We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and beautiful”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and beautiful”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from our third annual sisters week. Once again Sea Ranch was wonderful. Had a great time and enjoyed our stay and the delicious food at the Beachside Bistro. Looking forward to next years trip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynch216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are excited to hear that you all had a great THIRD ANNUAL Sister's Week and honored that you have chosen the Sea Ranch for your destination each year! That's great! We Hope to see you all back this way soon!

Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    264
    74
    33
    27
See reviews for
304
349
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The condo was wonderful, we just had a horrible time getting our bags to the 4th floor and back again. When we got there, we got one of the 3-wheeled carts (get rid of these immediately). We ended up spilling all our luggage twice just wheeling across the lot to the elevator. Luckily, the sales reps and maintenance crew rushed to help us and got us up to our room (they helped us make two trips up). When we checked out, we couldn't find a cart anywhere and concluded that some folks got crafty and took a cart in the night before (you know who you are). Other than the loading and unloading, it was great. We have stayed here many times, in the oceanside rooms, in the oceanfront unit, but this was our first in a condo. Very nice and spacious for just us three. Love the closeness to the beach and the bistro is very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay! We value you as a loyal repeat guest and we will definately look into the luggage carts! I am glad that the staff recognized your struggle and were fast acting in helping get you all settled in with your luggage so you could continue with your vacation!

Please let me know if I can assist you planning your next visit!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotels on the Outer Banks book up fast so while this wasn't my first choice it turned out to be a pretty good one primarily because of the beach front. One of our party really wanted to have an ocean view and walk on the beach in the morning and this was great for that. We breakfasted outside each day on the decking and the food was fine. The hotel has the look of a prison from the outside so it doesn't win on attractiveness. It had a strong musty smell when we arrived and the rooms were dull and gloomy even though they had only recently been refurbished. We had rooms on the wing that overlooked the car park which was incredibly disappointing and although we asked for rooms overlooking the sea they were fully booked with a wedding and unable to move us. The lady on reception was very helpful with directions and was cheerful and helpful. Kill Devil Hills is a very built up area which surprised us. Duck is much nicer.

Room Tip: Pay more and get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for taking time to review! We do understand that some folks do have a strong preference of areas that they like in the Outer Banks as they can be very different in just a matter of very few miles. Thanks for giving the Sea Ranch Resort a try! We appreciate you business!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Village, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and we stayed here on the Sunday night of Memorial Day weekend after a long day of driving. Our room was located in the wing that does not have ocean views - just a note that there was no elevator to the second floor but that did not bother us. The room was great, it wasn't noisy despite there being what looked like a door that could potentially lead to another room (this was locked), and we were very comfortable. Location is right by the water and the pool looks like a good option. The only thing that bothered us was that the front desk staff person who we checked in was standoffish and not very helpful. This was our first time at OBX and we wanted to know about parking, beach access etc. The staff member was not very helpful and we ended up finding out our answer via Google. When we were checking out different staff were very insistent about us reviewing the hotel on trip advisor so here it is! Again for a stay it was very comfortable and we could not have asked for more in terms of the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ildandp1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Exceeding our guest's expectations is our top priority and I'm sorry to read that we failed to do that. I have personally shared your comments with our staff and management team and I assure you steps have been taken to correct the situation you mentioned. We appreciate your patronage and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Choose this 'Resort' because of the pics and great reviews but what a mistake I made.Checked in the clerk never made eye contact. No elevators on our side of the hotel. Had to drag luggage up to second floor. No automatic doors. Our room overlooked the hotel trash bins. The room was stale and musty smelling. No staff helping. They must have been writing all the 5 Star reviews of this hotel. Skip this place and try ANYWHERE else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your recent stay. Your comments concerned me and are very unusual for our hotel property. We strive on a daily basis to exceed our guest's expectations and provide outstanding guest service as you can tell by our Trip Advisor reviews. I will personally share your comments with our team.

If you'd like to speak to me directly about the details of your stay, I'm happy to hear from you. I can be reached at 252-441-7126 or info@searanchresort.com.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed there with my wife and our two kids and the place was so peaceful and the staff was so nice and helpful would recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay at a greAt place in kill devil hills

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABNWHeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We hope that you will be our guest again soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

First-Timers: My partner and I stayed here for four days in June 2014. Excellent location. Our room (317) was located right on the beach. The view was to die for. We woke up every morning to the sound of the water crashing against the shores and the seagulls swooping down into the ocean for their meal. Sunrise was perfect. The beach was never crowded. The resort is not luxurious by any means (that's why I gave it a four), the room was spacious and clean. The restaurant at the hotel was good (beachside Bistro). We had breakfast there everyday, never disappointed. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. Overall, an excellent choice. We would definitely recommend for couples. We loved the whole outer banks experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the excellent Trip Advisor review. Please feel free to contact us if we can help you with planning your next trip to the Sea Ranch Resort!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,493 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing