We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Cypress House Inn”
Review of Cypress House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cypress House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Boone, NC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay at Cypress House Inn”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband booked three nights recently at the Cypress House Inn for our anniversary. Neither of us at been to the outer banks after living in the mountains for 20 years, so we really wanted to experience what we had heard and read about. This time of year it is cold in the mountains but it was also cold at the beach. We just bundled up making the best of it and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was in the back with a king size bed and was plenty big enough for us. The bathroom was also a good size. Everything was just perfect and the owners, Veda and Bill were so friendly and hospitable. We brought our own wine, and every evening they provided the wine glasses and before going out for the evening, we sat and talked with them downstairs in the living room. They were very helpful to recommend great restaurants such as the Outer Bank Brewing Co. and the Kill Devil Hills Diner of which we both enjoyed. The outer banks is such a beautiful place with all the high sand dunes and ocean. We will certainly like to come back and will stay again at the Cypress House Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
85
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We recently stayed for 3 nights a Cypress, and overall had a very enjoyable time. This was our first B&B experience, so we weren't really sure what to expect. We thought that the location was perfect - close enough to the main KDH main streets, and across the street from the beach. The surroundings were quiet, and the house itself was in excellent condition.

Our upstairs room was clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable and covered in high thread count sheets. As mentioned by other reviewers, the shower was a little tight, probably about 2.5 ft square, but nothing we couldn't handle for a few nights. Our room had a large flat screen TV with cable, and the electrical outlets were few, but again nothing we couldn't handle (we had 2 cell phones and a laptop and did just fine). Our room got a little chilly one evening, but there were plenty of extra blankets to use. In the mornings Bill and Veda put out coffee and a wide selection of teas upstairs an hour before breakfast, and even more were available during breakfast, all of which were wonderful 2 courses of sliced fresh fruit (e.g. kiwi, strawberry, grapes, melon) followed by hand-made delicious specialities (our favorite was the orange-honey french toast).

The innkeepers were two of the friendliest people we ever met during a vacation. They provided a long list of recommended restaurants (we tried several of them and were not disappointed), and really made the trip special. As previously mentioned this was our first stay at a B&B. Later in our trip we stayed at another in Virginia and were sorely disappointed. It just didn't compare at all in terms of cleanliness, comfort, breakfast quality, etc. even though the prices were nearly identical. We would highly recommend Cypress Inn, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bomar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Va
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I loved this house - an old hunting and fishing lodge. Right across the street from the ocean. Had friendly hosts, good food and charming ambiance. Very close to ocean, but can't see it from the house. Only other negative was that the beach itself is not that nice in this area. The ocean is always beautiful, but the sand is very slanted, deep and difficult for walking. They allow driving on beach here which I don't like. Messes up the sand.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florencia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We've made four trips to Kill Devil Hills over the past 10 years and always stay here because the location is great, the rooms are big and comfortable, the porch and the living room are great places to chill or sit and talk, and the breakfast is always wonderful. We were there 4 days and cleaned our plates every morning. I do believe all of the other guests did also. Bill and Veda are great fun to talk to and provide the best list of restaurants. We have never gone wrong with one that they recommended.

Room Tip: My favorite room is The Albemarle partly because looking out the back window you will see the Wright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy_S059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Agree with other reviews on location, hosts, and food. House is lovely, and Bill and Veda are friendly and warm. However, we booked the Roanoke Room which was VERY small and had the most uncomfortable bed I've EVER paid to sleep on. Seriously. The shower was also very small making it difficult to wash your hair without bumping your elbows. Further, only two outlets in the room and a power strip. Hard to accommodate today's electronics let alone an electric toothbrush. Room needs hooks so you could at least put your purse/backpack somewhere other than the floor.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veda P, Owner at Cypress House Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We are saddened to hear that our guests from Southern California were disappointed during their stay. We were fully booked for that weekend so we did not have an opportunity to move them to another room. When they booked online in July, there were two larger rooms available at that time that were not chosen. Room 3 The Roanoke is our smallest room, We have four other rooms that are much more spacious and two of those rooms have newly remodeled large bathrooms. We have been considering combining Room 3 The Roanoke and Room 4 The Croatan and making one large suite with King bed and large bathroom. We have been doing a cost-analysis based on occupancy and revenue to see if it indeed makes sense to do this. We are replacing mattresses this off-season. We will refund this guests one night's stay because we indeed want our guests to be happy with their visit at Cypress House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and stayed here as we celebrated our anniversary and it was absolutely wonderful!! We loved the uniqueness of the house itself and it was great to be so close to the beach. Bill is a superb host and the breakfasts served were fresh and delicious. The thoughtfulness shown to all of the guests was obvious.

You can't go wrong here and we will most definitely come again!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShayBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about Cypress House , after years of renting large cottages at the northern end of OBX we found this in Southern Living Mag. Kids are grown and we wanted a weekend at the beach. Perfect place good value, good location. Bill and Veda were great hosts and we had a great stay. This was a great discovery especially for a couple of nights away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
#15 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
#17 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Inn

Property: Cypress House Inn
Address: 500 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7827
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to The Outer Banks? We invite you to come and enjoy our casual but elegant seaside inn, where you can take a stroll on the beach, play in the waves, or just dip your feet in the Atlantic Ocean. Located only 125 yards from the ocean at Mile Post 8 on the Beach Road (1 Lot back from Oceanfront) in Kill Devil Hills, the Cypress House Inn is the closest bed and breakfast to the ocean. A public beach access is directly in front of the inn. We are centrally located to all area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Cypress House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Inn Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing