We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar

Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have been serving the Outer Banks, NC for the past 10 years, with our very own twist on food from around the world – and around the block.Our local seafood menu is designed to cover all types of tastes, so even the pickiest member of your party will find something they enjoy.We’re a laid back, fun and offer a casual dining experience for the entire family. We offer a kids menu, so everyone will find their happy place.We laugh a lot and smile because we enjoy what we do here. We hope you enjoy your time here at our local OBX bar and grill, and on vacation at the Outer Banks of North Carolina.
Poquoson, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Local spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Get the fish tacos that's what they are known for, drinks aren't bad either if you in season get there early

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    190
    67
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haw River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome place and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Was told by a friend I had to try it when in OBX. Great choice on menu items, sorta of a Asian twist on seafood which was great. Great drink specials as well. Gets really busy and crowded fast. Get there early or stay late. I can't miss place if you are in OBX.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EtohExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Three if us had to wait a bit for a table on a weekday. It's quite popular. Once we got our table, service was friendly and prompt. Two of us had one of the specials - a tuna dish - and found it to be excellent. I ordered pad thai medium but it was so tasteless that I'm not sure what mild would have been. The menu said it had a twist, and I guess that meant that it looked and tasted just like plain pasta with red sauce. I would not have recognized it as pad thai unless the menu and waitress had told me that' sweat it was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RGaitherHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected but pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Superb service and an interesting menu including seafood and meat dishes. I was at first disappointed when my oriental pork and jasmine rice was served with cucumber but the cucumber was beautifully marinaded in a sweet chilli sauce and was delicious. If I was here long enough I would certainly return for more!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Fish Tacos! Fun Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just ate at Mama Kwan's at the recommendation of our hotel concierge. Delicious blackened fish tacos, crab cake sandwiches and fries. Excellent courteous service. Fun atmosphere! Gluten free options available. Conveniently located along Rte 158. Watch carefully for the driveway entrance. If you miss it, you'll have to go around the block to get there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing