We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean view, better then most other local options!”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here for two nights. Good wifi, great view, large rooms, clean.

We enjoyed this property much more then the Days Inn next door.

A great view of the beach, and a very good restaurant down stairs on the beach, "The Pearl".

Better then most alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skinnywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2009

We just returned from visiting the outerbanks. We stayed 2 nights at the sea ranch as AAA book had given it good rating. We were disappointed upon arrival as half of the building (the timeshare side) looks abandoned and as if it needs to be torn down. Not sure what the status is on it. The hotel side did not look much more attractive either. Our room was clean, but old and had a terrible musty smell. We left the balcony door and main door open to air out and was better by second day. The ocean view is the only savior of this hotel as it is very close to the water and unobstructed. The glass enclosed balcony was nice as you could leave the door open and sleep to ocean sounds. The pool was clean and enjoyable. The price was way too high for what this hotel has to offer. I'd pick another place if visiting this area. The owners have a great location, but unless they spruce this place up, don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

The Sea Ranch is an older beach motel and parts of the exterior could use some sprucing up. However, our room was clean and updated, but the bathrooms could use a little more work. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have an indoor pool that faces the street side and it was clean and cared for. I found it odd that the blaconies facing the ocean are glassed in with sliding windows. I enjoy having my morning coffee on the balcony, but it got extremely hot with little air flow (think greenhouse). We usually stay at "name brand" motels, but due to late travel plans we chose the Sea Ranch for availability, location and price. We weren't disappointed and would probably book with them again for a return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Buckeye217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

The location of the hotel is awesome. It is such a shame they don't fix it up/keep it up. It could be amazing.

I loved the oceanfront view and that you could sleep to the sounds of the ocean. That was about it.

The room wasn't clean - stains on carpet, walls, wallpaper coming down, bathroom dirty. I wanted to leave right away, but my husband talked me into staying. I called the front desk to ask for some Windex because the windows on the porch were so dirty they interfered with the oceanfront view. After they were cleaned, it was much better.

The worst part was after we came back from dinner there were bugs all over the hotel. Thank God they weren't in our room, but they were all over the outside of the hotel on the parking lot side - they were covering all the surfaces - like a huge nest of baby bugs had exploded and they were all over all the stairs, the elevator and on the landings. They were relatively small, light-colored bugs with wings that were having trouble flying - not roaches or anything. There were hundreds of them - so many it was hard not to step on them trying to get back to our room. Super gross. We told the front desk and they didn't seem surprised or alarmed at all, said they would have someone come out and spray. By this, they meant come out of the office with a can of Raid or whatever - we saw him spraying around a little. Clearly, that wasn't going to do much given their level of infestation of hundreds of bugs spanning the entire side of the building on 3 floors.

Their pool looked really disgusting - I wouldn't even go in the glass building that housed the pool - yuck! Also, the older lady owner or hostess was surly.

What a waste of a beautiful spot. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cnft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

The Sea Ranch is a great place to stay if you want wonderful ocean front views. We stayed three nights on the third floor in a very clean, nonsmoking room that was nicely decorated with brightly colored bedspreads and beach art work. The separate glass balcony with two chairs and a small table faces the ocean and has two sliding windows, which when open provide cool breezes to enjoy while sipping your morning coffee. Keep in mind that only a wooden partition separates each balcony unit allowing us to clearly hear conversations from the adjacent balconies.
A complimentary breakfast of eggs, bacon, toast and coffee is provided at the Sea Ranch restaurant, which has several tables near the window facing the beach with wonderful ocean views. The restaurant staff was initially disorganized and keep us waiting each morning for up to 20 minutes before they unlocked the door, but once seated the waitress we had was very attentive and served us generous portions of food.
We enjoyed our stay at the Sea Ranch and recommend it to anyone wanting a casual informal place to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mberank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

We first stayed at the Sea Ranch, in October 2005. It had been 20 years since we had been to the ocean. The balcony was glass enclosed, with windows that would open. From the 3rd. floor the ocean looked like it was coming up under the motel. I could sit there for hours to watch the ocean. Even saw a polphin swin by (maybe a shark). The room was OK not great, but not bad.

When we went back in 2007 the rooms seemed nicer and the resturant on site had opened up. Food was great. If you are looking for a quiet time, go in October. Rates are reasonable. Not crowded, weather is very comfortable and you can watch the waves for hours rigth from you own balcony

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgbluetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We booked a room for three nights but left after just one. Seems the hotel is being turned into time shares so one side of the hotel is redone and uptodate, while the other has little or no upkeep. There was a distinctive lack of quality about the whole place. The unrestored side of the building is showing it age with rust and aging amenities. An overhead vent in our room was loaded with mold. Bathroom needs repair - lot of broken tiles. The toilet ran for quite a while after flushing, and the outside porch overlooking the ocean felt more like a glass enclosure for 'humans' in a zoo. Very odd view of the TV from the bed; the shelf it was on did not turn or pull out. The sheets were comfortable but fraying. The indoor pool- which by the way is the only pool -, was too cold and uninviting. Signs were posted all over the compound advising guests what they could not do. Very unappealing...we checked out after one night.

One plus - guests are entitled to a free breakfast at the onsite restaurant which was very nice with an ocean view.

Overall impression: Not worth the money. You can do so much better in Nags Head - keep driving down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank augustvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,615 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £53 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing