We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colington Creek Inn
Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Really nice B&B on the Outer Banks. The owners built the building themselves and its evident they did their homework before they started the B&B. Four upstairs rooms with spacious common areas and private porches with views of Kitty Hawk Bay (Albermarle Sound side of the islands). Very nice decor, elevator access to the 2nd floor. There's also a suite on the main floor, which we didn't see.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are terrific. The rooms are very large and comfortable, walk-in showers, comfortable beds. I think Kill Devil Hills is a good location, closer to the National Park than staying in Duck but still access to shopping, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonsreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It was our first time to visit the outer banks and to stay at a bed and breakfast. Location is centrally located, close enough to the beach and shopping but far enough away for a quiet peaceful time. Everything was wonderful! Rooms and service was five star! It felt just like home!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcastrogiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeasten Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first stay at the Colington Creek Inn. What a find! Mae and Bob Lunden, the innkeepers, are warm and welcoming hosts. The inn is immaculate and impeccably cared for. The setting is idyllic. It is truly a labor of love for The Lundens and it shows.

We stayed in the Boat Room which was on the front side of inn facing the street. We had a view of Colington Creek from our bedroom, bath and sitting area. Our room was furnished beautifully and the bed was extremely comfortable. Each room has its own refrigerator with soft drinks and snacks. Our private bath had all the necessary amenities and was beautifully decorated.

The public areas of the inn are very comfortable. There is a sitting room on the first floor with a TV and wi-fi throughout. Outside there is a hammock in which to relax, a swing inside of a pergola and seating areas all overlooking Colington Creek. At night, the pier and dock are lit which offers a lovely ambience to the setting.

Breakfast is served at 9AM each morning, but we needed to get an early start on our day the first morning as did another couple, so Mae offered to have our meals ready at 8:30 which was very accommodating. Breakfast is served in the sitting areas at each end of the inn. Each sitting area is shared by two of the guest rooms. The breakfasts were hearty and presented in a lovely fashion. We awakened each morning to the smell of freshly brewed coffee that was available in the common area. Around 4:30PM, Mae served us wine, as well as crackers and cheese to tide us over to dinner. Upon return from dinner, each evening there was a sweet treat waiting for the guests in the common area. One night we had delicious cookies and the second night a wonderful cake.

On the last morning, I sat on one of the rockers on the front porch which also overlooks Colington Creek and enjoyed a cup of coffee prior to breakfast. It was total bliss watching the sun glisten on the water.

If you are plan to visit the Outer Banks, be sure to include a stay at this beautifully maintained inn. This inn is deserving of a FIVE STAR rating!

Room Tip: If you tend to be a light sleeper, ask for a room on the back side of the property as you may be sen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We like to try B&B's and this was our first trip to the OBX so i utilized trip advisor pick this spot. Everything was very good. This is a purpose-built B&B versus a converted house as many B&B's are. The good with that is that everything is new, spotless, and well laid out. The bad is that you are missing of some of that old house B&B charm that makes them fun to visit.
Bob and Mae are great, helpful and friendly. I recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We come here every year, Bob & Mae are great, bring your spouse here for a nice romantic getaway & be sure to dine at the Colington Cafe also!
They offer a boat ride in the bay as well as wine upon your arrival.
All & all it's a great place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinHarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammonton, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband and I just got back from the OBX early last week and what can I say...we're ready to go back. We spent four nights with Mae & Bob (the innkeepers) at Colington Creek Inn. Originally we were set to stay for only 3 nights, but within minutes of our arrival we booked a 4th night. We stayed in the Island Room which was beautifully decorated and had great water views. It's incredibly peaceful and quiet...not to mention that the entire place is unbelievably clean and impeccably maintained. Mae and Bob are so friendly and did everything they could to make our stay a relaxing one. The delicious breakfast each morning was served on the enclosed porch overlooking the water. In the late afternoon you were treated to red or white wine, along with some cheese and fruit to hold you over till your dinner plans. When we'd come "home" in the evening, there'd be a tasty treat waiting for us. Sometimes it would be cake, other times it was cookies. Again, all delicious. My husband enjoyed fishing off of the private pier there and I loved relaxing in the hammock, listening to the water and occasionally getting a visit from the resident cat, Sylvester. No worries if you have cat allergies though, the cat does not roam the inn. Both innkeepers were knowledgeable of the area and answered any questions that we had. The charge for the rooms and all that you get with it, is more than reasonable!!!! Each day our room was made up. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels always smelled clean and fresh. I also loved the location. We were within minutes of restaurants, bars, shopping and the beach. However, we were just far enough off the main road to have peace & quiet. I cannot say enough about the Colington Creek Inn and Mae & Bob. I would never dream of staying anywhere else. I've been to numerous B&B's over the years and none will measure up to this one. SUPERB!

Room Tip: First, I have to say that ll of the rooms are nice. The rooms at the front of the inn do face a road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinhump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in the Garden Room last week and had a wonderful experience. We've stayed in many B&B's, but never one as nice and modern as this one. Upon our arrival, Mae suggested the Collington Cafe for dinner. It was superb. Each night Mae had a little treat waiting for us when we returned. The room was quiet, clean and it felt like we were at home. We used the pool once and enjoyed that. The room was air conditioned since the temps outside were in the low 90's most days. Both Mae and Taylor presented a beautiful breakfast each day to get us started. We had the whole place to ourselves for one night. This B&B is run beautifully and is not something they do as a hobby. Sorry we did not meet Bob, but maybe next time. We loved our time on the outer banks, and if we can return, we will be staying at Collington Creek Inn. We miss you already Mae.
Tom and Holly

Room Tip: Garden room faces the water and has a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
865 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,167 reviews
8.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colington Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colington Creek Inn

Property: Colington Creek Inn
Address: 1293 Colington Rd, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8024
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Colington Creek Inn Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing