We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great barbecue, great service”
Review of Pigman's Bar-B-Que

Pigman's Bar-B-Que
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pigman's Bar-B-Que is the premiere barbeque restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. For over 16 years, we have been serving up 'Que to tourists and locals alike. We have won multiple awards including "Best of the Beach" in the BBQ category in 2012 and BBQ Showdown OBX "Best Ribs" in 2013! We offer many varieties of BBQ with signature sauces to go along with it! We have all the fixings you can imagine and we also do catering.At Pigman’s Bar-B-Que, we take all the necessary steps to make our BBQ unique as well. For example, all of our signature BBQ’s are cooked on site by smoking. We cook this way for two reasons: To cook the meat slowly to retain the natural juices, and infuse it with oak flavor. Then we add our signature sauces, thus creating BBQ. Every BBQ option we sell is hand-crafted, and has some sort of vinegar-based sauce added to them. Although our vinegar-based BBQ options are delicious, we have discovered that there are many different palates out there to please. As a result, a few of our BBQ options have ketchup and an additional blend of proprietary spices to give our customers a “tomato based” option, also known as “ketchup based”.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great barbecue, great service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Pigman's is a great place for barbecue, and especially stands out against the backdrop of touristy restaurants in this area that clearly don't give a damn. The ribs were tender and cooked to perfection, and the sides were excellent. Ordering was quick and easy, and our food was out within minutes. The staff is friendly and efficient. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akh345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are so glad we were able to deliver for your family!!! So glad to hear that you will be back...we certainly do appreciate your loyalty to Pigman's BBQ and are glad that you had leftovers to enjoy as well. In addition, we are pleased that you were pleased with the freshness, taste, and timeliness of your Pig-nic order!!! See you again next year, and thanks so much for the review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    187
    113
    38
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty, Tasty BBQ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in on one of the rainiest days I've ever seen on the OBX, so they were slammed when we arrived. Even so, we still got our food in under ten minutes - wow!

We both got the quick lunch "boats;" my husband got the pork barbecue and I got the beef. Both were delicious! The cole slaw was refreshing, the hush puppies were divine, and the fries were hot, crispy and perfectly salted. Also loved the Rib-roarin' sauce on my beef barbecue.

I'm only sorry I didn't try the tuna barbecue... Not because I didn't enjoy the beef, but because the tuna sounds really interesting! I know what I'll be trying next time!

Helpful?
Thank stormygirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are elated you and your husband were able to enjoy the BBQ boats despite the rain...and glad they were fast out to you! Efficiency is important to us, especially when our guests are hungry and wet! We are glad all the food was to your liking and look forward to your return! Definitely try the Tuna Que when you come back for something different! Thanks so much for taking the time to review us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent BBQ with friendly...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent BBQ with friendly staff!!! Food tasted great and even the kids and wife ate all of their BBQ and they are the ultimate critics as if there are trace amounts of fat they will turn their nose up in a second. The sides were excellent as well, we will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hey Harold!! We are so glad we passed the test of your family! We know it is super important that the wife and kids approve of meals while on vacation so we are happy that we were able to please! Thanks for the kind comment regarding the staff and look forward to you and your family's return to Pigman's!!! Have a great rest of your summer, thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montoursville
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice meal and good BBQ”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having spent time in North Carolina in my younger days, I have longed for some good Carolina BBQ. Well, Pigman's has it and much more. Wife and I shared a delicious meal at Pigman's. She is not a big fan of Carolina (vinegar based sauce) style BBQ but even she said this was some of the best she ever had. This place will now be on our list of yearly stops during the annual visit to Hatteras Island.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charleygop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Charley, we are so glad we were able to fulfill your need for some NC BBQ and that you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed your experience. We are so excited to become a stop on your list. This is a great thing and we are so glad we were able to be that place for you! Tell your wife that we appreciate her business and input as well! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BBQ at its best”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I am a NC girl and I know good BBQ. Pigmans has it. Very very good. Everything. We ate there and went back the next day and got some take out. Friendly service too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank obxjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hey obxjm! We appreciate your review and are so glad you were able to come back a second time and get some great BBQ! We hope you will return! Thanks so much for the comment on the service! Have a great rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pigman's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Pigman's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing