We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun weekend”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reidsville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun weekend”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here this past weekend, and it was very nice. Not fancy, but clean and pleasant. The staff was so sweet! I would definitely recommend it to anyone lucky enough to go Kill Devil Hills. They have a nice pool (indoor, heated), so you can swim even when the weather isn't accommodating. They have a nice café and had music there on the weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much about your recent stay with us! I will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff, and we all look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    265
    74
    33
    27
See reviews for
305
349
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The ocean front room we had with floor to ceiling glass windows and a door had a spectacular view of the ocean and given the fact the beach is quite short in this area the ocean seems to almost come into your room. The front desk was very professional and friendly. We had breakfast included in our package and again ate with great views of the ocean. In spite of bad weather we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay! We hope that you can make it back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for a week at the Sea Ranch Resort in April, and we were quite pleased with our stay. The price was good; we wouldn't have found a house ON the beach for what we paid here, and we really wanted to stay ocean-front. For that reason, we decided to give it a shot, and that was a great decision. We had a condo on the third floor, and the view was awesome! We enjoyed numerous beautiful sunrises, and on one morning, we watched the dolphins in the water for quite some time. Being able to see them without leaving the room was great!

The rooms were not overly fancy, but it's clean and the beds are comfortable. The rooms could use a makeover (things are a bit dated); we were told a remodel is coming soon. There were two flat-screen TVs, and there was even a cable to hook up a DVD player (which we did to watch a movie one night). The kitchen was adequate, but would have been better if there was a larger baking sheet (at least pizza sized). We were quite happy with the condo.

There is a restaurant on site, but it was only open for breakfast on the weekend during the off-season. We had a couple of breakfast sandwiches, though, and they were fantastic. The prices were good, and the staff was very nice. I wish we'd have been able to try more at the restaurant, but understand why they aren't open all week. They had live music on Saturday night, which was nice, too.

The beach wasn't huge, but it wasn't crowded, either (in April). It was perfect. The kids enjoyed playing in the surf/sand and picking up shells that washed ashore. We also were able to walk down to the Avalon Fishing Pier, which provided nice views of the beach. We never did make it to the pool, so we can't comment on that.

The location couldn't be better. You're right in the heart of everything. There are tons of attractions nearby; the Wright Brothers monument is VERY close, as are numerous restaurants, shops, & other activities. It's a quick drive to the attractions in Manteo and not too far up to the wild horses in Corolla. We couldn't have been happier with the location!

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They answered questions and took care of every issue we had quickly. Something was left in our fridge, but they were very apologetic & took care of it. They also recommended local restaurants when we asked, which turned out to be great.

We would definitely stay at the Sea Ranch Resort again, and we will recommend it to friends going to the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such a detailed review! I am glad to hear that you all enjoyed the in-room and on-site amenities as well as the convenient location to local attractions and dining! I will aslo be sure to pass along all of your kind words on to our staff!

We look forward to seeing you back this way soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Enjoyed staying here even though the weather was terrible. The desk clerks were very personable. We stayed in a two bedroom condo which had two balconies with views of the ocean. The condo was a little outdated but very clean and equipped with every thing we needed. Would definitely stay again! Hope the weather is better next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay even though the weather didn't cooperate! Thanks for taking the time to share your review with other travelers and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I read the reviews before booking 3 nights at the Sea Ranch Resort. The reviews seemed ok to us.

We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath oceanfront on the second floor. I realize the resort is old but updates are necessary.

The kitchen cabinets had some kind of wallpaper glued to the front of all the cabinets. There were stains on the carpet.

One of the screens on the enclosed deck was ripped completely in half and the jagged edges hanging down were the first thing to greet us upon entering the master bedroom and looking out the sliding door. I called the front desk the next morning and a maintenance person came out several hours later (after a second phone call from me) to replace the screen. It seems to me there should have been a room inspection prior to us entering the unit. The person at the front desk said it was from the recent wind but this screen had been ripped for days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank RollingStone304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am sorry to hear that the 2 bedroom suite did not meet your expectations and hope that you were able to enjoy the amenities that the Sea Ranch has to offer during your stay!

With regards to the comments in your review, maintenance issues are prioritized by urgency of nature of the call. I will follow up to make sure that our staff addressed this issue appropriately.
Also, as you may have read in some of the previous reviews, the upcoming off season (2014/15) will bring a number of upgrades to the suites. We will have more details this fall so please stay in touch!

If you would like to discuss the details of your stay, please contact me personally at the Sea Ranch.

Best regards,

Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Overall the Sea Ranch totally met our expectations as a quiet, relaxing weekend getaway. Beautiful view right on the ocean. Location was very convenient for traveling to restaurants, etc since it is on the beach road that runs parallel to the main highway. The renovations that we were told were done in 2012 have made it very attractive. They still need to work on the elevators, which work but are very slow. it was nothing luxurious but very nice and comfortable and we would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baka-Fanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We thank you for taking the time to review and share with other travelers! We hope that you will return when travel leads you back to the Outer Banks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I chose the Sea Ranch for a week stay for our 25th Anniversary trip. We had a 4th floor balcony King room and the view was spectacular! Each morning I sat on the balcony and watched the sun rise and dolphins play. Our room was large and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was a nice size as well. Since we stayed for a week, there was plenty of storage for the two of us. Our check in and check out was quick, and the staff helpful. Although there are plenty of places to eat, it was very nice to have the Bistro at the Hotel. We truly enjoyed our week at the Sea Ranch and have wonderful memories. We would certainly stay here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMaggieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Happy Anniversary! I am pleased to hear that you all had such a lovely stay! We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope that you will continue to visit year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,494 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing