We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were thrilled to stay a fourth time at Comfort Inn on the Ocean. Same great staff and stay experience we consistently encounter each year. Improvements this time - key swipe entries from pool and beach access are functional; chaise lounges by pool; a second set of coin op washer/dryer on the fourth floor. Pool area has been remodeled since last year. No small pool or hot tub but we wouldn't have been using them this year anyway. The super friendly staff make this hotel a standout not just on the Outer Banks but among hotels we've stayed in anywhere. Front desk staff-housekeeping-maintenence-everyone is welcoming and helpful. Room was clean as always. Beds are really comfy. Great breakfast. Definitely recommend the ocean view rooms although they make it even harder to leave! Thanks again!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeartInOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your return visit. All of us here are pleased to know that you consistently have a wonderful experience with the staff and with your room. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

The beach is gorgeous, as is the view from the balcony. Do not stay on the first floor, as the ocean view is obscured by the large dune. Check-in is 4 pm, but they happily put us in a room when we arrived early. Staff was friendly and helpful. Also, you can rent chairs and umbrellas on the beach, and charge them to your room.
PROS: Great location. Gorgeous beach. Fridge and microwave in the room. It was clean. Breakfast included in room fee. Free wifi.
CONS: Our room's window was filthy. I tried to clean it, and discovered the scum is sandwiched between two panes of glass, and unreachable. I mentioned this at checkout, and was told it was certainly a problem. (So probably not just in our room, 217.) There's a leak in the seal, and storms drive the salt water into the space between the panes. They should be replaced, because what should be a knock-your-socks-off view is, instead, disappointing. Another problem, which exists at any hotel with balconies, is that people smoking cigarettes on the balconies cause smoke to drift onto your balcony, and into your room. I like to sleep with the window/door open when I'm at the ocean, because the air is of such stellar quality. Well, not when there's smoke wafting in! I'm not sure what you should do when that happens.
Also, there's not much room around the sink for spreading out toiletries, etc. Oh, and there is no safe in the room to store your valuables.

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront, and avoid the first floor, as the view is blocked by the big sand dune.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreeUnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay! We all agree that the view from the oceanfront rooms is nothing short of amazing. Being a beachfront hotel, we do get the occasional fogged window from all the humidity. We are in the process of replacing them, so that everyone can enjoy what you called a stellar view. Thank you again for taking the time to respond. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was my family's 1st time in the area. We spent the week of the 4th of July 2013. Great location, as there are very few hotels actually on the beach in this area of Nag's Head. Mostly houses to rent. So glad we were at least on the 2nd floor, because the 1st floor has no ocean view due to the sand dunes. The staff was great, the room was clean. The hotel in general is dated. Please note that there is a very steep inclines everyone must go up to reach the 1st floor and the elevators inside the hotel. It was inpossible for us to push our cart up the ramp. I am very grateful for the hotel staff that is there to help. The breakfast was only so, so....I've had much better quality at say a Hampton Inn or even a Holiday Inn Express. I was disappointed that the pool was beside the hotel with no view of the ocean. The thing that I didn't like, and actually the reason I will never stay again is because of the "double beds." They were not big enough for my husband and I to sleep in together. And we are not big people, we actually had a full size bed ourselves until about 3 years ago. I will pay more attention the next hotel I book to make sure it reads "Queen Beds." Also, the hotel employs the guy on the beach to rent umbrellas and chairs. You have the option of charging it to your room. I loved that you didn't need to bring money to the beach. However, note that the chairs they rent are only the low beach chairs, not the large lounge chairs. You need to bring a towel to actually "lay" out on the beach. Just a note, as this was my 1st trip there, I was very supprised that most things closed by 9pm. Even the week of July 4th. It's a lot different than Myrtle Beach or Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor or higher for an actual "ocean view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. We also think that being right in the middle of everything makes for a perfect location for easy access to anything you would like to do. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the pool not being oceanfront. With the spectacular view from our balconies, we felt it would only disrupt the scenery having it out back as well as the natural protection of the sand dune. Even though you had a room with two double beds in it, we do have rooms with a single King or Queen size option. We do hope you keep this in mind the next time you travel to The Outer Banks and stay with us again. Thank you again for your response. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The room was very clean- I really enjoyed the down comforters. The room looked newly renovated. Shower always had hot water- which is impressive for the size of the hotel! Beach access was easy and the pool was clean! The staff was very nice and helpful....breakfast was great (real eggs & bacon!).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emysny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We think our breakfast is the best on the beach and glad you enjoyed it. Thank you also for the compliment about our Housekeeping Department. They take great pride in cleaning the rooms so that our guests are comfortable. We hope to see you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed one night at the hotel May 3rd for our 25th Anniversary getaway of the South East. The front desk was very friendly at both check in/out. Breakfast in the morning was great with lots of choices & was a bonus since it was included in the price. Enjoyed our visit at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel5bugEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your Anniversary with us. Our staff tries very hard to make sure every guest has an exceptional stay and we are glad that they hit their mark with you. Thank you again for your response. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Not the fanciest place in the world, but our room was clean, had a balcony with ocean view, delicious breakfast with a large choice of items and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel. It's definitely the best deal in the area with an ocean view. Wish I could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We were 2nd floor near the stairs and it was great, but I think any of the ocean view rooms would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Birdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We think that our complimentary breakfast is the best on the beach and are glad you enjoyed it! We are also glad that you like the view from your balcony. The sunrises have been nothing short of amazing! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thank you again.

--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Very old hotel. Lobby seemed to have been redone, and was nice, clean and comfortable. Otherwise, commons areas were not clean, old and worn, as was our room. The beach access was wonderful - great location. Good restaurants very close by. The pool areas was clean. Lots of dogs on the property - we did not have an issue with this, and did not hear noise, but may bother some. Breakfast was typical hotel free breakfast, but what we expected. Front desk staff was, however, very professional and helfpul. We had planned to stay only one night, and would not plan to stay more.

Room Tip: Choose high floor to avoid pets in this pet friendly hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awayjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We regret that your positive experience with our lobby did not extend to your room. While we are an older hotel, we do make every effort to make sure our guests are comfortable. We are glad that you did find the location exceptional and hope that you decide to come see us again and give us another chance to please you. Thank you again for your feedback.

--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,194 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £38 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing