We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was nervous booking this place, since it wasn't a chain - I was quickly pleased when we arrived! We went in April and it was still kind of chilly! This was the one of the only places with an indoor pool! We spent so much time there! The sweet lady at the front desk even has toys for the littles when you check in! It was such a sweet surprise, and the staff is so sweet and friendly. I would go back ANY time and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Z, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Betsy M,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and thank you for the very nice comments regarding the staff. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Outer Banks.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We traveled down from near DC and I was unable to get out of work early enough to check in at a reasonable time. We called a head and notified the front desk that we would be late. We checked in around 9pm with no issues at all. The room was clean and well kept and it had everything we needed. The staff at breakfast were very helpful. Breakfast was a little limited, but what they had was good. After lunch we visited the beach right behind the hotel and rented a cabaña from the hotel. The cost was reasonable and the attendant was very helpful and helped us set up and carried everything to the spot we wanted on the beach. Overall I am pleased with the stay and would come here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First 2 nights of our vacation we stayed at the Hilton and spent the next five we stayed at Shutters on the Banks. I absolutely can not say enough good about this place. I will most definitely stay at Shutters next summer and the next :)) my kids LOVED it and we were treated so very special by every single shutters employee we came in contact with!! Thank you Shutters for making our vacation the very best family vacation we have EVER had!!! Rose you are the best❤️❤️

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrisTruBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here this past weekend. This was our second time staying here. Our experience was GREAT!. Check In was QUICK and took about 3 mins. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The access to the beach could not have been any better. Will definately be staying here again. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were able to book at the last minute for the Flying Pirate Half marathon weekend. The room was clean except the carpet felt funny so we just walked around in our flip-flops. The beds were comfortable and it was nice having a mini fridge with microwave in the room. It would have been nice to have a night light in the bathroom area as it was pretty dark at night finding our way. The back door lead directly to the beach access which was nice. The indoor heated pool was a good activity for our son in the evening, however the hot tub was out of order so we did not get to experience that amenity. WiFi signal was strong. The free breakfast was good except there was not enough seating area for all the guest so you either have to eat standing up or take it back to your room which is what we did. There were several good dining options within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o311mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Shutters is an older property with a great deal of charm. The rooms are large, comfortable, and quiet and housekeeping makes sure they are spotless. There is a nice pool, great breakfast, and easy access to the beach from the property. The motel staff are the best we have experienced and made us feel welcome and gave us a lot of information on the local area. Even though this area is not one we normally visit, we will definitely return based on our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kbysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The small town hotel we love! We stay at Shutters every time we go to the OBX. Great location, staff, facilities, clean rooms, right on the beach. One time we couldn't stay there, and we missed it! The breakfast was excellent, but the room is small and got crowded really quickly on the holiday weekends - get there early!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
942 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7898 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £51 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing