We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay for a Small Town Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kinston
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Beaufort
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay for a Small Town Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Close to shopping and restaurants. Staff always friendly. Rooms very clean. Bathroom tub/shower small. Love the Managers Receptions Mon.-Wed. Grounds well maintained. Have never been disappointed when I have stayed here so would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    151
    51
    20
    9
See reviews for
138
96
29
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The first thing to know about this hotel is that this is NOT a typical Hampton Inn, but that is not a bad thing. In fact, this was not built as Hampton but was purchased several years ago from another chain (I won't mention the other chain's name, but suffice it to say that the other chain is generally more upscale). So you'll find ballrooms, a large atrium, and a separate tower for the rooms at this property.

In general, this is a good hotel for the price. The staff here was professional, friendly, and helpful. Check-in was quick, though my room was not quite ready to go until 3:10 (check-in was 3:00 PM).

Once I got to the room, it was very clean. The carpeting was clean and in good condition. There were no smoking smells in the room. There were no cleaning chemical smells to mar the experience.

The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was in good condition. We did not see any evidence of any critters wanting to share the bed with us. An extra pillow and blanket were helpfully provided in the top of the closet. There was also a luggage rack there.

The bathroom was clean. We did not see any mold or mildew. The bathroom had a bath tub if that is important to you. Water pressure was fine. The sink/vanity areas are inside the bathroom which is very cramped. What make it worse is that the bathroom door swings inward. Getting in and out can be an adventure. If they would change the door and jamb so that it swings outward it would make a world of difference.

This hotel is on the 70 bypass. It is NOT in the business district, so there is not much around it. There is a Hardees within walking distance, but that is about all. Fortunately, if you can drive, most places are only 2-5 miles away.

Hallways and elevators were clean. The curtains were in fine shape and blocked out light well. UBS charging ports are helpfully provided. I did not have the hotel breakfast, so I can't comment on that nor the pool.

My biggest gripe was the poor lighting. We were in a King suite room. It is very dark. There is a very nice counter/storage area in one area of the room (it backs up to the bathroom) which would have been very nice to use except that there was NO light at all in that area after sundown. So at nighttime you couldn't see anything on the counter or even use it. Some overhead track lighting would be great, but even a table lamp would have made the space usable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithwnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks Keith for such a Great Review and Comments on your most recent stay here at the Hampton Inn Kinston. I would like to personally thank you for bringing to my attention about the missing light at the counter in our only room suite. This was overlooked during our renovation and I can assure you that once I read your review, my managers and I have addressed this issue and will have it corrected within the next few days so there will be no need for a flashlight. I am pleased to announce that our guest bathrooms will be going under a renovation soon that will enhance the size of the bathroom. We look forward to your next return to the Kinston area and have a safe summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

First thing I noticed was the friendly staff. Greeted right away with a smile with was nice after a 12 hour drive. The room was very, very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was standard Hampton Inn fare, but was very good.

The only downside is the size of the bathroom. It reminds me of an RV bathroom. But if you don't mind smaller facilities, this hotel is pretty darn good!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Smiles from the staff is just the start of welcoming our guests to the Hampton Inn Kinston. Great service and comfortable clean rooms is our goal for success. We have learned from our guests concerning the size of our bathrooms and plans are in the schedule within the near future to start renovation on the bathrooms to enhance the size. We can't wait for you to see the new changes and welcome you back. Thanks for a great review and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

For any one who knows Kinston, NC, there aren't a lot of choices in decent hotels. Thank God for the Hampton. This hotel was clean and true to the Hampton name and style. We stayed here for our anniversary because we had reservations at a local high end restaurant and didn't want to drive the hour and a half home after dinner. Will do it again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Happy Belated Anniversary Heather and thanks for your review. You are correct, we strive to keep the Hampton Style going and love it when our guests notices the effort we do to keep it going. We look forward to your next visit to the Kinston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASHEVILLE
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Excellent property in all areas. Even though the inn was sold out, it was a quite place. Breakfast was the usual type breakfast, nothing over the top but satisfactory none the less. Not one thing wrong with this property and I would recommend to anyone to look into this property if you need a place to stay in Kinston, North Carolina.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank RANDALL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks Randall for your wonderful kind words on your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Kinston, NC. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and read their reviews about their stay with us and recommending our hotel to future guests. Ever in the area of Kinston, NC again, please Stay Here at the Hampton Inn when passing through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel far exceeded my expectations for lodging. From the call to book the room - so efficient and to the point, to after check out, outstanding in every way. As you arrive, you are greeted by a welcoming entrance that would impress those in the largest cities. Accomodations all around were perfect. Wish all hote were like this - would make traveling a pleasure. Fantastic all the way!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I could have not said it better John H with the Fantastic Service we provide. Our guests reviews and comments is always our source to know how we are doing and lets the staff know that we have achieved in our duties and make guests such as yourself happy when they leave us. As general manager, thanks again for your survey and comments on your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn Kinston, NC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very friendly, attentive and helpful staff. Michelle Quinn (Sales Manager) absolutely amazing. Excellent furnishing, Pleasant, peaceful and inviting lobby. Epitome of Hospitality. I highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks Larry! Nice to hear that we were able to assist you with your Family Reunion. You and your family were great to have and we enjoyed getting to know you all. Michelle in our Sales department does an outstanding job and we are lucky to have her as part of our Great Team. Let Michelle know when you are ready to hold next years event. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinston
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Kinston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston
24.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Goldsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Goldsboro - Base Area
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
#1 of 11 in Goldsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
22.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Goldsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kinston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kinston

Property: Hampton Inn Kinston
Address: 1382 Hwy 258 S, Kinston, NC 28504-5388
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kinston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kinston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Kinston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kinston Hotel Kinston
Kinston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing