We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Que”
Review of Pigman's Bar-B-Que

Pigman's Bar-B-Que
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pigman's Bar-B-Que is the premiere barbeque restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. For over 16 years, we have been serving up 'Que to tourists and locals alike. We have won multiple awards including "Best of the Beach" in the BBQ category in 2012 and BBQ Showdown OBX "Best Ribs" in 2013! We offer many varieties of BBQ with signature sauces to go along with it! We have all the fixings you can imagine and we also do catering.At Pigman’s Bar-B-Que, we take all the necessary steps to make our BBQ unique as well. For example, all of our signature BBQ’s are cooked on site by smoking. We cook this way for two reasons: To cook the meat slowly to retain the natural juices, and infuse it with oak flavor. Then we add our signature sauces, thus creating BBQ. Every BBQ option we sell is hand-crafted, and has some sort of vinegar-based sauce added to them. Although our vinegar-based BBQ options are delicious, we have discovered that there are many different palates out there to please. As a result, a few of our BBQ options have ketchup and an additional blend of proprietary spices to give our customers a “tomato based” option, also known as “ketchup based”.
florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delicious Que”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We ate here on our first evening in OBX. The barbeque samdwiches (regular size) were huge and delicious. I can't imagine how large the jumbo must be! The shredded que was so moist, sauce wasn't really needed. Fries were hot and good as well. I didn't care for the hushpuppes but DH liked them. Great Value for Alot of delicious food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pianogal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks for the kind comments pianogal! We are so glad that you enjoyed everything and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    187
    113
    38
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Bar-B-Que”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had Pigman's handle our food for our wedding. Wehad a small wedding party but Pigman's delivered right to our door. They were so nice and helpful. The BBQ was the best in the OBX.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Melissa, thanks so much for letting us be a part of your special day. We are so glad that you thought so much of us to write a review and hope that you will recommend us and visit us when in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good bbq”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had dinner there one night and it was very good. I had the turkey que and my husband had the pork. The price was right and you get plenty of food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LEGrayNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thanks so much for the great review. We hope you will return soon for some more turkey-que!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesomeness!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Love this place!! Always eat here when we are in town. My sandwich melted in my mouth, hush puppies are yummy! Can't wait for our next trip, for some BBQ.

Helpful?
Thank curly0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We are so glad to hear your a returning fan of Pigman's BBQ! This is what we love to hear! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“If you are in the Outer banks of NC, this is the place for real BBQ”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The BBQ is excellent, one of the best that I have ever tasted, the ribs are superb, if you are in the Outer banks of North Carolina, try this restaurant, also great Hush puppies and fries

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks Pedro. We are so glad you enjoyed Pigman's BBQ and hope that you return soon for some more good Que and sides!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pigman's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Duck, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Pigman's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing