brothers memorial. The down side is that the elevator is as far away as it can possibly be from the ocean front rooms, so if you have mobility problems, that is something to take into consideration. It is a VERY long walk with seniors in tow, I'm guessing baby baggage would be the same problem. Tip: we've gone to the Outer Banks for years, and for good seafood Try Darrels over the bridge in Manteo, or the restaurant at the foot of the pier. Locals eat there, much better pricing than the tourist places.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Greasycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 320 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Richmond, VA
18
Reviewed 26 August 2004

We had made reservations at another Kill Devil Hills hotel, which turned out to be FILTHY. We drove to the Comfort Inn, where the staff made us feel truly welcome. They went out of their way to help us. The room was very clean and nice, easy access to the beach and pool. The breakfast was more than we expected, with plenty of food--a good assortment. We would definitely stay there again, based solely on the kindness of the front desk staff.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2004

We found this hotel to be not only an above average place to stay, but very convenient. After reading the previous review I was very apprehensive about staying there. We only booked the room a few days before we left so they only had 1st floor rooms. I was thinking that last years hurricane Isabel may have damaged the hotel. I was very surprised when we got there. The room was in great shape. There was no dampness and the facilities where in top notch shape. We stayed there the end of July, beginning of August.

I found the access to the beach to be excellent. We had never gone to the north end of the OBX, mostly near Wilimington. We found these beaches to be much more family friendly. Not hundreds and hundreds on the beach. There was plenty of space. Night time the beaches are practically empty. We found the drive that we were very central for drives to all the lighthouses.

The pool was in a nice area and just the right size for the few that used it. Most went to the beach.

That staff at the Comfort Inn was very helpful with recommendations for several of our meals and we were glad we had asked as they were places we might not have chosen.

I guess if some one is not used to staying at the beach in the summer, they might not know that it can be very humid and if you don't turn the air on in your room it might feel very damp. As for the sand at the beach it was plain old beach sand. Although I was at Wrightsville Beach, NC yesterday and the beach was very shelly, but that could be due to what Hurricane Alex may have kicked up on the beach at the beginning of the week. So perhaps they previous people were there right after a storm.

Also, if you want to stay right on the beach you'll have to pay for it, the prices are the same there as most of the other hotels up & down the beach.

I guess if you want to stay on the beach it is a good or better as any other hotel. We had a great time and everyone was very friendly. Have a great time!!!

P.S. Don't forget to plug you fridge in when you get there if you want it to be cold.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thegolfingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2004

Yuck! We left early and drove off the island to find another place to stay. The entire room was damp. The carpets, the sheets, the smell was like an old wet dog. The bed springs poked us, the toilet wobbled, I could hear the neighbor's conversation clearly through the bathroon wall. The beach was steep with brown, gritty sand. The pool was too small for my kids to swim in. I cannot believe that I paid $160 to stay in such a rundown place.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pokismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Stokesdale, NC
110
Reviewed 16 August 2003

One of the few handicap accessible hotels in the area that was actually usable for a handicapped individual(not just up to NC codes).
Otherwise, a great place to stay, clean, affordable, nice pool, nice employees.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Abraham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Catalin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
890 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing