We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would've given 5 Stars but....”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

I would given 5 stars except for a few mishaps. The hotel is very welcoming and being just steps from the beach is a plus. We attended a wedding there over the weekend and it was very nice.

Mishaps: our air conditioning in our room went out around 12am on of course the hottest night. We couldn't get another room because they were booked solid. The night desk clerk was so rude and disrespectful. He had no clue what to do and sent up a fan for the night. It was soaking hot and needless to say we go no rest. At 8am I called the front desk (mind you I had to call to check what was going on). When I called the very nice day time clerk had no idea our air was broke and called maintenance who then called a real AC Co and had it all fixed by the early afternoon. I didn't get one sorry from a manager or anyone except for the very nice maid Candy (who went above and beyond to make our stay very welcoming). I would've liked if someone would've reached out to us especially since we had such a rough night. I wasn't looking for a free night but heck a free breakfast or lunch would've been nice.
On top of this all, the night clerk was so rude the night this all happened; he was condescending and threatened to call the cops on my 8 year old children that were in the room because other rooms were being rowdy and so he assumed our room was making the noise. It was just a bad night.

As awful as all that was I loved OBX and some of the staff were very nice and accommodating. Will I ever come back to the Sea Ranch, no! Going above and beyond on customer service is something I will always value and I didn't get that here especially with all that happened.

Hope this review helps.

Stayed: September 2014
4  Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

First, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback. We also agree that customer service shouldn't ever be compromised and I am sorry to hear that we didn't deliver the experience that is to our standards. As I am sure you can see from other tripadvisor reviews, this is not a typical guest experience at the Sea Ranch Resort. I will be sure to address your concerns with all of our representatives.

I am more than happy to discuss the details of your stay with you! I can be reached direct at your convenience at 252-441-7126 ext 150 or info@searanchresort.com.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Now I was on vacation with my daughter's family, so I am not sure how much they paid to stay in the two bedroom suite, but I can tell you that we literally walked out the door and were in the sand. The sunrise was unbelievable and the beach is not very crowded in the morning.
We stayed in one of the rooms that had not been renovated and while it needed updating and some TLC, it was very clean and well supplied. The room darkening drapes allowed us to lengthen the children's morning so we could have some time before they awakened. The sunroom made a noise barrier that snuffed out loud ocean waves, so I had a great nights sleep. We cooked in for most meals, which kept our budget under control and when we did go out there were many restaurants within walking distance or a short drive. There are attractions such as the Wright Brother's museum very close by.
The best thing was the family friendly atmosphere. What a great little piece of beach this place has.

Room Tip: For the kids ask for a room close to the stairs to the beach so you can get all the beach toys there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed the view from the condo-style suite during your recent stay and that it met your expectations and added all of the home like conveniences! We are beginning a renovation to those units this coming off season that will bring many upgrades to the suites. Keep in touch with our website and social media for updates! . We look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was our first time staying in the OBX and we couldn't have picked a better place to spend the weekend. From the moment we checked in, it was a great experience. Our dining experience was fantastic but our room was the icing on the cake. The view was spectacular! Room was clean, appliances all up to date and the environment was just right. This will definitely be a place we return to in the near future. Thanks so much for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for the wonderful five-star review! We hope you will make the Sea Ranch Resort a new vacation tradition! WE look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The sea ranch has newly renovated rooms. The room service was good and they always came by to supply clean linen. The room was clean upon arrival and we even had a small fridge, sink and microwave for our food. We really enjoyed our stay at the Sea Ranch Resort! We would definitely visit again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ksmith0158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay and compliments to our rooms and views. We look forward to having you all back out for another stay!!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

The Sea Ranch Resort is the closest you can get in oceanfront for amazingly low prices. The place is so close to the beach high tide almost hits the hotel. I've been coming here 4 yrs in a row now and its always been fantastic. The staff are from the old school of hospitality "where you take care of ur guests as family".For awesome views of the beach and the ocean at your feet.. check out the Sea Ranch ..

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your all your kind comments. We love to hear that you feel at home each time you visit. We strive to make everything as comfortable as possible for you. Thank you for choosing the Sea Ranch Resort. We can't wait to have you back!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

For the cost of the condo and the partial stay option this place can not be beat! The furnishing were contemporary. The floors and bathrooms were clean. Beds are very comfortable. Hotel is dated, but reflected in the price. Just being right on the beach is awesome. We opened the screened windows on the glass sunroom and sliding glass door (leaving the black out curtain closed) to be lulled into sleep by the ocean. The food in the Bistro is typical hotel fare, but the discount and the proximity is great. The staff was kind and helpful even with a wedding there Saturday night!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MeegganS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much about your stay at the Sea Ranch Resort! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My family visited OBX for the first time ever this year and had a great time. The staff was very polite, rooms were the cleanest we have ever stayed in for a beach resort. You can't beat the breakfast at the Bistro. We will be coming back next year.

Room Tip: The oceanfront suites are the best. We bought fresh seafood from Billy's Seafood and made all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbum142099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Sea Ranch Resort! We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your suite so much and considered this to be one of your 'Best vacations ever'! We hope this is the beginning of a new tradition!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £42 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing