We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're here for our fourth time around!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic Street Inn
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“We're here for our fourth time around!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The inn was the lifeguard's house before George renovated it. Charming atmosphere with original artwork, roomy downstairs kitchen, comfortable beds, kitchenette in room, big backyard with tables and chairs, beach umbrellas, bikes, etc.--he provides everything you need for a wonderful, relaxing stay at the beach. We don't even think of looking elsewhere. Best bargain, but please...don't tell the others.

Room Tip: All the rooms we've stayed in have beeb great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heathsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We wanted to join friends for a spur of the moment (5 days notice) trip to the beach for the week-end. Most things were booked, being the height of the summer. I found this tiny place on VRBO.com which listed it as a B & B (with no breakfast). For the price $149/night before taxes, it was pretty bad. Sandy floors, TINY room, skimpy towels, miniscule shower. Hardly room to put down your luggage. Never saw the owner....we talked on phones...he left the key. The bed was very comfortable....that's about it. There was a kitchen available for our use....but we spent as little time possible there. It was also quiet. In dire need of a do-over - at least paint and new floors. So if you just need a place to sleep, and you can't find any other place, go for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticstreetinn, Owner at Atlantic Street Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Wow! I don't quite know how to respond to my first some what negative review. But I guess it was just a matter of time before somebody complained about something. In breaking it down, I don't know if I could have done anything different. Cleanliness is our #1 priority and keeping sand out of the house is a constant battle considering our location. There is not much we can do about the size of our smaller rooms and most people actually like the rustic decor. I am just sorry I did not get a chance to meet these guests in person. Never the less, I appreciate the feed back and all reviews ( Positive or Negative) are noted.
Sincerely,
George
Inn Keeper Of The Atlantic Street Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My two friends and I stayed here for two nights while on a 5 week road trip. We really enjoyed it! We stayed in the Crew's Quarters and loved our room. It was cozy, clean and comfortable. The whole place has a nice beachy feel. We really loved having access to the general use kitchen! Kitchens are few and far between on a road trip and we took full advantage of this one while we were there. We used the bikes to ride to Duck Donuts (highly recommended!) and wished we had more time to lay in the hammock and relax. George was really friendly and we enjoyed chatting with other guests during our stay. This was a great location for us, since we wanted to do a lot of exploring around the surrounding area. It's also a very short distance from Kill Devil Custard, which would have been dangerous for us if we'd been there longer! :) We would love to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent a couple nights here to take a little mid-roadtrip break and it was great. The room was a little cozy, but plenty big enough. We walked the one block to the beautiful beach, borrowed the bikes out back to ride around, lounged in the hammock, and walked to a few nearby bars and restaurants. Also it was super convenient to have the full kitchen downstairs at our disposal. Would love to go back and spend more time!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had a really nice time at the Atlantic street inn. We used the bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, hammock, ... The list goes on. This place has everything you could possibly need to feel comfortable and at home, and have fun! Loved talking to George about his garden. He said that if we had come later in the season we could have helped ourselves to the herbs and veggies.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agmartin161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

This inn is a great find. Booked the trip on a whim expecting nothing special, but we were presently surprised! Room was small but clean with modern amenities. One block from the public beach access. Plenty of parking. Bikes to use. Full kitchen to use ( byob- breakfast). Great backyard with out door showers and a hammock. George knows what he's doing, would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine_Eckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I decided on spur of the moment to drive to Nags Head from Va, so I went online to find a place to stay. The Atlantic Inn was highly recommended, so I called and the owner answered. We expected a late arrival so the owner, George told us where the key was and we would meet the following day. George has taken an old boarding house and redone it with attention to detail with creativity. The shared kitchen was totally equipped, the place was spotless and 2 blocks from the beach. There are also bikes and beach chairs. All the artwork is original and done by George. I have already e-mailed George that we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front porch room and had plenty of room with coffee pot, microwave and small refrig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vavirgobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
0.5 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Street Inn

Property: Atlantic Street Inn
Address: 205 East Atlantic Street, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7903
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Street Inn (ASI) is an iconic, nautical Outer banks experience that caters to travelers seeking flexible nightly lodging one block from the ocean. Centrally located at Mile Post 8 in Kill Devil Hills, the Atlantic Street Inn is one block from he Atlantic Ocean. You’ll love the ASI because of the coziness, the comfy beds, the pergola and the kitchen. This is ideal lodging for couples, solo adventurers, weekend warriors and business travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Street Inn Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing