We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Carthage, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, great location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

'Spent 2 nights here and couldn't have been more pleased. Diana and Scott at check-in were welcoming and very helpful throughout our stay. We initially had trouble with the in-room safe but Scott set it right. The location is very convenient to area attractions -- one block up and one over to Wright Brothers National Memorial. Upon checkout, Diana was back again and joined by Sherrie. Again, they were both very friendly and helpful -- Sherrie even separated our billing, splitting it between my best buddy and me.

The only thing I would change is that the ground floor rooms need sheer curtains. It's great to have the natural light but I really don't want folks walking around and being able to see in so easily.

Many thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatCrickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    411
    206
    85
    51
See reviews for
508
387
54
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allegany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Diana the front desk lady was extremely helpful throughout my family's stay in the hotel and on the phone. She was always there to help us with whatever we needed, had a respectful and friendly attitude, and was on top of everything. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is thinking about staying here. Diana is the best front desk out there!

Room Tip: water front view is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bealeton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Travelodge was a great place to stay for the week. Clean rooms, near the beach, and Diana and Sherrie were very helpful during our stay. The last day of our stay the bathroom door was accidently locked. We called early in the morning (before 7 AM) and they immediately had someone come and unlock it. The service was great and the people were very friendly. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We just this month (7/14) stayed at this hotel on the Outer Banks. While it is an older hotel, they have done their best to update it. The clerks, Diana and Sherrie, were just great and very helpful. The pool was well kept. The continental breakfast was better than many others I have experienced with waffles and egg or sausage biscuits as well as the usual bagels and cereal and donuts. The room was very clean and it is very conveniently located across from the beach and near shopping/restaurants. The hotel does allow dogs, and the rooms they are allowed in are all on the first floor which is so smart in terms of taking them out to walk and also making sure the other rooms don't smell like "wet dog". We had a very satisfactory stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We traveled across the country to attend a wedding and stayed at this great hotel. Great location. Rooms were a bit small, but clean. Plus Diana and Sherrie at the front desk were super helpful and accommodating. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a very nice experience at this hotel on our first trip to the obx. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was convenient that the hotel offered a continental breakfast which saved some money for my family. It was more than just coffee and donuts also! I only wish the beach was nicer where the hotel is, I thought it was very rocky and the surf was rough but that has nothing to do with the hotel. I would recommend this place to friends

Room Tip: The first floor is pet friendly so if you don't have a dog I'd ask for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skook80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This place is noisy. We had a room facing the pool on the second floor, so all I the noise was amplified. Dogs barking in the parking lot and babies crying awoke me again and again as I attempted to sleep past 8am. Also, there were ramen noodle bits on the counter next to the bathroom sink that smelled like a dog bath. Not clean. I will not stay here again in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello, Thank you for taking time to let us know how your recent stay was with us. We work very hard to provide our guest with a clean room and comfortable stay. In looking back at your stay, we have seen that no complaints were called in to us. We always stress to our guest at check in to let us know of any issues with there room or noise complaints. We would of been happy to have sent someone to go to your room and remedy your problem. In regards to the dogs barking it is rare that guest complain of dogs barking,(which is also why we keep all pet rooms on the 1st floor) but on the occasion's that it does happen if called we would of called the guest to take care of that. We have in the past needed to do that and our guest have always been happy to comply. We receive many complements on the cleanliness of the rooms and are very sorry there was crumbs on your counter top. Please in the future we welcome a call so that you are happy and we can be sure your stay is the best we can provide. If you have further questions we are available to take your calls 24/7 directly at 252-441-0411. Thank you and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Tabitha Filer
Front Desk'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,228 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Property: Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Address: 804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills NC
Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge
Kill Devil Hills Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing