We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean small room, 3rd floor walkup”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Outer Banks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outer Banks Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Calabash, NC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Clean small room, 3rd floor walkup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was small and the bed was very comfortable. Their breakfast was okay. I was worried about the french toast being out and using the styrofoam plates in the microwave to heat it. Nice assortment of small fare for breakfast. Walk to the beach was short and fun. We had a special rate from a travel site offering and the price was worth it. Clean establishment. We would return and get a room on the first floor and go off season.

Room Tip: If you don't like steps, get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, I will certainly share this with them. I can say with regard to breakfast we are constantly changing and altering our breakfast assortment based on suggestions from wonderful guests such as yourself. Thank you for the feedback and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    105
    45
    16
    8
See reviews for
95
106
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We got a travelzoo deal and stayed here for $99 for the weekend. The location was perfect- walking distance to beach access (though they also offer a free shuttle). Rooms were simple, no frills, but nice and clean. The front desk staff couldn't be nicer- made us feel very welcome. They offer a free light breakfast in the AM and cookies at night. Our only complaint was the loud people above us as we could constantly hear the floors squeaking and them walking around. They also have a small pool for when it's warmer out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Undz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your weekend and your stay with us. I do apologize that the room above you caused noise issues. We certainly hope you would stay with us again, and if noise is ever an issue we welcome you to let us know and a lot of times we can remedy the situation. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

After using TripAdvisor last year to determine where I wanted to stay at, I chose this hotel and wrote a great review. Based off of that great experience and winter special, I ventured here again, this time with my family. This year, ALL of the staff were very accommodating and went above and beyond to resolve any issues at the hotel. There were a few electrical outlet plates that were messed up, but once I expressed my concern, a few hours later someone came up and fixed all of the issues. The continental breakfast was the same with bagels, cereal & milk, breakfast burritos, french toast, etc and I once again enjoyed eating delicious cookies in the late afternoon in the lobby. :) This hotel is in a great location, within a short walking distance to the beach, and a very short distance from many local shops. If you are on a tight budget and don't want to end up in a a dumpy hotel, this is the place to go. It is nice, simple, and not expensive. Overall, I plan on coming back sometime this summer! The customer service was the best part of my Outer Banks Inn Experience!!! :)

Room Tip: Stay away from the outside doors and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarahR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
I am so happy to hear you were able to visit with us again. Reading your experience is why we are in this business. We hope you are able to return soon and thank you again for such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wildwood NJ
Level Contributor
148 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We took advantage of a discount sites offer for a quick getaway weekend. Hotel was typical shorectown establishment. Only difference is thst staff here, specifically the manager and front desk folks, were very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was the ignorance shown by other guests. First the rudeness shown towards the help in terms of disputing room location at an slmodt full lodge, and secondly the noise, particularly the drunken lads making noise in the hallway at 430 am. They were old enough to know better. All thst being said, I hope this establishment offers the same discount deal next off season.

Room Tip: Stay away from the doors leading outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. I do apologize that you encountered such a disturbance at such a late hour. I was informed of this by our over night staff and they are trained to try and minimize this when it happens. We always run off season promotions and specials. Watch our website and Facebook page for the most current promotions. We do hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean..reasonable price..Staff could not have been better..every staff member we met was friendly and helpful! Very happy we followed the advice of others on this site! Note no elevator..but we stayed on the first floor. Very convenient location close to Wright Brothers, stores and restaurants. Our only regret--- we didn't have more time to stay here longer!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. Leaving does seem to always be the worst part of any vacation. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our stay at the Outer Banks Inn over St. Patrick's Day weekend was exceptional. Emily, Josh, and the entire staff were very friendly and helpful and made our first stay in KDH quite enjoyable. But their true graciousness showed when they offered us to keep our room a few hours past checkout time because we would have been travelling home through a snowstorm. Because of their thoughtfulness, we stayed comfortable at the inn and travelled after the storm passed. I could go on about the great location, clean rooms, etc., but it's the great people at the inn that really make the difference. We have no reason to even consider another place to stay in the KDH area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
I am extremely happy to hear you made it home safely. We all appreciate your kind words and certainly hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Definitely a good value for this area. A bit older but, well maintained, a friendly staff and a quality continental breakfast. A beautiful touch is the fresh hot chocolate chip cookies each afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for the kind feedback. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Inn

Property: Outer Banks Inn
Address: 1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8706
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiles are contagious, and courteous service is our standard. Our staff cares about your needs and will ensure that your visit is a very pleasant and memorable one. The Outer Banks Inn is nestled at MP 9 in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, NC. Let our experienced staff do the work for you. With our state of the art beach shuttle, trips to the beach are easy and hassle free. Let our front desk staff know when you are ready for a ride. Enjoy our continental breakfast, fresh every morning in the lobby. We are also pleased to offer Bath & Body Works bath amenities and LG flat screen televisions in every room. Relax by our outdoor pool, or just relax on the beach.We know the area and would love to assist you with your plans and activities during your stay. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey’s Ridge State Park is right up the road and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is about a mile away. There are many restaurants close by and we will help you find the perfect match for a great evening out.The Outer Banks Inn truly cares about your satisfaction and we welcome any suggestions that might help us improve our service to you. We appreciate the opportunity to present our hotel to you. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us. If you are looking for a memorable experience for the entire family, the Outer Banks Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outer Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Inn Kill Devil Hills, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing