We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the hotel in the advertisement?”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where was the hotel in the advertisement?”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Choose this 'Resort' because of the pics and great reviews but what a mistake I made.Checked in the clerk never made eye contact. No elevators on our side of the hotel. Had to drag luggage up to second floor. No automatic doors. Our room overlooked the hotel trash bins. The room was stale and musty smelling. No staff helping. They must have been writing all the 5 Star reviews of this hotel. Skip this place and try ANYWHERE else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your recent stay. Your comments concerned me and are very unusual for our hotel property. We strive on a daily basis to exceed our guest's expectations and provide outstanding guest service as you can tell by our Trip Advisor reviews. I will personally share your comments with our team.

If you'd like to speak to me directly about the details of your stay, I'm happy to hear from you. I can be reached at 252-441-7126 or info@searanchresort.com.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    272
    76
    36
    27
See reviews for
317
356
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed there with my wife and our two kids and the place was so peaceful and the staff was so nice and helpful would recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay at a greAt place in kill devil hills

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABNWHeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We hope that you will be our guest again soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

First-Timers: My partner and I stayed here for four days in June 2014. Excellent location. Our room (317) was located right on the beach. The view was to die for. We woke up every morning to the sound of the water crashing against the shores and the seagulls swooping down into the ocean for their meal. Sunrise was perfect. The beach was never crowded. The resort is not luxurious by any means (that's why I gave it a four), the room was spacious and clean. The restaurant at the hotel was good (beachside Bistro). We had breakfast there everyday, never disappointed. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. Overall, an excellent choice. We would definitely recommend for couples. We loved the whole outer banks experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the excellent Trip Advisor review. Please feel free to contact us if we can help you with planning your next trip to the Sea Ranch Resort!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Paid $99 for last minte deal and got a room with 2 queens. For that price, didn't care that did not overlook beach.
Room newly renovated and clean. Staff friendly.
Right on beach which has a lifeguard.
Only negative was that balcony was dirty.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wsnc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with the Sea Ranch Resort. I am pleased to hear that you were able to book your stay under one of our last minute promotions that offered a great discount. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

was so clean, had amazing AC and an amazing housekeeper who kept our room looking absolutely impeccable. Also loved the restaurant at the bottom of the hotel- had a great time there on a saturday night with the girlfriend i was traveling with. The location is great- in walking distance to a ton of bars/restaurants and it is also right on the beach which was incredible. highly recommend!

Room Tip: loved the ocean front room with two queen beds- had a great view from the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Sea Ranch Resort. Thank you for your review and positive comments! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moneta, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed three nights at the Sea Ranch Resort and have nothing but positive things to say. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was recently renovated and very clean. My grandchildren had a wonderful time swimming in the indoor pool. So easy to access the beach. Thanks Sea Ranch for making my stay in the Outer Banks so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ocean front two queen room. So close to the ocean and the breeze on the balcony is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for informing the Trip Advisor community about your recent stay! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, pool, and convenient location! We hope that you visit us again in the future.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had originally made reservations to stay here for 7 nights but had to shorten due to family issues, which was a shame because we enjoyed every second of the few days that we were there. The room was fairly clean. The ocean view rooms are the way to go. You are so close to the water it's amazing. The hotel management was great! The young man that checked us in was really nice. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the price difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Sea Ranch Resort, we are all very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! I hope when travel brings you back to the Outer Banks, you will be our guest again... until then, travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,165 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,521 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,540 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing