We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Kill Devil Hills”
Review of Cypress House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cypress House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We rented a room at the beginning of April and spent two nights. The innkeepers, Bill and Veda, are a delightful couple and were very helpful in giving us a sense of the surroundings and a tip on favorite restaurants. Hot coffee was available outside our room before we woke up. Breakfast was served at 8:30 each morning and was very tasty. The room itself was as comfortable as anyone could want. The beach is very easily accessible across the street and it was very clean. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

The two of us stayed at this very well kept bed and breakfast over a weekend getaway. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the hosts and the comfortable feel of their home. Breakfast made it to the top of our list as far as bnb breakfasts! Looking forward to going back soon! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyyogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary in September and we plan on going back!
This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and it was super great. We are hooked now!

The house has an old-timey comfy feel to it, Bill and Veda were very warm and welcoming. They know the area well and told us about great places to see and hang out, as well as the best places to eat. The food was awesome. The whole experience was just fantastic.

We recommend the Cypress House Inn to everyone!

Room Tip: The room on the top left of the house was bright and looked straight out to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Possumjoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Cypress House Bed and Breakfast. It is a great place to relax and get away. The owners, Bill and Veda are super Inn owners. Everything is very clean and the breakfasts are great. Coffee at 7:00AM hits the spot. The Inn is just across a parking lot to the beach. Bill and Veda are at your service for whatever you need. They are helpful with dinner ideas and places to see. If you want to meet southern hospitality, try the Cypress House B and B.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a great bathroom with plenty of space. It is recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoytravel0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just got back from my stay and had to make sure that I reviewed the place. The innkeepers were great. Great breakfast, wonderful room. They were also very helpful with dining options. Highly recommend the Cypress House.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siglar34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We booked the Inn based on other reviews and weren't disappointed. Without trying to duplicate other reviews, I'd like to point out that the innkeepers were flexible with payments, parking was ample, and the rooms were immaculate, bathrooms in particular. Bill and Veda were helpful hosts without being pushy and offered a home away from home experience.

No complaints at all, though some notations: walls were thin. A mid day nap was tough because one could hear every coming and going, and we felt guilty having the tv on at night for fear of disturbing others. Also, breakfast was very often a quiche-like entree; not exciting for a simple waffles and pancakes guy like my husband...but others might really it!

All in all, though, a lovely stay at a charming b&b.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PassportHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have never written a B and B or hotel review. But this was too nice not to share. I could go on and on …. Spotless clean room and bathroom (I am crazy picky). We awoke to the smell of coffee and tea placed in the hallway so you don’t even have to walk downstairs for your first cup. Breakfast was served one time at 8:30 am. You sit around a beautiful table with the other guests eagerly anticipating the delicious breakfast you are about to be served.
The Cypress House is steps away from the beach access. And it is a beautiful, wide portion of the beach.
The proprietors took care of little extras during the stay, aside from providing us our beach chairs and towels they gave us a small hand cooler to use for an evening walk on the beach.
My husband and I love to “talk food” and local restaurants and Bill was full of fun and interesting information.
Bill and Veda were neat tidy and efficient without being picky or snooty. But don’t get me wrong a weekend (or week) at the Cypress House will make you feel special. But you can also feel at home, all at a price comparable to some of the mid-range hotels in the area. Please note this is an adult vacation. The house is not really set up for you to bring children under- 12.
Take my advice and book this B and B. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Call to book your room. Some have newly renovated bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_Simas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
902 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Inn

Address: 500 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7827
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £96 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to The Outer Banks? We invite you to come and enjoy our casual but elegant seaside inn, where you can take a stroll on the beach, play in the waves, or just dip your feet in the Atlantic Ocean. Located only 125 yards from the ocean at Mile Post 8 on the Beach Road (1 Lot back from Oceanfront) in Kill Devil Hills, the Cypress House Inn is the closest bed and breakfast to the ocean. A public beach access is directly in front of the inn. We are centrally located to all area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Cypress House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Inn Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing