We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Location was excellent, but room was tiny and dingy. Television and coffee makers did not work. While showering water temperature would go from hot to cold several times throughout the the shower.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your stay with us on the beach. Power to many of our TVs is controlled by the lightswitch by the door, and when guests call the front desk to ask about their TV this is the information given to them. I do hope that if you had an issue with the TV and coffeemaker that you did notify the front desk which would have replaced these items immediately. I have not heard of an issue with fluctuating hot and cold water and we will have someone check into this. Please note that if you ever have an issue at any property you stay, to notify someone immediately as they (and we) want to make sure that your stay is as comfortable as it can be. Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank jmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Staff was very wonderful, from lobby to housekeeping, clean and great location. Really needs some updating, wasn't anything in the interior newer than th 80's. Exterior even looks older, but maybe, that keeps the price in check.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words on our staff and I'm happy you found everything clean and tidy for your stay. We do do renovations every year when we take several rooms offline to be redone. We have redone a few this spring and did several the year before that, etc. For example, most of the rooms in the 2 story building have been redone and we are working on the 3 story building this winter--we did finish several rooms as mentioned this past spring. We do hope that you will come back and see us another time, please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kill Devil Hills hotels
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,302 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
942 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Address: 1801 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £42 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property features all non-smoking rooms and suites with a complimentary hot breakfast and afternoon refreshments. We are located a 1 1/2 miles north of the Wright Brothers Memorial in Kill Devil Hills. All rooms and suites feature: microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker and free Wi-Fi. There is an outdoor pool on-site (open seasonally) as well as a guest laundry. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom suites for those wanting to be together but have a little extra room for their stay. Our 2 bedroom suites and some of our 1 bedroom suites also feature full kitchens. We have oceanfront, oceanside and pond side rooms and suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Mariner Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn And Suites Mariner
Days Inn Mariner
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing