We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite dining experience”
Review of Colington Cafe

Colington Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled off the beaten path in a Victorian house surrounded by 400 year-old oak trees, we are a local's favorite. Our seafood is brought in fresh daily, and we use locally grown ingredients.All the locals love our filet dishes as well as our large menu.All desserts are homemade. We are a family run restaurant with most of our staff having been with us for over 15 years.We do everything to make sure all of our customers leave happy.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A favorite dining experience”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. The waitstaff was terrific. At her recommendation, we enjoyed the grilled shrimp appetizer and for the entree- salmon with cucumber salsa. Both were amazing. This should be on your dining list as it's a must go-to in the OBX

Helpful?
Thank Dez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    742
    121
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Colington Cafe is located in a cottage away from the hustle and bustle of the main roads. The furnishings are eclectic and the dining rooms invite a warm casual experience. The wait staff were friendly, attentive and always right there to make our meal a great occasion. A top notch dining event from start to finish: excellent dishes, reasonable pricing and a comfortable relaxing atmosphere. Can't wait to go back again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John_S34039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford CT
1 review
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Came down to OBX on vacation. We were looking for a nice place for dinner and came across Colington Cafe's reviews. It more than lived up to our expectations. Waitstaff was welcoming and attentive. Quality and taste of our meals was excellent. We would go back on a future visit to OBX.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarpeDiemRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We made reservations at this wonderful restaurant on a friend's recommendation and we were not disappointed. The food was fantastic and the service was outstanding.

Every diner ordered something different and everyone was very happy. Some of the highlights included the crab bisque, the rumaki, and the crabcakes. I could actually go on and on because everything was delicious. The desserts were very good, but the peanut butter cheesecake was surely a hit.

What really made this meal special was our server, Shannan. She was incredible. She was attentive, friendly, and made the meal an outstanding one. Make sure you request Shannan if you make a reservation. You will not be disappointed.

This is surely a place that we will add to our list when we return to the Outer Banks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BURGESS-IN-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cooked to your liking.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had dinner with 7 friends and we all ordered something different, but we were all very pleased. I had the mixed grill that night. 4 oz tuna and 4 oz filet mignon. I asked the tuna to be seared and the filet medium rare and so they were served. Location is a quaint old mansion off the beaten path, but very easy to get to. Only "shortfall" is that they only serve beer and wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blackheath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colington Cafe also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Colington Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing