We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CC back on top again”
Review of Colington Cafe

Colington Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled off the beaten path in a Victorian house surrounded by 400 year-old oak trees, we are a local's favorite. Our seafood is brought in fresh daily, and we use locally grown ingredients.All the locals love our filet dishes as well as our large menu.All desserts are homemade. We are a family run restaurant with most of our staff having been with us for over 15 years.We do everything to make sure all of our customers leave happy.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“CC back on top again”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Well it has been awhile since I have returned to Colington Café.
Well it did not leave me down, We had the Scallops Rumaki for $8 Scallops wrapped in Bacon topped with Teriyaki Ginger sauce, wow I just wanted to lick the plate clean. Other family had the Coconut Shrimp $8 just yummy they shared them with me. So onto the main course, we both choose the filet & Crabmeat $28 it was outrageously good. Made Reservations didn't have to wait in line, way better than Ownes and cheaper. They know how to serve you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    742
    121
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
261 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, wine, and service”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We again enjoyed an excellent dinner here, having several of the specials of the day: (1) calimari ceasar salad, crab cake, and salmon and crab. The wine is nicely priced, with very nice wine glasses. The creme brulle was great. Overall excellent and we will continue to return to this slightly off the beaten track place

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“30 years and still great”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After 30 years we are still enjoying every meal at the Colington Cafe. Fresh and beautifully presented food served by the most professional staff. You feel like family when greeted at the desk no matter who has host or hostess duty. Specials are always very creative and not to miss. First day we arrive in Southern Shore someone asks when do we go to Colington. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jottela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
493 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We loved this place! It was recommended by our b&b and
we are glad we went! It's a 'hidden
gem'. It is not easy to find, but well worth the search. The decor is charming and warm. The server was very professional and made some great suggestions about what we might like on the menu. He was gracious and efficient. The food was so delicious! I wish we lived close to this place because it would be a favorite. But, we are from out of state so we will have to settle for our next visit to the Outer Banks and we will definitely recommend this wonderful restaurant to our friends.

Helpful?
Thank michelewave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have made Colington Cafe a regular restarant stop on my many trips to the area for the past 15 years. The place has always been wonderful, but tonight's meal may have been the best yet. It is a large and diverse menu and they do it all perfectly. Holly was the best server we have ever had there and every one we have ever had was great. And to top it off, the prices are less than most places with this caliber of food. A must!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moondogg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colington Cafe also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Colington Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing