We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome last minute mid-week trip.”
Review of Outer Banks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outer Banks Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I booked a very last-minute mid-week one-night stay and brought two kids with me (one ten year old, one 14 year old, cousins). We are about a 4-hour drive away and just packed up quick and headed to the beach. I was worried because it's a few blocks off the beach and I didn't figure my kids would be great at hauling a bunch of beach stuff but the hotel has a courtesy beach shuttle (an oversized golf cart that can tote multiple people and beach stuff!!). And it is available almost as soon as you ask for it - they give you a number to call when you're ready to be picked up. Plus, it's just three blocks from the public access boards (or walk across the dune - your choice), where there is a don's john AND two (open but very handy) shower heads so you can shower the sand and saltwater off and even change (if you absolutely had to).

Back to the hotel...I had a room with two double beds - small beds but plenty of floor space - a standard round table with two chairs. Temperature controls worked just fine. Plenty of places to hang towels and wet clothes...we never even turned the tv on, which amazed the kids. A fridge to hold our leftovers from dinner that we planned on eating in the middle of the night but the kids were too tired out from being on the beach all day.

Breakfast in the lobby was good enough. Cereals, milk, oatmeal, a toaster with bread choices, granola bars, etc. Coffee was good enough to get by. Front desk people were amazingly courteous and helpful. They offered a late checkout as soon as I checked in which was great. We didn't try the pool, it seems small. We were there mid-week and parking wasn't much of a problem...we moved in and out quite a bit for the short time we were there.

Some noise from the people above us but nothing to mention from room to room. We were near the ice machine and that was probably the loudest thing we heard but it's a hotel and sometimes you are the one getting the ice and other times you're the one listening to it.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor - there are three floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Wow, thank you so much for the detailed review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in such detail to help other guests in their decision on a hotel in the Outer Banks. We are so glad the beach shuttle was convenient for you and your family, and are glad to note other areas of your stay. We certainly hope that you will return again to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute because I just couldn't wait to get to the beach. After driving all night and not really sleeping great, we arrived at the Outer Banks Inn. They let us check in as soon as we got there! Staff was pleasant and friendly too. We really appreciate that! With two young children and me ending up having to go to urgent care, it was such a relief to have a place to stay as soon as we got in. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was small and had a little bit of a musty smell, but the price was right. I really cannot complain. It is right on the bypass pretty close to CVS too just in case you end up needing to go there like I did.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank SuperBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are so glad you were able to check in upon arrival. While we don't guarantee early check-ins, we certainly do our best to get you in as quick as possible. We are so glad that you were so pleased with the service of the staff at the Outer Banks Inn, and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Last minute trip to OBX. THANKS priceline, room was nice. Bed little firm. No view. 3rd floor no elevator not so fun with luggage but we managed. Well lit pool should be open past 10pm for late arriving guest.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surn4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We appreciate the review and the 4 star rating. The Serta brand mattresses are not for everyone, we are sorry it was a little firm for you. The hotel is a smaller 40 room property and cannot properly accommodate an elevator and since there wasn't an original one with the building, it is hard to add one, but we certainly do apologize if this was an inconvenience to you. Next time, if you want a lower floor, please call to request this and we will do our best to place you where you prefer. The pool closes at that time due to safety, security, liability, and to ensure a comfortable stay for other guests in the hotel. We hope you will return again and thanks again for your thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

At first I was a little leary because the price is so reasonable but,I can honestly say this was a great place to stay!The rooms are clean,the staff is awesome they give u free passes to the ymca and they even offer a light breakfast! I will always come here when staying here when vacationing in kill devil hills.There is nothing I would change and you get 20% off your next stay as long as it is in off season.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachbunny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hey there Beach Bunny! We are so glad that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay and are excited that you plan to return and become a lifetime guest! Yes, please don't forget if you come back after Sept. 1 - April 1 of 2015 you get 20% off your stay! We are so glad you enjoyed everything about the service and the YMCA passes and breakfast were amenities you enjoyed. Your review made us smile! Thanks so much for your feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice place to stay. The staff was very nice and there was lots of information such as brochures. We would like to see queen beds and a larger breakfast room. Highly recommend this hotel to others. This holt was in a great location for activities. It is an easy walk to the beach.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tanawha208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hey there, thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed the staff and appreciate the fact that you will recommend us to others. Unfortunately, the size of our rooms where we have the two doubles would not accommodate two queen beds adequately, with enough room for the guest to move around comfortably, so that is why we have the doubles. In addition, the breakfast is served in the main area due to lack of space availability, but we are glad that you enjoyed your stay even so. Thanks again for the review and don't forget about our Returning Guest Discount...we will look up your name so call us directly to book between 9/2/14-4/1/15! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a very nice, property. Excellent location. Easy walk to the beach, but a shuttle is provided. Good beach hotel, with an outside shower and a guest laundry. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great example of the fact that an inn does not have to be part of a major chain to be well maintained and operated. Only negative is that it is a three-story building with no elevator. When we pointed out that we would have a problem with the stairs, the staff went out of their way and found us a lower room. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, and specify what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Re B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Outer Banks Inn. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and we are so glad you were pleased with the shuttle, the maintenance of the building, and the amenities. We are glad that we could accommodate your needs to stay on a lower level of the building due to the fact we don't have an elevator, but because of the structure of the building and how small we are, there is no way to add an elevator. We do appreciate your understanding and the room tip to other guests regarding requests. It is super helpful, that if you have a request, you give us a call before your stay to clarify this. It is not always guaranteed, but we will do our best to fulfill the requests as seemingly possible. Thanks again for your kind words and we do look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Outer Banks Inn for 3 nights in June 2014. The room was a little small but roomy enough for 3. Room had 2 double beds, 2 chairs & a table, a small closet for hanging clothes, a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker and TV. The bathroom was good size. My 10 year old niece was with us and enjoyed the pool. There were plenty of chairs and tables to enjoy and the afternoon there was shady areas poolside. While the continental breakfast was nothing to brag about, it was enough to tie us over until lunch and included all carbs and coffee. Afternoon cookies in the lobby was a nice treat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa0669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Lisa, thank you for your review of the Outer Banks Inn. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We are glad the pool, cookies, and staff were a hit with your party and appreciate the kind words. Sorry the breakfast wasn't superb in your opinion, but we are always working to adapt and change things to better meet your needs. Please email us directly if you have any suggestions for the breakfast bar. Again, thanks so much and we hope that if you are ever in the area again that you will stay with us! Have a great rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kill Devil Hills hotels
2.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
441 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Inn

Address: 1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8706
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £45 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiles are contagious, and courteous service is our standard. Our staff cares about your needs and will ensure that your visit is a very pleasant and memorable one. The Outer Banks Inn is nestled at MP 9 in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, NC. Let our experienced staff do the work for you. With our state of the art beach shuttle, trips to the beach are easy and hassle free. Let our front desk staff know when you are ready for a ride. Enjoy our continental breakfast, fresh every morning in the lobby. We are also pleased to offer Bath & Body Works bath amenities and LG flat screen televisions in every room. Relax by our outdoor pool, or just relax on the beach.We know the area and would love to assist you with your plans and activities during your stay. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey’s Ridge State Park is right up the road and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is about a mile away. There are many restaurants close by and we will help you find the perfect match for a great evening out.The Outer Banks Inn truly cares about your satisfaction and we welcome any suggestions that might help us improve our service to you. We appreciate the opportunity to present our hotel to you. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us. If you are looking for a memorable experience for the entire family, the Outer Banks Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Outer Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Inn Kill Devil Hills, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing