We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We love this hotel!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute a few years ago, and we liked it so much its become a 4th of July family tradition! The rooms are clean, the staff is helpful and friendly and the location is really great. You should check it out!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Z, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Beth G,

Thank you for the great review you gave us. I am so happy that you found us and that you and your family return to us each year. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Outer Banks.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    330
    114
    43
    18
See reviews for
417
346
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have stayed at many hotels here on the Outer Banks and by far after staying here once last year and this being our second stay this year we are just in amazement. We love this hotel. It has the amenities that fit everyone in our family from my grandmother to our young kids. The out door and indoor pool areas are clean and well kept. The rooms are fresh and clean and the housekeepers are so friendly and courteous to your needs. The front desk staff are more then accommodating to your unique situations such as ours with my elderly grandmother. The complementary breakfast an the staff that tends it are more then helpful and pleasant. It is the best place to stay on the beach by far. The location is terrific and for a quick afternoon bite we were within walking distance to the Exxon that has an awesome deli shop. The memory foam mattresses and the extra pillows kept on the beds were a plus for us. We woke up refreshed each day. Each time we have stayed it has been booked but it never was packed or crowded at the pool or beach. The atmosphere was outstanding. The staff from the front desk all the way to the maintenance men were friendly and so nice to help in anyway needed. Shutters on the Banks is the only place we will stay on the Outer Banks. We are already planning our fall stay.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Z, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Sheri H,

Thank you for staying at Shutters On The Banks and for posting a review of your recent stay with us. Thank you also for the very nice comments regarding the hotel and staff and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the beach.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Shutters was recommended to us by Pam and Susan at the Colington Cafe after we expressed dissatisfaction over another property. We took one look and were sold. Beautiful beach, gazebo and rooms. The staff and the owner made us feel welcome and went the extra mile to salvage our vacation. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Z, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Vanare,

Thank you for the very nice review of your stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to turn your vacation around. I will have to send a thank you to the people at the Colington Cafe for recommending our hotel to you. Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Outer Banks.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent one night here because we could get a 4th floor room with a balcony, looking out to the ocean. It was a lovely view. The room furnishings looked a little tired, could truly use an update.
It was clean, Only the 1st & 3rd floors had an ice machine in the hallway, that we could see. We were unable to change the TV station that was annoying. Also annoying, was the very noisy air conditioner, it was very loud and turned on and off frequently. Access to the beach was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Z, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Rosemary A,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your time with us. We strive to ensure that every guest has a clean room and a pleasant stay and I am sorry that we feel short of that goal. Again please accept my apologies and I hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This Is a great place to stay!! Staff is great and the rooms are too !! We would stay there again !! We were there 4 days and loved it. If you're in the area of Kill Devil Hills N. C. check it out, you won't go wrong!! We will be back!! We stayed in the towers on the second floor and had a little view over the dunes and saw the water, it is ocean front. If you could get up to the 3rd the view would be GREAT !! And the breakfast is wonderful, lots to choose from on the free breakfast bar and.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or up in the tower gives you a wonderful view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEF45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Z, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear AEF45,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Shutters On The Banks. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Outer Banks.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the 1st time we stayed at the Shutters. We stayed 7 nights. We have been going to the Outer Banks for over 25 years and unfortunately the place we usually stay at closed. We definitely will be staying at the Shutters again. The staff was great. We had talked to one of the owners and they still have more renovations. The continental breakfast was nice but they need more room to sit. They are in the process of adding an outside area, but what happens when it rains? The pools were ok. They need more chairs. The inside pool was very humid in the building. The rooms were very good, but only had one chair to sit on, otherwise you had to sit on the bed. The bathroom area was great. The gazebo was nice and sits on top of the dunes. Great access to the beach.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, I would recommend the 2nd floor if you stay in the building that has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Z, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Gregory C,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your comments on ways we can improve our hotel. We are in the process of making improvements to the property and hope to have everything completed soon.

Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Outer Banks.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We travelled all the way from Colorado to visit the Outer Banks and attend a family wedding June 7,2014. Our stay at Shutters was most pleasant the staff from the front desk to the morning breakfast crew made for a very personal stay. The property offers great value for the price and certainly a property I would enthusastically return to for a future stay. The beach concession which
rents beach umbrellas and chairs is to be noted as well. Good access to a nearby convenience store with all sort of goodies...TWS

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Z, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Terry S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you had a safe journey home. I appreciate the very nice comments regarding the staff and hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing