We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awfully Glad we discovered Arthur!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar

Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awfully Glad we discovered Arthur!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had dinner here on vacation with the family. AWESOME! We had to wait for a table at 5:30 so we went to the upstairs bar. The view was nice. When we were seated and realized how "tiny" the actual restaurant is then we knew why there was a wait. Service was good. The food was fabulous. The hushpuppies are a meal in themselves and are not to be skipped. The only complaint we had was that while those of us who ordered dinners that were "steamed" seafood got our food, those who ordered meals that needed to be baked/fried took longer and the food was not served together. We were already well into our meal when theirs arrived. But it was all good. We have added this restaurant to our short list of MUST GO TO PLACES when in OBX next year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CCKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    306
    124
    54
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No, thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We grabbed some takeout steamed shrimp, snow crab legs, and pups during our vacation to the OBX on multiple recommendations from friends and family.

We were totally not disappointed. Let me start with the hush puppies. Wow. I honestly don't have the words to describe how melt-in-your-mouth delicious they are. Fried to perfection!

The crab legs and steamed shrimp were fantastic. Seasoned beautifully.

Portion sizes were abundant and the food was just delicious.

Can't really speak to the "dine-in" experience, but the food is excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWFULLY AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My boyfriend and I loved it! Delicious food, great costumer service, fun atmosphere, just overall amazing, we make it a priority to come every year we visit the Outer Banks!!! LOVE THIS PLACE! Great prices and the food is just amazing! Can't get over how overall great our experiences have been whenever we go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT BAD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stopped in for lunch on a rainy afternoon. Place was packed, but service was alriight. Waitress recommended a tasty sample platter for us to share, along with some clam chowder and fab desert. Enjoyable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtland, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awfully Good Seafood!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place never disappoints!
We stopped by Awful Arthurs for lunch on Sunday.
I had grilled Mahi Mahi, saute'd shrimp and crab cake for my meal. Oysters Arthur (with bacon and parmesan cheese).
Service was the BEST I've experienced on the Outer Banks.

Enjoy

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing