We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$125
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shutters On the Banks(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftin' Sands Motel(Kill Devil Hills)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
131
151
121
52
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
151
121
52
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe outer banksroom was cleannice deckyogurtlobby areaa pet friendly hotelfree breakfastoff seasoncommon areaswould stay here againbeach frontan older hotelnags headoutdoor pooloceanlesliedog
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After staying at this hotel a couple of times before, we were excited to go back. When we were there the last time , the manager told us to call her the next time we were coming back and she would help us out with our reservation. Unfortunately the staff had changed some when I did call, and weren't as pleasing as the last few times we had stayed, because of the rate I had. It's a nice hotel, and most of the staff there are friendly. It was a pleasure to see Sheena at the front desk as she always had a smile on her face, and nice conversation. She also gave us a great room last time. Terry was another friendly one from Housekeeping. These two always looked like they loved their job. They still have a great breakfast, and it's in a location where you can just go out and walk, with a lot of restaurants around.
On the down side, I had to let the water run for 10 mins, before it got warm and it didn't last for two showers without getting cold again., then it wouldn't drain . Even though it's a non smoking hotel, the smell of smoke coming from the front of the hotel was horrible at times, with people on the balconies and people smoking in front of the hotel. We were so disappointed in our stay that we left 4 days early and went to Virginia beach, where we had no problem getting a ocean front room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beachglassgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It has been a while since I have visited this hotel. I was initially attracted by the favorable "off-season" rate, but shocked at the wonderful renovations. It is an older hotel, but not "period," as are some, with tiny rooms and bathrooms, on this beach. Room sizes and bathroom sizes are quite adequate, and up-dated to please. .The outdoor pool, closed for the season during this visit, and surrounding area is large, inviting, and well maintained. The beach-side entry must navigate a sizable sand dune, but opens up to a wide expanse that attracts fishermen and swimmers alike. Breakfast is included, and it is well served, and tasty, if predictable. One issue persists for this hotel. The elevator does not begin at lobby level. Guests must climb stairs/negotiate a ramp to get to the elevator. The hotel recognizes this issue, and supplies a cordial young man to assist with luggage, both evenings at check-in and mornings, at check-out. There is a small exercise room. It is equipped with a treadmill, stair stepper, and weight machine in like new condition.
.

Room Tip: The property has a "floor" of below dune (dune view) rooms. I have stayed in one of them. The rooms are fine, but one floor up, on the ocean side, you get a view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick163250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay! Our entire staff works very hard to make sure our facility is welcoming and comfortable for our guests. We are very glad to hear that this mark was met with you. As for the elevator, this winter we will be eliminating the need to use the ramps to access the rooms. We hope you will be pleasantly delighted the next time you stay with us. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel was fairly priced for off season rates. It is right on the beach which made the location great. The beach was beautiful and a nice boardwalk made it easy to get to. Everyone has to climb a steep ramp or climb a flight of stairs to reach the first floor. The staff was great and will help you get your luggage up to the elevator or first floor rooms if needed. The rooms were large and updated nicely. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean enough for the time you actually spend in them. The bathroom was small but, stocked well. We had a oceanfront , first floor room with a patio. The sounds of the waves and the smell of the salt air was wonderful. The first floor rooms view of the ocean is blocked by the dunes but, is landscaped nicely and is worth it not to have to come and go through the hotel. You have your own private door to the outside. The breakfast was average for these hotels. There was a small bar on the main floor that also served a small menu for room service. The pool was very nice,but we spent more time on the beach.Close to shopping and plenty of activities. Only one hour or less south to remote areas of the Outer Banks. Great laundry facilities.

Room Tip: If you want a view get upper floors. Elevator is slow though. If you want to come and go to the beach with ease get a first floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We also think the beach and the view from our oceanfront rooms is beautiful. We are glad that you found your room accommodating and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is an older hotel, no getting around that. BUT-it is on the beach, the views are astonishing and you can wake up in the morning, hear the waves, and see the sunrise over the Atlantic. We were very pleased with our room and the price. Very nice beds, clean room, great hot breakfast. The hotel has a friendly staff, sweet and solicitous, we were greeted every time we came in the front door and every time we left.
The hotel building was obviously constructed first and the enormous, dramatic lobby, bar and breakfast area were added later. There is an elevator up to the rooms. Let the nice young man help you get your bags up the ramp-give him a tip :)
And then walk into your room, open the curtains and look outside. Go outside, sit on that private balcony!

Room Tip: Ask for an Oceanside room. Why would you stay on the side NOT overlooking the Atlantic Ocean?
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. We agree with you that the best sound in the world is the waves meeting the shore. The view alone is amazing, but the sound just completes it. Thank you also for letting our staff assist you with the ramp. We know it is steep, but soon will be remedied. We hope to see you on your next visit to The Outer Banks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

we got an on-line deal for the room so the price was very right. wish we had been able to get one of the rooms facing the ocean but our room was complete and very nice. room was very clean with nice amenities. there was breakfast service because it was the off season but they offer a free breakfast at a restaurant within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for ocean facing room when you book
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our staff strives to make sure that each guest feels welcome, and we are glad that they met that mark with you. We apologize that you missed breakfast. It is open every day from 6:30 - 9:30am and very good. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews