We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outer Banks Motor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
2 reviews
“Great value”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here based on the reviews and price point however we were still leary due to the price being well over $100 cheaper then the competors in the area. We took a chance and we are glad we did. We now know why the reviews were good, friendly staff, clean room and reasonable rates. Do not come here expecting brand new rooms. The room we stayed (#40) was clean and spacious. I think you would be hard pressed to find a better value. We will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeenyusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoot66, Owner at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write something nice about The Outer Banks Motor Lodge. We are glad you took a chance on us and even more pleased that you were pleased! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    51
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terrytown, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on the OBX so we would have access to the islands here (Duck, Corolla, Kill Devil Hills, etc.) before heading to the ferry for a few days on Ocracoke. The hotel was clean ,comfortable, and very close to the beach. The only complaints we had were there were no blankets (the night we were there it was cool) and the shower was tiny, tiny, tiny. There were also no pictures on the walls making it kind of cold looking. This in no way affected the comfort of the room, I just found it strange. The staff was friendly and accommodating, doing everything possible to make our stay as nice as possible. The price was also very good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerchild48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoot66, Manager at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for writing your review. We are glad you were comfortable and I want to apologize for not having a blanket on your bed and do hope that does not sway you from not trying us again. As far as no pictures on the wall - yes there are a few bare rooms. Some rooms we are re-doing the other rooms we are trying to update things such as pictures. This is long process as new management/ownership just really took over last year! You must have been in a room located behind the office. All other room have a full size shower/tub! Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel was recommended to me and I was told that you can't beat the price and it is clean and the staff is friendly. So, I booked it for a 2 night stay and I will say that it was a very pleasant stay. I stayed in a beachfront room on the first floor. When entering the room, it smelled fresh and clean. Usually in older places, you run into a musty smell, but not here! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The kitchen was stocked with pots, pans, etc., but if you are staying as a family or more than a couple of people, you may want to bring paper plates, etc. There are some dishes, but just a few. It was perfect for me because I was alone. It was nice to be able to open my door and go right onto the beach. There is a cement lip at the bottom of the door so you have to step up and down entering and leaving the room, but obviously it is like that to prevent bugs, etc. into the room, of which I had no problem with.

I enjoyed my stay and if I go again, I would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Would probably recommend staying on 2nd floor only due to someone may be above you and you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semartin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoot66, Owner at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Just wanted to take the time to say thank you for your trip adviser review and for taking your friends recommendation and giving us a try! Sometimes the best advertisement is word of mouth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

went down to the obx and stayed here. great value for the price. room even had a kitchen in it. the pool was great. will stay here again. if you want value definitely stay here. motel is right on the ocean and close to restaurants and wright brothers monument.

Room Tip: rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 296mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoot66, Manager at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Rooms are VERY affordable (off season) and, although I know it's a challenge, staff manages to make the well worn rooms pretty clean. Room was dated and kitchen was well equipped but lacked sufficient dishes/silverware (there were only 2 spoons, 2 forks etc.) since I cook most meals it was a challenge. Quick fix though !! Next time I'll bring paper plates and plasticware !! Staff was friendly and with the open porch concept we met a lot of nice folks during our visit. Oceanfront view is fabulous. We hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhelbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoot66, Manager at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your trip adviser review. We will take into consideration adding more utensils!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is our second time staying here and it did not disappoint. The room was very clean, the bed was super comfy, the pool was perfect and the staff are beyond helpful and friendly. If you're looking for hot tubs, full breakfast, etc this is not your place. If you enjoy simple comfort with awesome beach access you're in the right place. Also, the value is unbeatable! Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kharmah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoot66, Manager at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
So grateful for not only your trip advisor review but for also being a repeat guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's not the Ritz but it is clean! You can't beat the location and the right on the beach access. Not to mention it is the best deal in town. My husband and I stayed here for far less then the other hotels that aren't on the beach or have the amenities! Love that it is pet friendly to boot. The staff was great and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubaj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoot66, Manager at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kill Devil Hills hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
474 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,521 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motor Lodge

Property: Outer Banks Motor Lodge
Address: 1509 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7753
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a world of sand, surf, sun and fun at The Outer Banks Motor Lodge, a quaint oceanfront motel nestled on the beach in Kill Devil Hills. We are conveniently located and easy to find, with several restaurants within walking distance; close to all the OBX attractions in nearby Nags Head, Kitty Hawk, Duck and Roanoke Island. Our motel offers an inviting family atmosphere, warm hospitality, a friendly staff and clean spacious oceanfront lodging. There are a wide variety of rooms to choose from – including oceanfront, poolside, efficiencies and pet friendly-rooms. Our rates are affordable and a great value. The Outer Banks Motor Lodge offers many great amenities. Enjoy our beautiful beaches, the outdoor pool and our picnic and playground area, free wireless internet, guest laundry & vending. Family owned and operated, we know you will enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Motor Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Outer Banks Hotel
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motor Lodge Kill Devil Hills, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing