We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Big Snow of Jan. 2014”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Big Snow of Jan. 2014”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My sister and I checked in on Sunday afternoon, Jan 26. Jen was very welcoming, our room was clean an well stocked. We were given breakfast vouchers to The Jolly Roger, just down the street. Wednesday AM we awoke to 6 inches of snow and lots of ice!! But we could walk to the Jolly Roger, and we had a lot of paper work to do, and the power did not go off!! So all was well. The parking lot was plowed on Thursday, the temp warmed up, we were able to depart Friday AM as planned. We were snowed in at the best location on the beach!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollihollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review! I am sure you weren't planning on snow at the beach, but it's such a beautiful thing to see! We hope that you will return as the weather gets warmer and can spend some days soaking up the sun and sight seeing!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    264
    74
    33
    27
See reviews for
304
349
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is our first trip to the OBX and stayed here between Christmas and the New Year. The check in was very easy and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and met our needs. I would booked a condo in the future just to have a little more room and a kitchen.
We love the closeness to the beach, we were like just 2 mins from the beach! Can't beat that. There is a heated pool in a heated tent but we did not swim but have seen several other guests taking the plunge. Breakfast for us were included at the Jolly Rogers.

For those who do not have a group large enough to rent a vacation home, this is one of your best choices in OBX. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of out location! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

At the desk they were willing for us to change our original reservation of two nights in the main bldg which allowed us one night oceanfront. We had a package deal and they adjusted it in the computer so it would work. Friendly, flexible, helpful. Two complaints - the first room wasn't cleaned very well. We found food on the carpet that had not be vacummed. The other was the band they hired for New Year's Eve. While they played a variety of songs, they seemed to only have one tempo - slow. Their audience wanted to dance and kept asking them to pick up the tempo, but that didn't happen. One friend said, "Don't you all take a break?" I'd never heard someone want the band to stop and put on the stereo before.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and have addressed the concerns that you had with the cleanliness of your room with our housekeeping staff. Regarding the music, we appreciate your honesty and this will help us better identify in what our guest are looking for in entertainment for future events.

I am pleased to know that your overall experience was great and we hope that you will return to the Sea Ranch Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to treat each other to a trip to the OBX for Christmas. We stayed Dec 26-28 and had an oceanview room. It was an incredible trip! The room had everything we needed with a huge king size bed, TV, sitting area and friendly staff. The comp breakfast at Jolly Rogers did not disappoint at all....huge portions and very cool decor with an awesome waitstaff. If we make it back to Kill Devil Hills we will be staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Win4ecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I am so glad that your travels led you to the Sea Ranch for a quick winter get-a-way! We hope that you will make it back when the weather is a little warmer! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!

Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I've stayed on a lot of oceanfront property but the proximity to the actual ocean is competitive with any you could possibly find. The Jolly Roger is a good restaurant for the resort to offer as a breakfast accommodation; great portions and maybe the best waffle you will ever have. The staff was genuine, which I personally prefer to someone being nice. You could do much worse finding a place to stay in the OBX.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for reviewing your stay with the Sea Ranch! Please stay in touch for special events coming this Spring! We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I just left yesterday. I certainly did not want to leave. This was my first time traveling out of my home state but still I'm not understanding the bad reviews. The king bed in room 1 was very comfortable. Room 2 which had 2 twin beds was just right for my kids & although it didnt have a tv, they still enjoyed it. As far as not having room service, I didn't find out until I arrived but it didn't put a damper on my vacay, if anything was needed, I just went to the front desk and asked. I was expecting a balcony and not an enclosed patio but oh well. This room had everything described. The office staff was nice & cheerful and the maintenance man I ran into was hilarious. I can't wait to go back. Planning to return in spring for a week.
If you eat at Jolly Rogers, just know their portions are huge; fulfilling.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank V Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay. We are all pleased that you had such a positive experience and you're planning another trip to stay with us! Don't hesitate to give us a call if we can assist you with making your next reservation! We look forward to seeing you this Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We chose to come to the Outer Banks on a whim during the off-season because of a deal too good to pass up, offered by the Sea Ranch Resort. We chose an ocean-front room, which was definitely the right choice. The room has a mini fridge, a kurig, microwave, and a small sink - a perfect mini kitchen for vacation.

The room was clean, and our housekeeper, Cindy, kept everything stocked - fresh towels, new soap, and more coffee each time we returned from our adventures.

We did swim in the pool once - it was a bit chilly, as December can be, but the pool area was okay. It was still a bit cold for my liking, but we swam for about a half hour and had a good time. We were the only ones to utilize the facility. My one piece of advice for the pool area is to put your belongings on a chair - our clothes were soaked after putting them on the ground - not sure why, as we didn't drip on them.

My only complaint (if you can call it that) is that when the heat kicks on, it's really loud. It does this a few times during the night. Not sure if it does the same for A/C as well.

Our stay included breakfast, for which we were given vouchers to the Jolly Roger right down the street. These were nice, but the vouchers have limited options - eggs, toast, potatoes, and meat; pancakes or waffles and bacon; biscuits and gravy; or oatmeal and fruit. The vouchers include coffee, tea, or soda. I would not recommend the Jolly Roger for breakfast,, but that has no bearing on my review of the hotel.

Room Tip: Oceanfront queen is the way to go. The second floor has vending, ice, and beach access, so if possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you were able to visit us this December and hope that you will come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,493 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing