We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, lovely people, highly recommend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colington Creek Inn
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five nights and couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations and service. This bed & breakfast is the nicest I've experienced and the innkeepers are meticulous in keeping it tidy. Each morning, we awoke to fresh brewed coffee and shortly thereafter, Theresa (she is the sweetest!) served us the most scrumptious breakfast - my favorite was the quiche, but hubby favors the sweet potato pancakes! The views from the inn were beautiful - sound views, the porch was a haven for reading, listening to music, relaxing, and napping! The inn is situated within a mile or so of all the hubbub of KDH but far enough away that you don't hear/see/worry about it. And two excellent restaurants - the best in KDH - on either side - The Saltbox is .5 miles one way and Colington Cafe is .5 miles the other way. Both are EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heels94GreensboroNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Really nice B&B on the Outer Banks. The owners built the building themselves and its evident they did their homework before they started the B&B. Four upstairs rooms with spacious common areas and private porches with views of Kitty Hawk Bay (Albermarle Sound side of the islands). Very nice decor, elevator access to the 2nd floor. There's also a suite on the main floor, which we didn't see.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are terrific. The rooms are very large and comfortable, walk-in showers, comfortable beds. I think Kill Devil Hills is a good location, closer to the National Park than staying in Duck but still access to shopping, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonsreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It was our first time to visit the outer banks and to stay at a bed and breakfast. Location is centrally located, close enough to the beach and shopping but far enough away for a quiet peaceful time. Everything was wonderful! Rooms and service was five star! It felt just like home!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcastrogiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first stay at the Colington Creek Inn. What a find! Mae and Bob Lunden, the innkeepers, are warm and welcoming hosts. The inn is immaculate and impeccably cared for. The setting is idyllic. It is truly a labor of love for The Lundens and it shows.

We stayed in the Boat Room which was on the front side of inn facing the street. We had a view of Colington Creek from our bedroom, bath and sitting area. Our room was furnished beautifully and the bed was extremely comfortable. Each room has its own refrigerator with soft drinks and snacks. Our private bath had all the necessary amenities and was beautifully decorated.

The public areas of the inn are very comfortable. There is a sitting room on the first floor with a TV and wi-fi throughout. Outside there is a hammock in which to relax, a swing inside of a pergola and seating areas all overlooking Colington Creek. At night, the pier and dock are lit which offers a lovely ambience to the setting.

Breakfast is served at 9AM each morning, but we needed to get an early start on our day the first morning as did another couple, so Mae offered to have our meals ready at 8:30 which was very accommodating. Breakfast is served in the sitting areas at each end of the inn. Each sitting area is shared by two of the guest rooms. The breakfasts were hearty and presented in a lovely fashion. We awakened each morning to the smell of freshly brewed coffee that was available in the common area. Around 4:30PM, Mae served us wine, as well as crackers and cheese to tide us over to dinner. Upon return from dinner, each evening there was a sweet treat waiting for the guests in the common area. One night we had delicious cookies and the second night a wonderful cake.

On the last morning, I sat on one of the rockers on the front porch which also overlooks Colington Creek and enjoyed a cup of coffee prior to breakfast. It was total bliss watching the sun glisten on the water.

If you are plan to visit the Outer Banks, be sure to include a stay at this beautifully maintained inn. This inn is deserving of a FIVE STAR rating!

Room Tip: If you tend to be a light sleeper, ask for a room on the back side of the property as you may be sen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We like to try B&B's and this was our first trip to the OBX so i utilized trip advisor pick this spot. Everything was very good. This is a purpose-built B&B versus a converted house as many B&B's are. The good with that is that everything is new, spotless, and well laid out. The bad is that you are missing of some of that old house B&B charm that makes them fun to visit.
Bob and Mae are great, helpful and friendly. I recommend this place

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We come here every year, Bob & Mae are great, bring your spouse here for a nice romantic getaway & be sure to dine at the Colington Cafe also!
They offer a boat ride in the bay as well as wine upon your arrival.
All & all it's a great place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinHarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband and I just got back from the OBX early last week and what can I say...we're ready to go back. We spent four nights with Mae & Bob (the innkeepers) at Colington Creek Inn. Originally we were set to stay for only 3 nights, but within minutes of our arrival we booked a 4th night. We stayed in the Island Room which was beautifully decorated and had great water views. It's incredibly peaceful and quiet...not to mention that the entire place is unbelievably clean and impeccably maintained. Mae and Bob are so friendly and did everything they could to make our stay a relaxing one. The delicious breakfast each morning was served on the enclosed porch overlooking the water. In the late afternoon you were treated to red or white wine, along with some cheese and fruit to hold you over till your dinner plans. When we'd come "home" in the evening, there'd be a tasty treat waiting for us. Sometimes it would be cake, other times it was cookies. Again, all delicious. My husband enjoyed fishing off of the private pier there and I loved relaxing in the hammock, listening to the water and occasionally getting a visit from the resident cat, Sylvester. No worries if you have cat allergies though, the cat does not roam the inn. Both innkeepers were knowledgeable of the area and answered any questions that we had. The charge for the rooms and all that you get with it, is more than reasonable!!!! Each day our room was made up. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels always smelled clean and fresh. I also loved the location. We were within minutes of restaurants, bars, shopping and the beach. However, we were just far enough off the main road to have peace & quiet. I cannot say enough about the Colington Creek Inn and Mae & Bob. I would never dream of staying anywhere else. I've been to numerous B&B's over the years and none will measure up to this one. SUPERB!

Room Tip: First, I have to say that ll of the rooms are nice. The rooms at the front of the inn do face a road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinhump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
890 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.8 mi away
Shutters On the Banks
Shutters On the Banks
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colington Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colington Creek Inn

Address: 1293 Colington Rd, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8024
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £150 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Colington Creek Inn Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing