We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress House Inn
Hampton, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We just returned home and are checking our calendar for a return stay. The owners, Bill and Veda are great host. We could not have ask for a more friendly, accommodating and gracious host. The Inn is rich in historical charm and very beautifully furnished. A wonderful combination of old school charm and modern amenities makes for an unforgettable experience. The homemade breakfast each morning was delicious and we enjoyed the company and conversation at the table each morning. The room we stayed in as well as the common areas were very clean and comfortable. The Inn is located at a great location within walking distance to so much of what the Outer Banks has to offer. My wife and I were seeking a weekend getaway and the Cypress House Inn was the perfect choice! Danny & Sandi H.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We love this place. The owners, Bill and Veda, are great hosts. The homemade breakfast every morning is delicious and the room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. This was our first time at the outer banks, but it won't be our last. We will definitely be back to stay at the Cypress House Inn!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

B&B was right across the street from a great location on the beach and the hosts Bill and Veda were wonderful. The only thing I did not like was that breakfast was at 8:30. Most B&B's give you a window of time usually between two hours to have your breakfast. The beds are extremely hard and need to be updated.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms and the two on the back of the home are the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I can't say enough about this great bed and breakfast. We were looking for a weekend getaway to the beach and found this gem. Once we arrived, we parked our car and didn't get back into it until we left 2 days later. We decided to just walk to dinner and to our entertainment (the beach) every day. It was wonderful and stress free. Bill and Veda make it super easy for you with having beach towels, beach chairs, bikes, beach games and umbrellas all available for you. We really enjoyed talking to Bill, he was great. The breakfast was great each morning and you don't want to miss the afternoon treats. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trish97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We've stayed there twice and can't wait to go back again. The inn is charming and I can't imagine better hosts than Bill and Veda. They are welcoming, thoughtful, and incredibly helpful about ways to enjoy a visit to the OBX. If all this weren't enough, they serve a most delicious breakfast every morning!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We went from Georgia to Fredericksburg, VA for my nephew's wedding on July 1, 2012.  Decided since the 4th was coming up we wouldn't return home right away, but head over to the Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head and Hatteras Island, NC area and explore the beaches, lighthouses and other attractions and hopefully catch some great fireworks somewhere.  Chris and I are planners when it comes to vacations, but in this case we decided to just wing it and see what we could find. We weren't in a hurry so we didn't arrive in Kill Devil Hills until around 8:30pm and started calling a couple of B&Bs.  Cypress House Inn answered our call and we were lucky there was a room left considering the upcoming July 4th holiday.  There didn't seem to be a problem with us arriving that late and Bill and Veda were wonderful to us during our 3-night stay.  Bill gave us a list of some of their favorite restaurants and the meals were excellent. We loved our quaint room with everything we needed and more.  This is a very clean B&B and breakfast was amazingly wonderful.  Varied menu each day and really tasty dishes.  Bill & Veda are excellent hosts and we feel like we were meant to just find them like we did. They sat and talked with us at breakfast and we really appreciated that and the extra attention to detail they seemed to provide in all aspects of our stay.  They offered great insight and knowledge of the area and it helped make our decisions about what to see and do while we were there.  I hope they read this review, because we really want them to know what a special time we had, we didn't want to leave and we most certainly would love to go back.  Thanks so much for a wonderful time.  Lisa & Chris - Atlanta, GA 

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had never stayed at Cypress House before and we were very pleased with our accommodations, location, and the attentiveness of the owners and the cleanliness of the place. When we got there (which was around 12) they let us check in which is one of the wonderful things about a B & B. Our room was comfortable, clean and private.
We only had a short walk to the beach and they provide bikes, umbrellas and beach chairs. They have homemade cookies and tea in the afternoon. Breakfast is always a hot breakfast with a wonderful fruit assortment to start and then either a frittata which we had the first morning or french toast which was absolutely wonderful the next morning.
They host weddings there in their back yard and that too is lovely.
The heart of the owner Bill is in the loss of his beloved dog which is on their website. Lexie apparently was the bright spot in this B & B and I wish I had the opportunity to meet her. I hope on a future visit, they have added another member to this family.
All in all, wonderful place, unique place and just lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeedtoseeTheKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
#15 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Inn

Property: Cypress House Inn
Address: 500 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7827
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to The Outer Banks? We invite you to come and enjoy our casual but elegant seaside inn, where you can take a stroll on the beach, play in the waves, or just dip your feet in the Atlantic Ocean. Located only 125 yards from the ocean at Mile Post 8 on the Beach Road (1 Lot back from Oceanfront) in Kill Devil Hills, the Cypress House Inn is the closest bed and breakfast to the ocean. A public beach access is directly in front of the inn. We are centrally located to all area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cypress House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Inn Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing