We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
ny
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location on the beach”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We spent two nights here and were very happy with the location. We opted for a partial beach view room (dunes view really, which we were told) and the room was pleasant and very clean. There was no balcony and I was disappointed that the walkway outside the rooms had no chairs because the view was so pretty and peaceful that it would have been nice to sit there. However, there were picnic tables just down from our room (we were on the 2nd floor) and a beautiful gazebo with great ocean views down the short path to the beach which we enjoyed. The beach here is wild and beautiful and just a very short walk from the rooms. We were in the older building and would opt for the newer, more expensive one right next door next time because it does have private balconies.

Room Tip: High rise has balconies and beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorismNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    324
    113
    42
    18
See reviews for
401
342
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Colony IV is an affordable beach front hotel that delivers. We found it after reading other trip advisor reviews, which were quite accurate. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds. The staff was consistently helpful and friendly. And the beach behind the hotel was clean and beautiful. It was also quiet in the mornings which gave us a much-needed opportunity to sleep in. The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was free. If I had any criticism it would be how tiny the bathroom in the room is. Honestly, though, that's not a make or break thing for me.

Room Tip: Ask about discounts when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theggie, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 11 June 2011
Thank you for your review, we look forward to your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We've stayed at the Colony IV several times and always recommend it to friends who are traveling to the Outer Banks. Hotels at OBX can be ridiculously expensive but Colony IV is reasonably priced and the location right on the beach can't be beat. The front desk staff is always super friendly which makes for a nice stay as well. The rooms are clean and well kept, bathroom amenities are Bath and Body Works brand which is a nice upgrade from the standard issue amenities found at most hotels. Definitely look into Colony IV when planning a trip to OBX and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DizTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We had a beautiful time at Colony IV by the Sea and recommend it to everyone ;).. special hello to Trish at the front desk and the "Handy Man/ Pool Guy" .. What a great week and the hotel was everything the pics show and more. The staff was so kind and made us feel at home. Morning coffee, provided by the staff 24/7, on the balcony with the sound of the waves and sweet rolls warmed in the microwave. A mini fridge full of cool beverages for the beach which is virtually outside your door. How could the week get be more perfect? The surrounding area has plenty of entertainment and great food. The indoor/ outdoor pools are heated and clean. The hot tub is soothing after a day of shopping or sight seeing. We will be back next year without a doubt! Can't wait!

Room Tip: Reserve a Tower Room for beach beauty..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjhooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theggie, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thank you, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morral, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Just finished our stay at Colony IV, what a great experience! Just steps from the beach and minutes from everything else. Room was very clean, nothing extravagant but more than sufficient. All the employees were very friendly and courteous. Indoor pool area was very nice. It wad a little too cold for outdoor swimming, but that pool looked to be in good shape as well. We will definitely be back on our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theggie, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
For my self and the rest of the staff, thanks for staying with us and for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed one night on sunday the 1st of May and had the place to ourselves. The hotel staff was great from beginning to end. When checking out my daugher said she was hungary and the front desk person offered her some food and juice even though the breakfast things had been put away. I thought that was very above and beyond. The bed was very comfortable and everything looked very well kept. We were on the ground floor and some ants got in the bathroom, that would be my only complaint. This is be our hotel of choice down here from now on!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokem20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theggie, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thanks for staying with us and for the great review. We appreciate your business and your sharing your experience with others. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Friendly and accommodating staff at a nice spot on the beach.

A very clean hotel with well kept grounds.

We really enjoyed the gazebo at the top of the dune overlooking the beach, the shade and ocean breezes were welcome respite during the afternoon heat. There is also an outdoor pool, indoor pool, and hot tub.

Room Tip: rooms with a "partial ocean view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david-glebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing