We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast treat!”
Review of Beachside Bistro

Beachside Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The oceanfront, Beachside Bistro inside the Sea Ranch Resort is Open 7 days a week (in season), serving breakfast, lunch & dinner! We offer a menu that focuses on American Coastal Cuisine in a family friendly atmosphere. Dine inside or out with spectacular ocean views.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were staying at the Sea Ranch Resort and the beachside bistro breakfast was included in our beachside room. We went down for the breakfast every morning. Each day we were given three choices: 1. 2 eggs, toast, grits, bacon 2. Pancakes and bacon 3. Biscuits and gravy
Everything was turned into a tasty treat. Can't go wrong with this breakfast. The wait staff was great, friendly and always engaged us in conversation. I can see this place becoming a annual go-to. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Thank BrunoMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSB1731, General Manager at Beachside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review!! We are glad we could start your day the right way. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Service was awesome food was great you can eat on their deck with an amazing view of the beach and ocean

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ABNWHeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSB1731, General Manager at Beachside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review!! We are happy you enjoyed your experience with us and we are ready to do it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The restaurant was relatively slow when we were there at 10:30am with only a few other customers, but it was the best breakfast I have ever had (and I have had a LOT of breakfasts). The breakfast sandwich was perfect-- the toast was done and browned on the outside but softer on the inside, bread was buttered, eggs, bacon and cheese were delicious, and I asked for mayo on the sandwich and they put just the right amount so it wasn't overkill but didn't disappear either. Home fries were good also, not greasy or overdone, and we had the pecan pancakes and there were also perfectly done-- golden brown on the outside but moist inside and the flavor was terrific. The attention to detail was meticulous and that made it the best breakfast I have ever had-- I seriously considered getting another sandwich to go and wish I had, it was THAT good. I only wish I had taken a picture to share.

We also had dinner there a couple of nights earlier and that was also good. We had the conch fritters, crab cakes and fried oysters, and although the fritters were not one of my favorites, my husband really liked them and the sauce was a sweet compliment to the dish. The crab cakes were very thick, loaded with flaky crabmeat and seasoned to be tasty, and the oysters were also good.

It was early in the season, right before Memorial Day when we were there and not too busy, It was too windy for us to sit outside, but the view from the tables against the windows is beautiful with the dunes and grass and beach and ocean in the background. We would absolutely go back (and just might on our next trip). That breakfast was simply perfection, and the people were very nice to us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Oceanfronter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSB1731, General Manager at Beachside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review!! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to many more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As locals we have been here to eat at least 7 times and when we first started visiting it was always a great experience. However, lately we've been a little disappointed. Now that the weather is warming up when we choose where to eat we always consider Beachside Bistro because it is one of the very few outdoor dining experiences right on the beach. I have had their crab cake and mahi sandwiches at lunch and both are very good.

The last time we went for lunch 3 out of 9 people's orders at our table were wrong and the issues were not resolved. One person ordered sweet potato fries and never received them. One person got sweet potato fries but she ordered regular fries. Another person ordered chicken fingers which came out at least 10 minutes after everyone else's food and they came out with hot sauce on them which is not specified on the menu. The guest was not given an option and she was expecting regular chicken fingers when she ordered them. They were way too hot and she didn't like them but didn't have a chance to express her concerns because after dropping the food the waitress did not come back to check on her. I don't know if the mix up was in the kitchen or with the order the waitress put in. Regardless, the waitress should have caught the mistakes before they came out of the kitchen and then she should have come back to check and make sure they were all corrected. One person never got the fries he had actually ordered.

Last night we went on to the website to see what they had going on. On their dinner page they are advertising seasonal hours and dinner service Thursday - Saturday from 5 pm. But on the oceanfront dining page they are advertising dinner till 9 pm Monday - Thursday and till 10 on the weekends. This was conflicting information so we called the phone number on their Facebook page to ask but no one answered the phone. They are also advertising live music starting at 5:30 pm but when we got there we were told dinner was until 10 pm and the music starts at 8 pm. Hannah Buckley was playing last night and she was absolutely amazing. I feel like they did her an injustice because she was not promoted anywhere. If Hannah was promoted on the Facebook page I believe the restaurant would have had a much better turn out. They also had dinner specials last night which weren't advertised anywhere. We would have liked to know about the specials when we tried to call and ask questions. We did get in touch with the front desk of the hotel but they were not informative either.

One other point, as locals, we know we can just go out to the patio and take a seat. However, as we watched the other guests walk up it was clear that they were confused about where to go. I understand the crowd would not have validated a hostess but if this is the case the wait staff should be aware of guests walking in the door and be prepared to greet them and direct them where to go. It's kind of a free for all and it's not a warm welcome for the guests.

On to the service, we sat down and got drinks and ordered an appetizer right away. We had the pulled pork tostada and it was so delicious. The presentation was great and it was very fresh! However, the bartender was our server (which I'm still confused about) and he was not able to get back to our table to take our dinner order because he was serving guests at the bar. There were 2 waitresses standing by their station with not much to do and the bartender was serving drinks at the bar and running out to our table. Why? We were very happy with him but it did take a long time in between things because he had to wait for a break at the bar to run out to our table. We shared the Panko breaded Chicken for our dinner and the presentation and portion size were great. But, the seasoning was very subtle and overall it was bland. The next time we go we won't order that entree again.

We will continue to frequent Beachside Bistro for the atmosphere. But, I really hope the staff can get their act together before the beach gets really crowded with the season. And please, start advertising for your live music! The performers deserve the publicity and guests will come if they know about the entertainment!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ferris2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSB1731, General Manager at Beachside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We value your feedback tremendously and looked at that as a checklist of things we certainly cannot wait to start improving on. We apologize for your lunch experience as there are no excuses to incorrectly serve 33% of your party. We will address the coconut chicken and the situation of the bartender serving tables on the patio. We will see you soon, and thank you for taking the time to point the issues out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you are looking for something special, in my opinion this is not it. If you just want a beer and a burger/fish sandwich on white bread, you'll be fine. The beer is cold, the prices are what you would expect and the service is fine. They do have outdoor seating that looks over a dune on to the ocean - really can't see much beach. It's outdoors, it's the beach but it certainly isn't dressed up. So I think its ok all around but nothing very special.

1  Thank FELDER46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSB1731, General Manager at Beachside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, good or bad. We pride ourselves on the creativity of our daily specials and think the menu is well rounded and suits the majority of our customers. We do have white bread, burgers and fish, the only way you could possibly get it that way is to order it that way. Our local jumbo softshell with rendered pepperoni, shredded lettuce and Bistro tartar sauce was the special and sold very well. Hope you will try us again and select one of our daily specials. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachside Bistro also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Beachside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing