We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs barking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This place is noisy. We had a room facing the pool on the second floor, so all I the noise was amplified. Dogs barking in the parking lot and babies crying awoke me again and again as I attempted to sleep past 8am. Also, there were ramen noodle bits on the counter next to the bathroom sink that smelled like a dog bath. Not clean. I will not stay here again in the future.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Amanda Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello, Thank you for taking time to let us know how your recent stay was with us. We work very hard to provide our guest with a clean room and comfortable stay. In looking back at your stay, we have seen that no complaints were called in to us. We always stress to our guest at check in to let us know of any issues with there room or noise complaints. We would of been happy to have sent someone to go to your room and remedy your problem. In regards to the dogs barking it is rare that guest complain of dogs barking,(which is also why we keep all pet rooms on the 1st floor) but on the occasion's that it does happen if called we would of called the guest to take care of that. We have in the past needed to do that and our guest have always been happy to comply. We receive many complements on the cleanliness of the rooms and are very sorry there was crumbs on your counter top. Please in the future we welcome a call so that you are happy and we can be sure your stay is the best we can provide. If you have further questions we are available to take your calls 24/7 directly at 252-441-0411. Thank you and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Tabitha Filer
Front Desk'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our family of 4 (children ages 13 & 11) enjoyed 2 nights at this hotel in mid July. The room was nice and had a great view of the pool area. It was very convenient to have the microwave and fridge in the room. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was wonderful. It was great to just walk across the street to the beach. We were also close to many restaurants and stores. The only downside was the breakfast. The coffee and juice were from concentrates and pretty watery. The food selection was minimal with very little fresh choices. We didn't even bother eating there the second morning. Overall, it was a great stay and we would likely come back if in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Yes ocean view ,but a football field away.that said! Our stay was great.Very clean rooms,comfortable beds,friendly staff.short walk to beach & so cool to see puppys allowed.A great all around place.Would recomend this hotel to all!!

Room Tip: Go for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were there over July 4th weekend when Arthur came thru. Really nice place and staff was very kind and helpful with eats in the area. Will be sure to stay h there again when in area for short time. Comfortable beds and clean rooms and pet friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WINGSTER54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is not worth the money and their policies are really terrible. We checked in and had stayed for three days when Hurricane Arthur (a Category 2 hurricane with 100 mph winds) came through. Since I was travelling with my two young sons I didn't want to risk weathering a hurricane with them. When I went to check out, they charged me for two remaining nights at the ridiculous rate of $282/night!

I understand that they don't want to lose money but gouging me for $564 when I was genuinely concerned about safety for my kids is ridiculous. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagsheadbeachhotel, Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I have been unable to locate your actual reservation with us but I would like to address the recent storm and our policies. First of all we work very close with our Emergency Management board here in Dare County. If they feel that our area is in any danger whatsoever they will order a mandatory evacuation. At any time they feel our visitors as well as our residents are in danger I can assure you they will issue this order in plenty of time to make sure everyone is able to vacate the area safely and orderly. At no time was an evacuation order issued for our area. The high wind and hurricane conditions were expected to pass closer to the coast of Hatteras Island which is an hour and a half away from us. An evacuation order for Hatteras Island and Ocracoke Island were issued. People who vacated that area did stop in our area and stay a few days here before being allowed to return to the Hatteras area. I know some people did misunderstand what area the hurricane conditions were issued for. As we told each and every guest staying with us during that time frame our area was expected to only experience some 40 - 50 mile per hour wind gust and rain over night while everyone was sleeping. This is exactly what transpired here. We never lost power, this was no more than our average nor'easter that we experience quite often on the Outer Banks. It passed through our area very quickly. We had no damage or issues here just as predicted by our Emergency Management Team for the area.

The day leading up to the overnight storm was beautiful and the day of the storm was beautiful by daylight. We had a three night minimum for this holiday weekend. If an evacuation order had been issued we would have canceled our policy which requires a 72 notice for cancellation. We do not alter stay dates after checking in as is noted on our website and in the reservation details we email you at booking. If there had been an evacuation order we would have waived all of these policies and made sure our guest all vacated the property safely. This is the same policy all other hotels and Property Management companies abide by. I can assure you if we thought for one minute anyone staying at our hotel was in danger we would have encouraged everyone to evacuate. The media often portrays these storms as a lot worse than what they really are predicted to be. That is why we get our information straight from Emergency Management so that we can make sure what we are told is accurate.

I am sorry that you left the hotel and evacuated early. However, we have to be fair to everyone and follow the same guidelines and policies we set forth prior to booking. This is the same policy all other properties were abiding by in our area as well. It would not be fair to allow you to check out early on a pre-paid reservation and not allow all other pre-paid guest to do the same. Once again if there had been an evacuation order issued for our area we would have altered this policy for everyone. We do care about our guest and we certainly never want anyone staying with us to be in any kind of danger. The Emergency Management team assured us that our area was safe for all visitors and residents.

We do hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of assistance to you in any way.

Sincerely,
Sherrie Cahoon
Hotel Manager
Travelodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My worst hotel experience, by far ! The proximity to the beach and the Wright Brothers museum is the only thing going for it. We knew rates would be high due to the July 4th weekend coming. But we still payed way to much for what the hotel offered. The room smelled like a damp molding closet. Two full not queen beds shoved into a very small room. The ac could not keep up and made awful humming and loud clinking noises all night. One bed was next to ( less then a ft away) from the ac that had no direction vents. We put a table and pillow over it so we could lay in the bed without a windstorm in our face. The walls are paper thin, heard the people next door talking, flushing ext. Even the trash truck at 7 am. The maintenance is not good. Grout in bathroom missing and broken, tub peeling. At check out they don't bother to ask how was your stay, they don't care. We will not be stopping here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank TXTravler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay. We are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. It is always our goal to offer a great value and a clean comfortable room. Prices are priced differently on weekends as is normal for all motels, with rates on weekdays less. We are a 20 year old hotel but still the 2nd youngest hotel on the beach. We at the time of being built did build according to the standards, regulations and zoning laws of the building inspectors at that time. We have in the past few years come under new ownership and since then we here at the Travelodge have been in a constant state of renovating and yearly "off-season" do work on getting the Travelodge to be the best we can, I feel we offer clean rooms and have a staff that is always accommodating and will do all they can to help resolve any issues, with maintenance available 24/7 on call after hours. In regards to the tubs,we did have the tubs resurfaced this past spring and since then have had some issues with some of the tubs peeling but are aware and have already begun the process to arrange for that to be re-done this fall when we can do so without keeping guest from arriving since they do need to be off market for several days. We did not have any calls from you during the time of your stay or we would of tried to the best of our ability to resolve any issues for you. We hope you accept our apologies and I would welcome a call to discuss or answer any questions from you and can be reached directly 24/7 at 252-441-0411. We do have many guest who stay and receive many complements on the Hotel and the Staff. It is always our goal to provide you with excellent customer service.
Sincerely,
Tabitha Filer
Front Desk'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I've stayed here twice and both times were great. Close to the beach and very affordable! Loved the pool! Special note to Diana; she was kind and cheerful and a great asset to the hotel. Definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,592 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
487 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Address: 804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £62 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills NC
Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge
Kill Devil Hills Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing