We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chesapeake, Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the space”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Always love the extra space not like a regular room and the views are wonderful, centrally located. I am spoiled with the spacious area with our group of girls it helps to have the extra space some like to sleep with tv on some don't we can give everyone what they like. Feel the like we don't have to worry about the room being clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review, we appreciate it when you take the time out of your busy schedule to let us and everyone know how we did and what you enjoyed. It is always a pleasure meeting every one of our guests that stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon, our renovations start in the next few days so we are excited to share the new look with everyone this summer.

Happy New Years to you and your family from the staff at the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    275
    95
    40
    35
See reviews for
374
292
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Everything was the same except a storm came through and flooded the walkway but this was a fierce storm and expected. We love this hotel and plan on staying there . the room smelled somewhat musty but it is ocean front

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattiveres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. Unfortunately storms are a part of this area and very unpredictable. We are starting our renovations finally next week and that should definitely address any issues that you might have had. I do apologize that the room had an odor and not sure what or why, But I assure you it will be addressed.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we truly appreciate when our guests let us know what we doing right and what we can do to improve. We hope to have you come back again this summer to check out our renovated rooms.

Happy Holiday to you from the staff at the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. The beds were wonderful and our daughter loved the Murphy bed !!! This is an older motel, which is about to undergo some renovations. Connie, the Breakfast Queen was friendly & personable, chatted with us at breakfast each morning. She kept the dining area spotless. The waffles were very good. The exercise room was small, but fine. We had an oceanfront room on the 5th floor. The elevators were slow, and smelled of diesel, but got us up & down...

Room Tip: oceanfront has a balcony with beautiful view. Street side has view of Wright Brothers Memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaitiRN97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. Your feedback and comments are very important to us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and do hope that you will come back to see us after the renovations are completed. We are excited to finally get started the first week of new year. You are right Connie is the breakfast queen, we love her and she enjoys every minute talking to our guests. I will pass on your comments to her when she comes back tomorrow.

Happy Holidays from the staff of the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites.

See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, in Kill Devil Hills, NC, over Thanksgiving. I was traveling and walked in. They gave me a very reasonable rate as it was late and in low season. The hotel was oceanfront and the grounds were well maintained. Check-in was quick, counter staff was very friendly.
I stayed in a double bed single bedroom suite on the 2nd floor.
The living/dining room was large and clean, and had a fold-down bed. There was a flatscreen TV. Amenities included a small fridge, small conventional oven and stove and microwave oven with tableware (plates, bowls) and cutlery provided, including detergent (see pic). Bathroom was average sized, a little older but clean, with Pantene toiletries. There was a sink in the bathroom as well as outside, plus one in the kitchen. The bedroom had a flatscreen TV and 2 double beds, which were clean and wellmade.
The outdoor heated pool was closed for the season. The gym equipment is decent (treadmills, pedal machine and weights), but showing their age.
Breakfast was included in the room rate (and much better than average) – there was a wide selection of sausage, eggs, fruits, yogurt, waffle (self-served), breads and cereals. It can get crowded in the room if the hotel is full.

It was a very pleasant stay – nice staff and good facilities. My Outer Banks tourbook (from 2001) said it was a luxurious hotel, but it’s showing is age and due for renovation in a few years (but it is still comfortable for guests right now). I’d probably stay here again in future.

Room Tip: Get up early for breakfast, the room gets crowded at 9am
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey for us, we appreciate the opportunity to hear back what we are doing well and what we can work on.

We do understand our hotel is showing her age of 26 years, and we are just about to start our renovations, a few glitches have stalled the issue but we are back on track to start any day now. You will love the new changes coming this spring and summer. Our rooms will be completely renewed and refreshed. We do hope that if you get the opportunity to be back in the outer banks again next summer to come back and see what we have done. We are very excited about the changes.

Merry Christmas to you and your family from the staff at the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were traveling to Virginia and my significant other stated she had never been to the Outer Banks. I told her to call around when we were on 95 to see if we could find a room. She found this hotel. We were there in two and a half hours. This was the last rom available.

This hotel is a little dated. However the staff is superb. The location is perfect! Views are great.

We had a room issue that was resolved by the night manager in minutes.

The beds are excellent.

The complimentary coffee and breakfast are very good. For a continental breakfast this was a 4 plus star.The lady who worked the breakfast buffet in the morning was very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your great review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay .

We strive to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay with us, and my staff really enjoys meeting everyone that stays here. Our new breakfast has done really well and we are glad you enjoyed it.

We are renovating our rooms this winter and hope to see you back next year when we have completed.

Merry Christmas to you and your family from the staff at the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a Very nice hotel for the area, The staff is wonderful and exceeded my expectations in all areas. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise for a Continental breakfast. They offered a Cheese Omelet, pastries, great coffee, waffles and cereals. The Hotel is very close to the Kitty Hawk Memorial.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us while in the outerbanks. My staff and I strive to ensure that everyone has a great time while with us.

We are very excited to keep hearing how much everyone loves our breakfast. We took the time to find out what guests wanted and not just a focus on what the brand standards for Best Western was. It has paid off well, and we thank you for taking the time to let us know.

We look forward to seeing you again should you find your way in the Outerbanks again. Our renovations are starting and we are very excited about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was our first visit to the Outer Banks. Hotel was central to all we wanted to do. Suite was a decent size and well stocked. The furniture and decor were dated, but clean and well maintained. As we had no difficulites during our stay, all our interaction with the staff was accidental, but each staff member we encountered went out of their way to inquire how our stay was and offered assistance and tips. We plan to return again to the OBX and would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a great survey. It was a great pleasure meeting with a fellow Canadian on their first trip to the Outerbanks.

I am very pleased to hear that my staff ensured you had a great stay, and I will be passing on the survey for everyone to read. We are glad to hear when we do something good, and we thank you for the time.

We look forward to having you come back again soon, and hopefully the dolphins will be jumping again on your next trip.

Merry Christmas from the staff of the Best Western and hope to see you again once our renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,432 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing