We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Unfortunately we had a room on the 2nd floor that had not been remodeled. However the suite was spacious and clean, but definitely in need of updating. Plenty of room for everyone and much better than a one room hotel room. The only complaint we had was the poor internet service. Obviously they need to add another wireless router. Only place I could get wireless was on my ipad in the office. The desk personnel blamed Apple. Lol.. Adding another router might solve this problem. Also when leaving the elevator wouldn't move, when my husband checked someone had blocked it open with drywall. Worth the price and easy access to the beach. We would return

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

I am sorry we did not get our renovations completed, we did our best to get all done, the lower two floors will be done in October. We are addressing the internet issues, unfortunately the bilding was built before internet, and we have enough routers, just the guests in the rooms with the routers keep unplugging them to plug in their cell phone chargers.


We do hope we see you again soon, and you will get to enjoy our renovated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I love that the hotel is made up of 2 room suites. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. The chairs and couch in the living room are also comfortable. It is ocean side with a very short walk to the beach. The pool and hot tub were also clean and adequate in size. I will be staying there again in August.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 517judyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for the great response, we are so looking forward to you coming back to see us again next year. We have allot of guests that come back year after year because they feel like they are at home.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Best Western in Kill Devil Hills NC while our cottage was undergoing reconstruction and repair. Nice oceanfront 5th floor suite with plenty of room, comfortable beds, 2 big tvs and reliable internet. Breakfast was good, crowded but well tended to by on-the-ball staff. There was a nice wide section of beach and it was entertaining to watch the lifeguards preparing for their day with their run up the beach and swim back. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, its great to hear when we do something great, we strive the do our best to each and every guest. We look forward to having you come back again soon.

See you next time you are in the outer banks area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel should rate best in Kill Devil Hills. Others do not compare. Searched other sites for best hotels and the one which was rated next to highest was a complete dump.. others in top 10 were way overpriced

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for the great review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we think we are the best on the beach as well, so we are glad you agree.

We hope you come back and see us again soon, we look forward to your return visit. We hope we see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I came down on a Friday because I didn't want to sit in traffic before our Saturday rental house check in. Had booked this hotel for the one night. The Best Western was quite a pleasant surprise, not the overpriced, under maintained hotel you frequently find at the beach. The oceanfront suite was quite spacious, very well equipped and fairly priced. The staff was pleasant and efficient Can't ask for much more than that!

Room Tip: I always ask to NOT be on the ground floor - I get the willies at night if I'm next to a boardwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review on trip advisor, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am so glad my staff met all of your needs and we do hope that we get a chance to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Overall, the hotel was a good stay. It is conveniently located and the staff is friendly and helpful. WE would stay here again, but this next time we would like an ap-dated suite with an ocean view. Hopefully by 2015, the renovation will be over and we can get better accomodations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for the review on trip advisor. we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was.

We are hoping to complete the renovations soon, we are just finishing on the 3rd floor, unfortunately the two lower floors will now have to wait until November of 2014 to be started and should be completed well before next summer. Unfortunately we did have some delays and we apologize if any of those caused any issues with you stay.

We hope we see you again next year,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On the beach! Rooms recently renovated, very clean, courteous staff. Open the sliders in the morning, listen to the waves crashing on the beach, watch the sun come up - Great way to start the day! Prefer the suites now, pay a little more, love the extra space - Got the AAA rate too. Breakfast was good, average selection although they did have a different shall we say main course each day, which was nice: Eggs and sausage one day, omelet and bacon another and my favorite, biscuits and gravy - Make your own waffles, I'm hooked on them. Presentation was excellent, the folks working the breakfast room were super. Go early, gets busy after 9AM.

Pool area was clean, seating comfortable, walk to the beach just over the dunes - Life is good folks!

At one point we needed some assistance and Cindy the GM went out of her way - She sets the example for customer service.

We like to keep in touch with current events, family and friends -Internet service could have been better in the end units.

Centrally located this is a great place to stay - We will be back

Room Tip: Third floor and up has the best view, but floor one has direct access to the pool. They do have wash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for the nice comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to give every single guest the best customer service we can, and make everyone stay memorable.

We are working on the internet issues, we just needed to get the 3rd floor completed. We will get the that issue corrected so that when we get the pleasure of having you back again next visit you will not have any issues at all.

Hope we get to see you real soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,592 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £67 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing