We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shutters On the Banks
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cavalier by the Sea(Kill Devil Hills)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Beach Club(Kill Devil Hills)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Golden Strand(Kill Devil Hills)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Motor Lodge(Kill Devil Hills)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
501
349
118
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
349
118
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower buildingindoor poolwaffleshot tubcontinental breakfastboiled eggsdune viewnice gazebosecond floorwaffle makerfloor roomjockey's ridgedefinitely stay here againnice breakfastprivate balconybeach accesswatch the sunrise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We've stayed at the Colony IV several times and always recommend it to friends who are traveling to the Outer Banks. Hotels at OBX can be ridiculously expensive but Colony IV is reasonably priced and the location right on the beach can't be beat. The front desk staff is always super friendly which makes for a nice stay as well. The rooms are clean and well kept, bathroom amenities are Bath and Body Works brand which is a nice upgrade from the standard issue amenities found at most hotels. Definitely look into Colony IV when planning a trip to OBX and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DizTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We had a beautiful time at Colony IV by the Sea and recommend it to everyone ;).. special hello to Trish at the front desk and the "Handy Man/ Pool Guy" .. What a great week and the hotel was everything the pics show and more. The staff was so kind and made us feel at home. Morning coffee, provided by the staff 24/7, on the balcony with the sound of the waves and sweet rolls warmed in the microwave. A mini fridge full of cool beverages for the beach which is virtually outside your door. How could the week get be more perfect? The surrounding area has plenty of entertainment and great food. The indoor/ outdoor pools are heated and clean. The hot tub is soothing after a day of shopping or sight seeing. We will be back next year without a doubt! Can't wait!

Room Tip: Reserve a Tower Room for beach beauty..
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjhooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theggie, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Thank you, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Just finished our stay at Colony IV, what a great experience! Just steps from the beach and minutes from everything else. Room was very clean, nothing extravagant but more than sufficient. All the employees were very friendly and courteous. Indoor pool area was very nice. It wad a little too cold for outdoor swimming, but that pool looked to be in good shape as well. We will definitely be back on our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theggie, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

For my self and the rest of the staff, thanks for staying with us and for the nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed one night on sunday the 1st of May and had the place to ourselves. The hotel staff was great from beginning to end. When checking out my daugher said she was hungary and the front desk person offered her some food and juice even though the breakfast things had been put away. I thought that was very above and beyond. The bed was very comfortable and everything looked very well kept. We were on the ground floor and some ants got in the bathroom, that would be my only complaint. This is be our hotel of choice down here from now on!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smokem20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theggie, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thanks for staying with us and for the great review. We appreciate your business and your sharing your experience with others. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Friendly and accommodating staff at a nice spot on the beach.

A very clean hotel with well kept grounds.

We really enjoyed the gazebo at the top of the dune overlooking the beach, the shade and ocean breezes were welcome respite during the afternoon heat. There is also an outdoor pool, indoor pool, and hot tub.

Room Tip: rooms with a "partial ocean view"
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david-glebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews