We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in Tastefully Remodeled Beachfront Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I live in Eastern NC, and we decided to take a trip to the OBX for a couple of days, staying overnight in Kill Devil Hills. We arrived at this hotel at 7:30 in the evening. Check-in was smooth, and the front desk clerk was friendly and professional. She even upgraded us to a King Suite for no extra charge. Hot tea, apple cider, and chocolate chip cookies were being served up as a snack until 9 or so in the evening, so we took advantage of the apple cider which was very good on a cold evening. The lobby was very cozy, and we were pleased to find that the side rooms had both exterior as well as interior access (I don't believe this is true of the beachfront and roadfront rooms though).

The building has obviously been there for some time, but it is clean. I will summarize from here on...

Pros:

Fairly comfortable bed

Friendly staff - They granted us a little extra time for checkout without any hesitation.

Nice breakfast room

Warm/cozy feeling when you walk in the hotel

Convenient beach access

Cons:

Thermostat on the ac/heat unit in the room was not so accurate.

Walls are pretty thin, as we could hear a good bit of noise from other rooms, even though the noise was not above average.

All in all, this hotel is a very good deal, especially during the offseason, and we would stay again, without hesitation.

Room Tip: The side rooms (not oceanfront or roadfront) have interior and exterior access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for coming to visit with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct that the suites with the kitchens have an interior and exterior entrance, which many people find convenient for bringing in luggage. We hope we will see you again soon and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thanks so much! Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have enjoyed staying here for several yrs and are looking forward to our trip this June. We have had nothing but a pleasent experience here. If a issue arose it was handled promptly. you cannot beat it for value and hospatality

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMurrays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for continuing to make us your choice of accommodations whenever you visit the Outer Banks; we appreciate it so much! Your comments were very kind and I'm very happy that you continue to have lovely stays with us. We can't wait to see you in June (especially since the weather has been so cold this past January)! Thanks so much, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is one of the few hotels in the OBX that allows a one night stay during the summer season. We own a house at the beach that we rent out during the summer months and we always book one Friday night in July so that we can check on our house on Saturday between renters. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and well kept, but it is a Days Inn so the furnishings are basic. This was an older hotel that DI bought, so the lobby is has the lovely, old hotel feeling with real wood paneling and a big fireplace and nice setting area. Better than you'd expect with this level of chain hotel. Book one of the dune facing rooms on the second floor - you'll have a water view and a nice little patio area with deck chairs that only has four rooms that open onto it. We don't have children, but it is a very family friendly place.

Room Tip: Dune facing, second floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne30247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for continuing to choose us every year when you come to the Outer Banks! We appreciate all of our returning guests very much, and we thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm sure we'll see you again this summer and we look forward to it! Thanks, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Good value in offseason. Rooms clean, but "old school". Bathrooms nicely remodeled. Walls a little thin, think I heard the person in the next room snoring.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks and for choosing to stay with us! We are happy you found our rooms clean and tidy during your stay. We hope to see you again another time and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have been here before. Have always been happen with service and room. Will continue to use this as our "to go to" place. Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Deanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for continuing to choose us for your Outer Banks getaway! We appreciate your returning to us when you visit the beach and hope to see you again soon. Please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Address: 201 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £41 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Wilbur" is an oceanfront hotel located a half mile from the Wright Brothers Memorial and features all non-smoking rooms and suites. All feature: microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker and free Wi-Fi. Our guests enjoy a hot, complimentary continental breakfast daily as well as afternoon refreshments. There is an outdoor pool on-site (open seasonally), as well as a BBQ pit and guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing