We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest Hotel in Prime Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during the last weekend of May.

We opted for this hotel because of the great rates and great location. The lady who checked us in was incredibly kind and reminded us that all guests who stay for 2+ nights receive free access to the YMCA which is three miles down the main road. While we did not take advantage of this offer, it is a great option for those who are more dedicated to their fitness routine or those looking to entertain little ones.

The rooms were modest with slightly outdated appliances, but I was appreciative of the level of cleanliness, especially for a beach hotel. I believe each room also features a balcony, either dune-side or pool-side. Complimentary breakfast is offered every morning in the "lobby." Don't expect an expansive spread of breakfast options, but you will be able to get fueled for a day of adventure. Try to get to breakfast early or late, as seating is cramped and limited.

Location is everything, though. This hotel is nestled one street behind the beach front and one street behind the main street. Don't let the lack of beachfront hang up your decision, however, as there is a public beach access no more than 20 feet away and plenty of others to choose from along Virginia Dare Trail. Additionally, this hotel is in walking or biking distance of the Wright Brothers Memorial, a must for any vacation in Kitty Hawk/ Kill Devil Hills/ Nags Head.

Overall, if you're looking for an affordable option without all the glitz and a comfortable place to lay your head, the Travelodge: Nags Head is a great chocie.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MoogleMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in a room with a king size bed and a small table and a balcony in the front of the motel with a great view of the beach across the street. We didn't go out on the balcony much , though because of the noise of the traffic and because even though our room was non- smoking, there always seemed to be someone out on their balcony smoking. Still, we enjoyed looking at the view with the sliding glass door closed. The bed was very comfortable and The breakfast in the morning was good. They had cereal and milk, donuts, microwaveable breakfast sandwiches, a juice machine, coffee, tea. The beach was a short walk across the street and was beautiful. Housekeeping could have been a little better, it appeared that they didn't clean the toilet and the tub every day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 523Deedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a great time this past weekend in Kill Devil Hills. The hotel was clean and had easy access to the beach. We found this hotel while looking for something pet friendly. I reserved the room with Diana on the phone and she happen to be at the desk when we checked in. She and the other staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We hope to go back again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Headed down to OBX to get away from the 255, we had a great time!!! The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful, Thanks to Diana for all of her assistance. The beach is right across the street from the hotel, an easy walk, the beach was great. Diana suggested some great places to eat and drink...we had a great time!!!

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelgB6784TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I just wanted to give a rave review about Diana who was working the front desk. She is new at her position but handles it like a pro, unflappable and very informative. Her suggestions when asked for were spot on. We enjoyed our stay, slept well and were comfortable. I had browsed through previous reviews and have to whole heartedly agree with the comments about the continental breakfast. Very poor choices of healthy food. The desk staff have no control over what's offered but corporate office should be ashamed. Other than the breakfast fare I have no complaints about our stay. Thank you to Diana and the rest of the staff!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hbaileyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Old rooms, relatively clean. Had to ask for some items you would usually find in the room
TV was old and did not work.
Paid $200 for a Saturday night!
Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Had to take a pet friendly designated room even though we had no pets with us.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know of your recent one night stay. We are a hotel that is actually the 2nd youngest on the beach, though we are 20 years old we have been in a continual state of renovating since new ownership a few years ago. We take pride in offering a clean and comfortable room as well as a rate that is priced to be the best value on the beach. Upon looking at your check in and reservation, you did not book in advance and came on a weekend night where all rates for any hotel on the Outer Banks is higher. Our prices are lower during the weekdays, (Sunday-Thursday) with rates higher on Friday and Saturday, this is the "Norm for all hotels ) you also did stay in a pet friendly room but that being because you were a walk in and all rooms on the entire beach were already unavailable, we luckily did have one room that was vacant with all rooms entirely booked and we did notify you that all we had was the pet friendly 1st floor room, (which all pet rooms are located on this floor for easy access for pet owners and to keep other floors pet free for those who may have allergies to pets) also we did take off a pet fee so you actually paid the same price of a room without pets.You were aware this was all available and still wanted the room, if you had not stayed you would of most likely had to drive at least 2 hrs north to even find a room available, The beautiful Outer Banks is a vacation destination so most people do reserve for the "In Season " April-October and reserve any where from 3 weeks to months in advance. We did not have any complaints from you at check in and the room was not priced high for a weekend night as well as actually being lower than most hotels on the beach. We do strive to provide guest with a great experience and hope that you will visit again, perhaps on a weekday to get the economically priced rates. But please keep in mind we want guest to get there Most Preferred Room whether it is.. pet friendly, ocean view, pool view ect.. and advise guest to reserve in advance and you can get that.You can call us directly at any hour 365 days a year at 252-441-0411. We hope to see you during your next Outer Banks visit.
Sincerely,
Tabitha Filer
Front Desk'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Address: 804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £46 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills NC
Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge
Kill Devil Hills Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing