We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst and Cheep Tricks they play”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boyds, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst and Cheep Tricks they play”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked the reservation for our wedding anniversary month and half in advance for an ocean view and paid the regular price with out any discounts. Just before 3 days they called me and said renovation etc and moved me to different room where there is no ocean view, knowingly you cant book else where just before 3 days in this season.

The staff is crappy and they just do these things and just all the lies for business. This is completely 3rd rated hotel I have ever seen, unprofessional management.

My sincere advise don't ever book to this hotel

Room Tip: Never book this hotel, staff lies about the renovations etc..don't believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChakriK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I am sorry you feel that something sneaky went on, unfortunately as anyone would understand and everyone else understood, we are at the mercy of the county building inspector opening and closing room availability. We did not have notice that there was any issues with the oceanfront rooms until yesterday May 6 2014. We called to explain to you before your reservation there was an issue. We tried out best to accommodate you and all other guests that were affected. I am sorry you do not understand that some times things happen which are out of our control.

We have tried out best, and sometimes that is all we can do.

Again, I am sorry, and do hope you will come back sometimes in the near future when this renovation is beyond us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    274
    95
    40
    35
See reviews for
373
292
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chocowinity
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hotel needs complete makeover. They are doing some renovations now, but with the amount of work it needs, should probably just tear it down and build a new one. Rail on upper balcony is loose and held on by 1 screw at our room. Dirty room and just old..worth about $50 a night tops.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay, I was out of the country and not available be here for your stay . I am not sure what happened, but I do appreciate that you took the time to let me know you had an issue, although on trip advisor, but that is ok as well. I will investigate your situation, and I will get back with you once I have found out what happened.

I do apologize for your inconvenience, we are doing a complete renovation, and we are still in that process.

Please feel to contact me at bestwesternoceanreefsuites@gmail.com to discuss this situation further.

Again so sorry you were not happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My stay started with a call to the hotel the night before arrival. I spoke with Dennis who was very nice to talk to and he worked hard to find me a great room and it was! The view was awesome and the room was wonderful and clean. The manager checked us in because the girl at the desk was checking in another couple. He told me a lot of things have changed in the last 6 months since he came to this location. If you haven't been here lately. I would give them another chance. We were very happy. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to give us a review on trip advisor. We have a new Assistant Manager a the hotel, his name is Bill Grace, and he has been a wonderful help to not just myself but to the hotel in general. His attitude and knowledge and guest contact skills are exceptional and the benefits both myself and the hotel will have with him on our team is limitless.

We are glad you stayed with us, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We traveled from northern NY to the Outer Banks, NC and stayed her 2 non-consecutive nights because our first night, though not perfect, was made much better by the great staff! Natalie, at check-in, was terrific and found us the best rate! The hotel has all suites, for the two of us, we didn't really need all that room and ability to sleep 8-9, but it was a pleasure to have all that room! The hotel is undergoing a major renovation and our room had not yet been done, but the upper floors have great views and the third floor, where the hot full breakfast is served in a large room, there is a great view of the Wright Brothers Memorial at Kitty Hawk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on trip advisor. I am not sure who Natalie I am assuming you are talking about Ashley who is a great addition to our new team here. She brings a smile and helpful attitude with her when she comes on property and everyone loves her. We have a great new staff here and the benefits of it are starting to show, and we will only get better with all the new additions.

The renovations, although are moving slowly they are progressing, we are dealing with some delays in shipments, but the feedback that we are getting from the people that is staying is great and we do hope that you will come back again stay with us if you find yourself in the outerbanks again .

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The place is in the process of renovation so be prepare to accept the outcome. The hot-tub need update and kitchen appliances are to. Stayed there 4 days and was never greeted by the other staffs besides the front desk rep.

Room Tip: Wait til the renovation is complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AENG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am so sorry we did not meet your needs during your stay with us. I am not sure the other staff members did not greet you, I do know that we do have some new staff although not an excuse, but it does take the new staff a bit to get used to everything going on. The renovations of course are needed and we are addressing the issues, not sure what is going on with the hot tub, as it was closed until yesterday. But I will definitely investigate the situation and appreciate you bringing it to my attention.

I am sorry that the renovations did impact your stay, and I do hope that you will contact me back at bestwesternoceanreefsuites@gmail.com and allow me to discuss with you further. Again thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I will ensure they are looked into immediately and addressed accordingly.

Thank you and hope to talk to you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Helena, Arkansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We had a nice time at the hotel. Good view of the beach. Had a trail you walk down to get there. Not to far though. After it got dark we went back out with flashlights to look for ghost crabs. The kids had so much fun they were running everywhere,the crabs and the boys ! We had a blast!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are glad that you and your boys and our ghost crabs had a blast on the beach while you stayed.

We scheduled the crabs to come out and play that night, we are glad you enjoyed it !!!!!

We do hope you and your family come back again and see us, we all look forward to it

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Excellent hotel, quiet and the view is great. We had been on the road for 6 days and 9 states and had stayed at many hotels of different hotel chains, and I can honestly say I liked many of them, but Ocean Reef Suites would be my first choice when in that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are excited to hear you had a great time while visiting with us at the beach during your stay. My staff has been doing an excellent job in ensuring each and every guest is happy and that the renovations are having little impact.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
835 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing