We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was good but felt a little rushed....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Franco's

Cafe Franco's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was good but felt a little rushed....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Cafe Franco's is located in the same shopping center as Food Lion. Its not a very big restaurant but the food was very good. The only complaint was that it felt as though the waitress was rushing us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bikergirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    26
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Just went to Franco's this evening for my girlfriend's bday. GREAT FIND! A real hidden gem. food was great. atmosphere was comfortable, clean and quaint. not to fancy. not to casual. service was good and very friendly. was nervous about it being an important day, oh yeah, and my gf is not.only half Italian but she also lived there for a year. night couldn't have been better. thanks Leah and franco for a great evening in OBX. we'll be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A local recommended Cafe Franco's to us and we were so glad that they did! Excellent food, super friendly and efficient waitress, and a great experience overall. Can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MalagaMyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Horrible Service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Went to this establishment at 6pm on a Saturday night during the off season in OBX. By DC standards, it was not busy; no wait. The restaurant has limited seating; about 8 booths, six tables, and a small bar. With four waters/waitresses working ~3 tables each, this is the service we received. It took ten minutes to order food and drinks. Ordered both at the same time since we already had plenty of time to look at the menu. Ten minutes later we got our drinks. Ten minutes after that we got our bread and food at the same time. The food was great, not the best, but certainly delicious. Twenty minutes into our meal and we had not gotten any drink refills, so I went to the bar and got them. We finish our food and wait another twenty minutes before I went to the bar again and demanded the check. Frankly $43 for two people (2 x pasta, no alcohol) is pretty steep. Paired with this sort if service it's a ripoff. If you decide to visit this place, my advice is to sit at the bar.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank elevenbrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Good service, high prices, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I'm a local here in the Outer Banks and I live less than an mile from Franco's. When I first visited alone I had a wonderful meal (Ziti Sangiovannella) I remember it being delicious. My experiences since have been less than memorable. The food isn't horrible it's just not that great.

My most recent experience finally made me decide to write a review. I'll start off by saying one night I happened to be craving the ziti dish and tried to call in a to go order, after calling for 20 minutes and checking their web-site for hours and closings, I gave up. Recently I was again craving some pasta so a couple friends and I visited Franco's again. Service was prompt, waitress was charming and sweet. However, the Calamari was a small portion, my ziti was almost all noodles with little else (keep in mind it's described to have ground beef, ham, italian sausage and mushrooms in it) and my boyfriend who had the meat lasagna said it tasted more like chili.

Honestly I would go here again if I didn't feel like venturing to far from home, but this is not even close to the top of my list for dining in the Outer Banks. Lower the prices three to six dollars per entree and it would be easier to swallow.

On the plus side they do offer whole wheat pasta and gluten free pasta.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Franco's also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Cafe Franco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing