We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have got to give this place a try!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You have got to give this place a try!”
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Me and my husband decided to take a trip down to North Carolina for Thanksgiving and due to the reviews decided to check this place out. I have never had such wonderful service and such a nice stay for so little. They are running a winter special so it was only 49 dollars a night for a room directly on the beach. The person taking our reservation was very pleasant and patient. Even though we got lost and ended up getting there in the middle of the night the person who greeted us wasn't tired and grumpy like you get with most hotels. I really cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff was, plus you get the same type of complimentary breakfast you would at any regular chain like Days Inn. They also have an indoor pool that is well maintained and an outdoor heated pool if you are brave enough. I myself am not a coffee drinker and normally have to request tea in the less expensive places but they even had that in our room. This hotel is really not lacking anything. We even got up the next morning and got to see dolphins all the way down the beach line. It was AWESOME!! Don't let star ratings by chain hotels fool you, this hotel is a great find. I look forward to staying at it again very soon.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and great amenities...did I mention the price?!?!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peacefulpauper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    333
    114
    43
    19
See reviews for
421
349
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We recently stayed at the Colony. It has recently been remodeled. The entire location was especially nice & clean. The lobby & breakfast area were very nice, beach area was decent, & the room was spotless. Price was decent. I would recommend staying on the top floor though. Any little bit of movement above us was so incredibly loud - I had such a hard time sleeping there. We were on the first floor. So, I would definitely recommend the place - just stay on the top floor :)

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — noise level from room above us
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamalikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Stayed here based on the trip advisor reviews. Staff at check in were very friendly. We had a third floor room they have a partial view of the ocean due to the dunes.
The rooms are clean and very typical of most hotel rooms. The fridge and coffee machine are an added bonus. Stayed in other hotels on this coastline that were better value but I wouldn't knock this hotel it has everything you need and is in a good location, Breakfast is provided but there's not a lot to it.
Big disappointment was the pool, it's not deep at all so not really for swimmming in more of a plunge pool. The pool is also completely boxed in so is very shady and stuffy, there's no air getting in, so best to stick to the beach.

Not my first choice hotel for this area but not bad either.

  • Liked — It was very clean and the staff were friendly
  • Disliked — The swimming pool
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoraDementia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2008

awesome! we had a great stay at the colony iv. we ended up making great time getting down to the beach and we got to the hotel a little early. they allowed us to check in then, which was really nice. the lobby was really cute, and the people at the desk were very friendly and helpful. the room was very clean and very large! we stayed in the tower on the 3rd floor, which is one of the only places that gets a true ocean view. we had a private balcony with some chairs on it, which offered a very nice view of the ocean. when we got into the room we noticed our toilet didn't flush so we went down to the office to let them know on our way to dinner. when we got back a maintenance man had already been in, but we still couldn't flush the toilet, after a minute of fiddling with it i realized that there was nothing wrong with it in the first place you just have to push on the handle REALLY hard because its one of those high pressure toilets. so keep that in mind. we will definitely be returning, only next time i think we may downgrade our room, because while the view was nice we really didn't go out on the balcony much because they also have a gazebo that is steps from the hotel that is really nice. we also had a little too much room in the room, too much for 2 people at least. also just to note, our room had a nice sized mini fridge, a coffee maker and a microwave, they kept the room stocked with coffee, cups, and lots of towels. the hotel also has a nice outdoor and indoor pool with hot tub, and a small gym. I've been going to kill devil hills for years with my family and this was the first time going on my own, and definitely the nicest stay I've had!

  • Liked — access to the beach, surrounding attractions
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dennishaskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence Forge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed here Labor Day weekend and it was fine for what we needed. We usually stay at B & B's, but we wanted to stay a little closer to the action.
The hotel is typical, but it is located on the beach. Room was clean, taken care of the next day by the cleaning staff in a good manner, they have their own gazebo on the beach which we enjoyed, the beach area in front was small due to erosion and hopefully the town can get it back to normal.
The breakfast is your standard contiental but we only ate there one morning and opted for a heariter breakfast somewhere else.
All in all, the stay was fine, no problems and we would stay there again.

  • Liked — On the beach, nice gazebo overlooking the beach
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NeedtoseeTheKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2008

I booked this hotel over the phone 3 days before we were supposed to arrive. The clerk was very friendly and helpful, also warned me the first floor room didn't have an ocean view. The room was very clean, nicely furnished, and well stocked. Even my 19 year old son liked the room. The rates were less than some of the big chains on the island. The breakfast was a nice addition, although the seating area could be a little larger. The only other inconvenience was the pool closed at 9pm. It would have been nice for the indoor pool to be open later.

  • Liked — The walkway to the beach with the gazebo
  • Disliked — The size of the breakfast room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spartanmom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, NY
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Our family of 5 has stayed at the hotel several times now, the first time was right after the big hurricane came through and they had remodeled. We choose this hotel because of the oceanfront room, newer furnishings and pools. We like that whenever we come, usually in early Spring, both pools are heated. You do not get that very often. Coming from Western New York and usually snow, that is much appreciated. The rates for oceanfront are reasonable, love the Bath and Body works shampoo and soaps, love the breakfast but the room is too small with not enough tables. If somehow they could expand that area that would be great. Seems like some wasted space in the lobby or in the fireplace/reading room could be utilized for additional breakfast seating. Love the all day coffee!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — not enough seating in breafast area
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OBXluvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing