We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to the Outer Banks? These Reviews are Right, Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2009

After reading a bunch of reviews about this place I decided that this hotel will be my choice for a 3 night stay in the Outer Banks. When we arrived, my family (ages 25-58) agreed that this was the right choice.

Very good hotel choice. We stayed on the 2nd floor in the 4 story tower building. You will not get a view of the beach or ocean from the 1st or 2nd floor, maybe the 3rd, definitely on the 4th. The sand dunes block your view, but that is ok with me. A walk on the beach is just as good. The higher you go the more expensive it will be. At the price of $166 a night in the middle of the summer (after taxes) this beach hotel is a bargain!

The room was a decent-size, good enough for a family of 4 adults. Mini-fridge included. The bathroom was very small though. The shower is powerful but it is hard to see in the bathroom due to poor lighting. The A/C was terrible in our room (kept going on and off all night long) and the TV reception was fuzzy -- all of this still did not bother us though.

The hotel is located right on the beach, a short walk past their gazebo and you are on it. The outdoor pool was extremely comfortable and clean. The indoor pool was a tad too warm (like bath water) and the hot tub really wasn't hot (warm as well) but the outdoor pool was perfect. The "exercise room" was disgusting (dirty/moldy/needs a big upgrade). This hotel offers a free breakfast in the morning (cereals, breads, misc. items, nothing huge but just enough). The breakfast seating area is small (5 tables) so go early or just bring the food back to your room (even though it says you can't we did it). There is a computer that anyone can go on so that's great if you do not have your own laptop.

All-in-all, an excellent stay. Plenty of parking, clean beach, not that crowded. This was our first time in the Outer Banks and it definitely will not be our last.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingCobra7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2009

Nice smaller motel; Basic; Clean; Safe atmosphere for both couples and families; Easy and close access to the beach; Close to everything; Friendly staff; Great to have both an indoor and outdoor pool to cool off in

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I did quite a bit of research on the internet on where to stay as this was my first trip to the Outer Banks. I booked this hotel because it was ranked #1 and I was not disappointed. I can't compare it to any other hotels in the Outer Banks but was very happy with my stay. I was on the 4th floor in the Tower building and had a FANTASTIC view of the beach and ocean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My room was clean and spacious. I did go to the continental breakfast one morning and it was as expected (muffins, bagels, coffee, etc.) but it was well laid out and very nice.

The only con was I could not access the internet in my room but I just took that as a sign that I was on vacation and didn't need to check my work email. :)

Overall it was a great stay and if I come back to the Outer Banks I would definitely stay here again!!! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMSC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I stayed at the Colony IV in June 2009 for 5 nights. We enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished. We had a TV, Microwave, and small refrigerator. Our room was on the second floor Tower building. When standing up, we could see the ocean. When we made our reservation, we were told exactly what the view looked like so there were no surprises, actually it may have been a little bit better than described. When we stayed at this hotel in Octoer 2008, we had a fourth floor room and the view was fantastic.

We were very conviently located to the beach and the Wright Brothers Memorial.

The motel has and indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. This area is very nice. My only complaint is that the indoor pool was too cold. This was true in October and June. Outdoor pool and spa were great.

Continental breakfast was served each morning. the breakfast room was clean and very attractively decorated. They served bagles, cereals, muffins, danish, coffee, and juice.

The had a computer in the lobby for guest use. I found that to be a great convenience.

We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We booked this hotel based on online reviews since we had never been to the Outer Banks previously and were pleasantly surprised at clannishness of the hotel, the and the friendliness and customer focus of the hotel staff. We had a Tower room 2nd floor and the rooms are spacious and very clean. We knew when we booked that our ocean view would be blocked by the dunes so that was not a big deal. The location of the hotel is great and surprisingly the pools were not crowded. The continental breakfast is like any other hotel but it was still adequate for what we expected. The hotel really made our outer banks experience a peasant one. We will stay here again when we come back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mekuria06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This was our first time visiting the Outer Banks, and we totally relied on Trip Advisor ratings to find a hotel. Once again we were not let down by the users honesty and opinions. So thank you to everyone who reviewed this hotel and all the others honestly!!
The hotel is really nice and they really appear to care about their guests! They use brand name products (Bath and Body and Maxwell House to name a couple!) and that says to me that they want to go the extra step to give their guests special attention! PLEASE don't change! These little things matter!

The staff was great (except for the young lady at check out who told us that it was our fault our refrigerator stopped working~ then another employee stepped in and told her it was not us but the timer in the back had been set incorrectly by hotel staff). It rained each day of our trip and on the last leg, it actually rained hard enough to leak water under our door and into our hotel room, but the nicest employee (wish I would have gotten her name!) moved us up to higher ground and provided us with a great view for all our troubles. The cleaning staff was a great help when we needed additional products!

Pros- They have Bath and Body Works products!!! I mean HELLO that is worth the extra money to stay there! The one lady who worked the front desk~ wish I would have gotten your name but I remember how sweet you were and even called me Ms. Kimberly~~ you are amazing! The pools and hotub was really nice! The breakfast was good and FREE! The view from the top floor, and the beach access! The serve Maxwell House coffee, and even stock the rooms with it! Close to everything~ especially The Kill Devil Grill!

Cons- Only the one front desk attendant and the water leaking into the room.

This hotel takes the time to do it right the first time! Give it a try I do not think you will be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLaughLovePray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Was one of the best hotels i've stayed at. The service was great. We needed a printer to get tickets for a baseball game, and they let me use their desk computer. there is also a computer for anyone to use in the lobby. the breakfast at the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mluc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
899 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7898 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £56 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing