We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful beach views”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in one of the condo rooms for a week. The location and views are top notch. The decor was dated, but the room was clean and well stocked. Some general maintenance does need to be done. The carpet did had some stains and there were gouges in the vinyl floor in the kitchen area. The enclosed balcony had windows that opened, but one of the screens was torn and flapping in the wind. The enclosed balcony did get hot and uncomfortable when the temp went up. On the cooler days it was pleasant to sit on and watch the dolphins in the water. The views from the room were terrific and well worth the bit of needed upkeep. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant and the services was good. Overall it was a great experience and we would return.

Room Tip: Choose a beach front room it is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay! I'd like to let you know that we have plans to begin a renovation on the condo suites coming as soon as this fall 2014/winter 2015. This will bring many upgrades to the suites.

Thanks for the review and we look forward to having you back!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    247
    71
    31
    27
See reviews for
291
327
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I spent the first 3 days of our honeymoon here and wish we'd booked the entire week! Couldn't have enjoyed it more - our room was perfect, the view couldn't have been better, and the beach was excellent. We've already recommended Sea Ranch to our friends!! Katie and Jen were so helpful and friendly, as were all of the staff we came into contact with. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 906lynf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
First, Congratulations! We are so excited to be a part of such your special occasion! We appreciate the recommendations and shout outs to the staff! We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a night and although it was beach front, the service and rooms were not great. The room was dated and falling apart. Carpet was lose, bathtub was gross, we only used sheets because the blankets had stains in them. We asked for 2 more pillows because our pillows had stains on them, but they only had one pillow left, and the woman behind the desk couldn't be bothered. Even though the location was good-it's not worth what you pay because of the gross neglect of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassidy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I am very disappointed to hear that your stay at the Sea Ranch Resort did not meet your standards. This is not a typical guest experience, but I do appreciate your honest feedback! I would like to assure you that our main building guest rooms have been updated this past winter. All of the carpet and bedding was replaced in 2014. If you'd like to discuss the details of your stay with me directly you can contact me at info@searanchresort.com or 252-441-7126 at your convenience.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Condo was clean and spacious enough for our family of six. The decor was dated and it would have been nice if the glass in the tabletop was actually attached to the table base-I was worried the kids would lean on it & it would come crashing off. It would also be nice if the door between the washer & dryer area was put back up to block some sound if you're watching television in the living area. The appliances weren't bad. It was nice having a washer & dryer to use & a dishwasher since we ate breakfast & lunch in the condo. The view was beautiful, and the location to the beach is great! The staff was friendly & helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ADYost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for your review! I will definitely pass along your suggestions and please know we plan to begin a renovation on the condo suites possibly as soon as this fall 2014/winter 2015 that will bring several upgrades! We appreciate you business and hop you will return to the Sea Ranch Resort!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel has a GREAT location (right on the beach and close to stores), a nice pool, and a delicious restaurant. However, none of this makes up for the unwanted roommates you will be sharing a room with. The hotel room that my family and I stayed in had ants galore. Even after having the room sprayed twice, there were ants on the bed stands, in the sheets, and even coming out of our cell phones and laptops. It was just as unpleasent as it sounds. We were unable to switch rooms because of a wedding party that had most of the hotel booked. If you are thinking of staying here: DON'T. If you're on vacation, you deserve to be worry free, and get the best that your money can give you.There are a variety of hotels that are similarly priced, but will not have the creepy crawlies that we had to contend with. I'm disappointed with my stay, and sad that I could not give it a better review.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, request that you see the room before paying for it if possible. If you see an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiara1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I am very sorry that you encountered this issue during your stay! July is our peak time of year so we are limited on the flexibility to move guests when an unforeseen issue like this arises, we apologize for that. I will assure you that all preventive measures are taken on a regular monthly basis to help control contact with the outside world, however, this doesn't always eliminate it altogether.

While I understand this was a nuisance during your stay, we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back to have a quality stay that the Sea Ranch Resort.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Recently updated hotel! Super clean, small hotel, updated rooms, remodeled bathrooms. Beauty! Right on the beach. Great hotel restaurant food, live music, bar, outside seating. Super nice hurricane sturdy patio doors. Magician on Wed nights. Elevators. Heated enclosed pool - small.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WatsonBarefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for your recent review! Our oceanfront rooms were renovated in 2012 and do offer the best ocean views around! I am glad that you were able to enjoy so many of the amenities on the property during your stay! We hope to see you and your family when travels bring you back to the Outer Banks!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My mom and I stayed here the night of July 12th and it was great. We had an oceanfront room with a balcony. The room was clean, bathroom had nice tile detailing, and we had a mini fridge, microwave and sink. The lady at the front desk that checked us in was super nice and we had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. Pancakes were awesome. Couldn't have asked for a better view or shorter walk to the beach. I was surprised at how nice it was and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are awesome! Looks like there were "oceanfront" rooms without balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRWIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for such a kind and descriptive review of the Sea Ranch Resort Resort. It’s so nice to hear you enjoyed the guest room accommodations as well as the spectacular views from our hotel too. We hope you’ll be back for another stay with us again soon.

Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,078 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing