We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off season price was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights..rooms were clean beds were very comfortable...plenty of pillows..bathroom was outdated..a little mold around the tub but price was just right..close walk to the beach.breakfast was okay ..waffles were good

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKellySmith, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for posting. Your reviews are very important to us. I am glad that you had a good nights sleep with us. We welcome all feed back from our guests. Your comments only help us to make the stays better for our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

My Fiancé and I were so excited to have a relaxing weekend getaway since either of us have ever been to the Outer Banks. We were able to book the room through Groupon and thought it was a good idea to get away for the weekend. We booked the dune view room and it was a nice convenient walk to the beach from our room. When we got there, we arrive an hour after checked in time and had issues of which rooms were booked through Groupon. Apparently there was a miscommunication between Groupon and the manager/owner of the hotel because the owner was arguing with me about the rooms. I thought it was very unprofessional and it was out of our control of the room booking, when clearly we selected the Dune View rooms and had the Groupon to show for it. The owner made it such a big deal when that could have been cleared up with Groupon. We were able to get our Dune View room and to our surprise, the room had a strong musty odor and the bed was awfully uncomfortable. We hardly could sleep at all because of how horrible the beds were. My Fiancé even found a dead bug in our bed! The toilet was unusually loud and it was hard to flush. The breakfast was okay, it was nothing too special. The wifi kept cutting in and out of our room too. It was nice that the maid was able to leave clean towel for us on our door while we kept the "do not disturb sign". The relaxing weekend we were suppose to have, ended up being restless.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vitalityblotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKellySmith, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay at Shutters On The Banks. When booking through an outside party such as Groupon, the hotel is sent reservations of the room type at booking. The room that you were originally assigned to may have matched the information that the hotel received. I am glad that the hotel could upgrade you in to room that matched the paperwork that Groupon had issued to you and this issue will be taken up with Groupon to make sure that the reservations that the hotel receives is correct to what the guest has received. Any feedback that we receive from our guests only assists us in making the hotel better. Thank you for taking your time to bring these issues to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great location and you could tell a lot of effort was made to make this hotel aesthetically pleasing but, unfortunately, the beds and pillows were too hard. Although attractive, the window shutters did not keep the room dark but allowed the street lighting through. They offered the usual continental breakfast, but the dining area was way too small, and this was during the off season. What was suppose a romantic weekend turned out to be tiresome let down.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CindyFS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I could not sleep another night on the beds. I don't know what the insides were made of--they made a squawking noise when you turned over and the noise woke up your spouse. The toilets (Bemis) sounded like an airplane coming through the room when flushed--ours and the ones above us. It took both hands to push the handle down to flush. The bath area was so small that you had to turn sideways to get out--would not be suitable for a stout person. Last, but not least, there is a short stake in the sand in the middle of the path to the beach--beware! It is not flagged or painted and hard to see at ground level. It could cause a bad fall.

Room Tip: Top floor you can see the ocean and you probably won't have other toilet noise. Also, this mote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nancy778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I booked a dune view room for 7 nights, the website specifically states that a dune view room has a private balcany or patio. When we got checked into the room, there was no balcany or patio, the room was really small, and unclean! There were gummy bears on the floor near the tv stand, mold on the shower head, the bath matt was old and stained, and it smelled like meldew in the room!!! They also had the nerve to leave an envelope on the desk saying "Your room was cleaned by (maid's name). This envelope is for any tip you would like to leave." No, our room was NOT CLEANED and NO WAY we were leaving a tip!!! We didn't stay one night there, it was filthy!!! Do not stay here, it's a dump!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trosie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Clean room, had everything we needed including a microwave and fridge. The staff was very friendly and helpful and called to let me know when my room was ready, ahead of schedule. There is an indoor pool and hot tub as well as an outdoor pool. There was a large selection of foods for breakfast, but the seating area is pretty small. The beach access was fantastic, so nice to just walk steps to the ocean. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAkrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights to just get away for a few days. It's an older facility that's been updated,and is fairly quiet and comfortable. Be aware,in the tower,only the 3rd & 4th floors can actually see the ocean. The protective dune blocks the view from the first 2 floors,and in fact on the 3rd you can see the ocean,but not the actual sandy beach itself. It has a small outdoor pool, a smaller indoor pool,and a small hot tub next to the indoor pool. With the number of rooms,the pools can quickly get over-crowded. The included breakfast was quite good with the usual cereal,some fruit,make your own waffles, yogurt, coffee,milk, sweet rolls,cups of fruit,and oatmeal,sausage biscuits to microzap,etc. Standard motel breakfast,but plenty of choices--main problem is the seating is very limited for the number of possible guests eating breakfast.Adequate parking,and a gazebo on top of the dunes to sit and view the beach. For the money overall,not a bad value,and it was clean and quiet. For the beach, OK place to stay--won't knock your socks off.

Room Tip: No reason to stay below 3rd floor unless money is an issue. Why come to the beach to stare at sand?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £67 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing