We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food every time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar

Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have been serving the Outer Banks, NC for the past 10 years, with our very own twist on food from around the world – and around the block.Our local seafood menu is designed to cover all types of tastes, so even the pickiest member of your party will find something they enjoy.We’re a laid back, fun and offer a casual dining experience for the entire family. We offer a kids menu, so everyone will find their happy place.We laugh a lot and smile because we enjoy what we do here. We hope you enjoy your time here at our local OBX bar and grill, and on vacation at the Outer Banks of North Carolina.
Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful pork plate, great tuna, and good kids menu. This is my 4th time here and always great. Service is quick and friendly. Much better than Outer Banks Brewing Co. for the food, service, and value.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmnandop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    190
    67
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Our #1 Must Go To Restaurant on OBX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We go to the Outer Banks on average 2 times each year to visit family and, of course, the beach. Mama Kwan's is the one restaurant that we MUST go to each and every time we are in the area. We are an eclectic group...vegetarian, pescetarian, carnivore, picky, etc....and this is the favorite restaurant of everyone in our family. Service is always great, and the food is casual but really nicely done. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CloudFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
351 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Very good dinner, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped in about 5pm, just ahead of the dinner crush as this is a popular place. Fun decor, friendly service. We had the fish tacos and the ahi sandwich. Both were very good. Prices were good for the tasty food. Personally we liked the fish tacos from Food Dude's better, but these were good. We'd recommend and would return.

Helpful?
1 Thank jabberwockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrific tacos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Definitely get the fish tacos! They are delicious and a great combination of flavors. Love the jasmine rice, cabbage and sauce that go with the Mahi mahi. Good service and the place is always packed...a good sign!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen2775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Pork Dish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Mama Kwan's has been a family favorite over the years. Everyone always orders the marinated pork dish and invariably always clean their plates.I ordered the tuna taco this time. It was rather bland and lacked flavor. The restaurant is usually busy during prime dining time, but that is obviously related to the caliber of restaurant it is. Service this time was only fair, but they were extremely busy. I would like to suggest to Mama Kwan to add a marinated chicken dish to the menu, as I believe it would be hit with the non pork lovers that frequent the establishment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waltonlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing