We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My worst hotel experience, by far ! The proximity to the beach and the Wright Brothers museum is the only thing going for it. We knew rates would be high due to the July 4th weekend coming. But we still payed way to much for what the hotel offered. The room smelled like a damp molding closet. Two full not queen beds shoved into a very small room. The ac could not keep up and made awful humming and loud clinking noises all night. One bed was next to ( less then a ft away) from the ac that had no direction vents. We put a table and pillow over it so we could lay in the bed without a windstorm in our face. The walls are paper thin, heard the people next door talking, flushing ext. Even the trash truck at 7 am. The maintenance is not good. Grout in bathroom missing and broken, tub peeling. At check out they don't bother to ask how was your stay, they don't care. We will not be stopping here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TXTravler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay. We are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. It is always our goal to offer a great value and a clean comfortable room. Prices are priced differently on weekends as is normal for all motels, with rates on weekdays less. We are a 20 year old hotel but still the 2nd youngest hotel on the beach. We at the time of being built did build according to the standards, regulations and zoning laws of the building inspectors at that time. We have in the past few years come under new ownership and since then we here at the Travelodge have been in a constant state of renovating and yearly "off-season" do work on getting the Travelodge to be the best we can, I feel we offer clean rooms and have a staff that is always accommodating and will do all they can to help resolve any issues, with maintenance available 24/7 on call after hours. In regards to the tubs,we did have the tubs resurfaced this past spring and since then have had some issues with some of the tubs peeling but are aware and have already begun the process to arrange for that to be re-done this fall when we can do so without keeping guest from arriving since they do need to be off market for several days. We did not have any calls from you during the time of your stay or we would of tried to the best of our ability to resolve any issues for you. We hope you accept our apologies and I would welcome a call to discuss or answer any questions from you and can be reached directly 24/7 at 252-441-0411. We do have many guest who stay and receive many complements on the Hotel and the Staff. It is always our goal to provide you with excellent customer service.
Sincerely,
Tabitha Filer
Front Desk'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    397
    201
    80
    50
See reviews for
484
375
50
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I've stayed here twice and both times were great. Close to the beach and very affordable! Loved the pool! Special note to Diana; she was kind and cheerful and a great asset to the hotel. Definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowellville, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of meeting Diana the Representative who was working on Friday June 21, 2014! She was WONDERFUL, and helped us to have accomodations that were perfect for us and our dog!

Room Tip: first floor was perfect for us and our pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We love coming here every year! Best secret of obx! Diana is fantastic and very friendly/ helpful. Will def return next year! The pool is the perfect size with good accessibility. Our room was by the elevator and still quiet. Beach access right in front of the hotel makes it so easy too!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014 and decided to bring our poodle this time. It was nice to find a dog friendly motel we could stay in that was in a good location near the beach. We arrived early in the day and decided to let the front desk staff know we were in town. My first impression when we walked in the front desk area, which also serves as the breakfast, area was that it was very clean and organized looking. The nice lady at the front desk advised the room was not ready yet as we arrived several hours before check in time. After we checked in around 1:30 PM we found our room on the first floor to be nice. I was concerned that since dogs have also stayed in this room there would be an odor of 'dog'. The room was clean, some dog hair was found on the carpet, but overall the room was acceptable. The only issue was the air conditioner was located in a spot that when it was on the cold air would blow on you as you lay in bed. Again, this was not an issue that could be corrected and the remedy is to cover up at night. I came away with the overall feeling that the staff was friendly, helpful, and allowed us to check in before the advertised time of 4 PM. I recommend this motel for it's convenience to the beach, however, dogs are NOT allowed on the beach in Kill Devil Hills between the hours of 9 AM to 6 PM during the summer. This caused us to go to a public beach in Nags Head where dogs are allowed on the beach anytime of the day.

Room Tip: First floor is where the pet friendly rooms are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronaldw703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mölndal
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Really good value hotel with great location close to the wonderful beach, restaurants and shopping areas. Very personal and friendly atmosphere. Diana and her collegues provided us with great service. Breakfast was good and the poolarea was nice and clean. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frisack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is located right at the beach. Breakfast was included in the price. The hotel has a small but nice pool.
Diana was very friendly and helpful. She gave us good information about restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johfri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Property: Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Address: 804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills NC
Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge
Kill Devil Hills Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing