We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room and Wedding location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful room and Wedding location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My niece booked Sea Ranch Resort for her beach wedding and reception. It was a beautiful location. The hotel room was decorated beautifully and the view - sigh - perfect!

The staff were so helpful before, during and after the event. On a personal note, I have a food allergy and after speaking with the director of catering, I was encouraged feeling like I was in safe hands. They didn't let me down when they brought me my food - delicious. Friendly staff, great food, great venue!

S. Stone
Suffolk, VA

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherriS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thanks so much for your review! The Sea Ranch really offers a great location for a beach ceremony and we are grateful to have become part of this very special day for you and your family!

Hope to see you during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    238
    70
    31
    26
See reviews for
279
323
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

If its an Ocean View you're looking for, this is the Place! Absolutely gorgeous view of the water...and CLOSE!!! Rooms were comfortable, clean, and somewhat spacious. Really had everything you need for a nice comfortable stay.
The only downside was a slight smell of natural gas on the 5th floor balcony and often while sitting on the beach you could smell it. But that didn't take away from a lovely stay! The restaurant is incredible too....food was very good.

Room Tip: room 519....excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our first family trip to Outer Banks was awesome! We have two kids and I would definitely recommend staying at Sea Ranch. In calling to get information the front staff was extremely helpful. They even gave me tips on the area for kids and (Toni?) even offered to take a picture of the back of the building and email it to me! Also, this was the only resort in the area that I could find that does not have a sand dune or grass on the beach side. When this describes beachfront, it is right on the beach. If you have kids I would definitely get the condo. My husband and I had a king size bed while my two kids had their own room with twins. Lots of room for all of us. Condo was very clean and very spacious. We did not have a dvd player in our room and I called the front desk and they delivered it within 10 minutes. The pool is indoor which was very nice because it rained a couple of days. Some comments said the condos were pricey. Check around prices in the area and you will find it is very reasonable. We stayed ocean front. Beautiful view. I would highly recommend staying here. We were very pleased with it overall!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much and had a great experience with our staff as well! The suites definitely offer more 'home like' conveniences -- great for families!

We hope that you will be our guest again should you return to the Outer Banks and thanks for leaving your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stay here every time we visit the beach and always enjoy the rooms, especially the oceanfront! The balcony has a lovely view of the ocean, and the west side entrance gives a great view of the Wright Brothers Memorial, especially from the 4th and 5th floor. All of the staff are very friendly and always accommodating, and the beachside bistro is not to be missed for a delicious meal on the oceanside deck. I would definitely recommend the Sea Ranch for any beach excursion. We love it!

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldblumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in May! And we do appreciate your review--it's very helpful to guests who may not have visited us and are planning their trip. We hope to see you again in the future--and thank you for making the Sea Ranch Resort your destination in the OBX!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

This is my annual sister's vacation week & the 2nd time we have stayed at Sea Ranch. We all had ocean front rooms and when I say ocean front I mean so close u feel like u can reach out & touch the water. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and quite large equipped with a small refrigerator, microwave & nice size flat screen TV but the best part was the wonderful balcony overlooking the ocean. The hotel staff was very friendly and did I mention the resturant The Beachside Bistro it was fabulous. The best we had all vacation.
We will definitely be back. Wonderful Vacation!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at the Sea Ranch Resort May 24-May 26 (Memorial Day weekend). We have stayed on the Outer Banks for years and were pleasantly surprised. There were 6 of us and we had the 2 bedroom condo. It was perfect for us, clean and what a view! The ocean was RIGHT there. We ate breakfast at the hotel also, it was perfect. It's a great location and we look forward to staying again, everyone was happy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank run4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your Memorial Day experience! We love hearing from our guests and appreciate your taking the time to review the property. And, we hope to see you again---maybe a Memorial Day stay will become a tradition in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

There are just a handful of hotels on the OBX that can offer rooms right on the beach......and I mean less than 150 feet from the soothing sound of constant breakers on the shore. We were able to keep the door off the balcony open at night, catching the cool breezes and sounds of the ocean. Nothing fancy.....staff was extremely friendly. And the food.......wow! You can waste a lot of time and money searching and experimenting with recommended eateries, but the Bistro had outstanding dishes at prices that were easily 50% less than many higher-end places. And the location is ideal if you plan on other activities.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the south end of the building are ideal......at least 2nd floor or higher. More pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for spending your Anniversary with us (and, congratulations!); we're so happy that you enjoyed everything...especially the view. And, we're glad that you had the chance to dine in the Beachside Bistro--we're VERY proud of our menu offerings and think that it's a little gem,
hidden here by the waves! We hope that you return....next Anniversary...or before that if
you can? We look forward to welcoming you here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing