We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General Manager is in the wrong Industry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Mountain
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“General Manager is in the wrong Industry”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I had stayed at this location previously. The staff is efficient and the standards of the hotel have been consistent with other Holiday Inn Express Hotels we have stayed at. Any hotel can experience issues from time to time. How the hotel responds to the issues separates the good ones from the bad ones. I had commented on this hotel previously stating a gripe with the lack of hot water. But otherwise our stays have been satisfactory; until this time. After driving 10 hours and arriving at 8:30 PM with a prepaid room we were expecting an easy check in. Actually it was. However, the room had an ant problem. Ants on the TV counter, ants on the dresser counter, ants on all the counters. Ants on the walls and ants behind the bed headboard. I complained to the Desk Clerk. She is a wonderful, caring individual whose pay should be her weight in gold. The hotel was sold out. Anyway the GM was contacted and his response was that he would have his housekeeper spray Raid on the counters, walls, floors, everywhere including I'm sure the mist over spray on our pillows, sheets and comforter. The desk clerk passed the phone to me after I refused to sleep in a toxic room. David Bean, the GM was a gassed that I was on the phone, asked who I was and asked that I hand the phone back to the desk clerk. He told her that we had 2 options spend the night with the toxins or find lodging elsewhere. He wasn't apologetic and was actually disbelieving that his hotel could have an ant problem. My wife took the desk clerk up to our room for proof. Anyway, I spoke to HI customer service and they were very apologetic. Although they did ultimately find another hotel for us to stay at we were traded out for another room that didn't have an ant problem and all was resolved. To be kind the GM did offer to comp our room because of the ant problem. HI Express has a policy similar to Hampton Inn that says that they will make your stay acceptable if they can't make it right. Holiday Inn Express is a good brand and by all means support this location as it has a host of good amenities and good people working there.
But the GM doesn't appear to be a people person and had no empathy for us; actually quite the opposite. Extremely disappointed in his role during this encounter.

Room Tip: Stay away from the highway side as it is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gatorgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loray1111, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
I am truly sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We will take your comments and use them for further training with our staff and we hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in Kings Mountain. We would love an opportunity to make your stay right. We thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    26
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
12
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Traveling to Atlanta from New York we picked this hotel based on ratings an location just outside Charlotte. Very convenient location. Staff was friendly and very helpful especially considering our late check in. Room was very clean and efficient as you would expect from a HIE. Only a couple of minor issues - tub drain was very slow so you get that annoying collection of shower water in the tub and the bathroom fan didn't work - not show stoppers. We thought the complementary earplugs in the room were a nice touch to help drown out road noise. Sometimes there are things a hotel just cannot change. Thanks for trying to make the best of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loray1111, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are sorry that you experienced some issues while staying with us. We will take your comments and use them to further train and educate our staff. We take pride in our customer services and our clean and comfortable rooms and hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for your great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
658 reviews
438 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Since Charlotte was sold out or $300, I stayed at this modestly priced motel 35 minutes away. Right off the freeway but an odd entrance getting here - but my nav did. At first glance, it's clean/ok. Going to the room, was easy - the elevator is right in the lobby. The 2nd floor hallway is wide - but the carpet filthy. Open the door to the room - and it's quite attractive - nice carpet, decent furniture, etc. I was overlooking the pool - and the highway with its noise. If you run the ac unit, you don't hear it too bad.

To run the ancient AC unit, you need to go to it. To go to it you are grossed out. There is all this dirt/soot - i dont' know what it is - under the grates. Looks horrible. Really grossed me out - and someone needs to clean it.

My other issue is the gym - not horrible - but the equipment is old and worn down - they need modern equipment.

Breakfast - typical HI Express fare - but the hard boiled eggs were half frozen.

It wouldn't kill me to stay again - but if I have my choice, i won't.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelManSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loray1111, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on having clean and comfortable rooms. We are sorry to hear that the state of your room's AC unit was less than clean. We will use your comments for further training with our staff. We do hope that you will stay with us again so that we can provide your with an EXCELLENT stay. Again, thank you for your comments and have a great day from us at the Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain!

Lauren Jacobs
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is in a nice town, and is located near a good variety of restaurants, entertainment and stores. Short scenic drive to Charlotte airport. Good room rates for AAA members or frequent HI Express patrons.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyPaulyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loray1111, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your great comments. We are proud to offer clean and comfortable rooms and a wonderful and helpful Staff to make your stay Great! We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal Center, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. While the hotel was very nice, the staff was horrid. Each person we encountered at the front desk (4) was too busy either on a cell phone or talking to a fellow employee to ask us if we needed assistance. To top the cake, when I went to check out, they had my name incorrect on the bill. Not something little like spelled wrong, but a completely different 1st name. And not only was the name wrong, the staffer forgot to have me sign upon check in, so she SIGNED my (incorrect) name to the sheet!!!!! Never again!! It's a shame, because it was a nice hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loray1111, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you did not find our staff here helpful. We take pride in having a friendly and helpful staff and hope that you will contact the hotel management directly so that we can discuss your issues. thank you for your feedback, as always it is appreciated and we will use this information for further training with out front desk staff.

Lauren Raymond
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Kings Mountain-Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly, gladly gave dining suggestions and rooms were clean and spacious! Children enjoyed swimming in the outdoor pool. We were visiting in the area and found it an easy drive to Boiling Springs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shelby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loray1111, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are so pleased to know that you had a great stay with us. As always, we pride ourselves in great rooms and a friendly and helpful staff. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff here are very friendly & answer any questions without hesitation! The rooms were very clean & smelled very fresh. It's very close to any attractions in Charlotte. I would definitely refer anyone to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerGirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loray1111, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are very pleased to know you had a wonderful stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Kings Mountain, NC. We are very proud of our staff and pride ourselves in having clean and comfortable rooms as well. Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to see you again very soon.

Lauren Raymond
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Kings Mountain, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Mountain
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
8.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#6 of 8 in Shelby
37 reviews
10.9 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia
11.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 15 in Gastonia
148 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
Address: 100 Woodlake Pkwy, I-85 Exit #8, Kings Mountain, NC 28086-9225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Kings Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kings Mountain, North Carolina. The hotel provides a modern, fresh, clean and upscale atmosphere,with an excellent location and services that you need, like our new hot breakfast, free local calls and high speed Internet, and we offer it all for a great value.Nestled in the Rolling Piedmont of North Carolina Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, Cleveland County is the gateway between Asheville and Charlotte, North Carolina. Also, centered between two of the largest metropolitan areas of the Carolinas -Charlotte, North Carolina and Greenville/Spartanburg, South Carolina. Kings Mountain is a historically significant city, the site of a major Revolutionary War Battle in 1780. We are approximately 5 miles from Crowders Mountain State Park, 6 miles to Kings Mountain State Park, and 7 miles to Kings Mountain National Military Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- Kings Mountain is located off-I-85 Exit # 8, just thirty minutes from Charlotte, NC and forty-five minutes from Greenville/Spartanburg, SC. Our Hotel has gone through a complete renovation in 2008, designed to meet the needs of corporate, group and leisure travelersWe offer meeting facilities accommodating up to 75 persons, an executive board room accommodating up to 6 persons and a 24 hour per day business center with computer, printer and Internet access. Fax and copier services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain Hotel Kings Mountain
Holiday Inn Kings Mountain
Kings Mountain Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing