We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice oceanfront hotel pet friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a very nice oceanfront hotel which is pet friendly. We wanted to take a trip to the Outer banks and take our Beagle puppy Baxter with us. The room was very comfortable with an ocean view balcony. the Hotel has a beach access walkway right to the beach. the hotel also boasts a bar/restaurant with a great choice of food. the hotel is going through some renovations at this time. the staff are exeptional making sure your stay is a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edodowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Right on the beach. Great location for activities, food, and shopping. The continental breakfast was good with a nice selection. The staff was polite and easy to work with. Hotel was under some renovations and should be even better once they are complete.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet request corner rooms by staircases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We chose this at random upon arriving on the Outer Banks to do some bicycling and visiting. The public areas were dirty and worn, and the steps from the lobby to the first floor were in terrible shape. The bathroom door in our room (119) was chipped and clearly this place is not up to what I have experienced with this brand before. Our rate for April 14 was $100, and the rate for April 15 was $180, which we were told was the beginning of high season. We agreed to the rate because we didn't feel like looking for another motel the following night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We paid ~90 for a one night stay at the hotel. Great value & great location. You literally are right on the beach - what a view!!

There are several excellent dining locations close by and you are about 2 miles from the Wright Brothers' Museum.

Breakfast in the morning is not your typical gross continental fare. We had eggs, sausage, grits, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, donuts, breads, and yogurt! We'd stay there again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illini511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know. We are also glad you enjoyed the location. Being right in the middle, makes it easy to access just about anything you would want to do. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to The Outer Banks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I had an excellent experience at the hotel. The ocean view was fabulous, the bed and pillows were nothing short of a 5-star hotel. I was impressed with the helpful and courteous staff! Trip advisor, Jan Levine, took care of all my needs including several changes I needed to make in short order. I can't thank the entire tremendous staff enough.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay! We are pleased you like our new pillows and that our staff took excellent care of you! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Thanks fully it was able to get a room with ocean view since hotel was almost empty...

The hotel was under renovation, lots of difficult place to go through - elevator out of service, not easy to get to our room, bad smell everywhere... Not a real must...

Nice ocean view from the room, fridge, microwave, flat screen tv and decent Internet...

Was unfortunately misinformed about time to get to ferry (told me 45 minutes from hotel, which is actually over 1h15 minutes driver over speed limit!!!) and another 50 minutes to 1 hour on the ferry... So be careful and plan ahead if you need to take the ferry!!!

This hotel should be hopefully nicer this summer but a lot more expensive I guess!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are glad to hear that we were able to enjoy our wonderful ocean view. We are sorry that you did not receive a copy of the directions and timing to the ferry from our front desk. They have been reminded to provide these to our guests when they inquire about the ferry. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the warmer weather. You will love the convenient access to the beach! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel was nice, friendly and clean. But our understanding from the booking service was that their shuttle could take us to the airport in time for our early flight. The booking service said they checked with the hotel. But when we asked when we got there they said it was before their driver came in. They said if we would have scheduled it with them the person could have come in early. No one told us that, so we paid for a taxi. I think they could have asked the driver if he could have come in 15 min early, but they wouldn't do that. Otherwise, it was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We value the opinions of our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,302 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £36 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing