We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice course horrible guest experience”

Sea Scape Links Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular golf course in the Outer Banks region that was designed by Art Wall, the 1959 Masters champion.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice course horrible guest experience”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have never been somewhere that had such a rude employee or supposed owner as he informed us. There are plenty of other nice courses available to play in the area where the quest experience is just as enjoyable as the courses. i would not recommebd playing there

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at Sea Scape Links Golf Course, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your response. We appreciate all types of feedback, especially information that helps Seascape to improve the experience of our players. Our patrons and members expect a certain level of golf course etiquette that was not evident in this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    9
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun shot makers course”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I really enjoyed this short course. It does require you to place your shots carefully. Miss the fairway and you can be in big trouble. the course was in great shape and the greens were a little fast but true. they had been aerated about 3 weeks before I played, but had healed wonderfully. Book on GolfNow.com for a better rate.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RogandTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswick,ga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fun course, but one bad marshal ruins it”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Recently a group of four of us played here on a vacation, myself, my father, and two of my uncles. Overall the course is nice, and the staff friendly, but be careful of lunch at the turn. The food was not bad, it is actually good for a clubhouse, as we were told by the pro in the shop, the starter, and two cart girls, over and over. They all suggest calling in lunch from the 8th hole (where a menu is provided at the tee box) and they will have it ready for you at the turn. They did, but when we sat down to eat the bartender told us we couldn't and had to take it with us as not to hold up anyone behind us. We asked if we could let any groups simply play through as the course was not crowded, and were told no.
We started the back nine trying to eat burgers on the tee box, and in between shots, as I guess is the only choice at this course. This Is when we were first approached by the marshal who told us to "stop having a picnic". We asked why we were pushed by every employee to purchase lunch if we were not going to be allowed to eat it, only to get the reply "eat while you play".
At the end of the tenth hole we had a threesome behind us catching up as we attempted to "eat while we played". We were again approached by the marshal saying we were playing too slow, that we were on pace for a 5 1/2 hour round, and he prefers to keep the round to 5 hours. We told him the smaller group behind us was welcome to play through, but we were told we just needed to play faster (again, while trying to eat the lunch pushed on you).
This persisted THE ENTIRE BACK NINE. The marshal coming up on every tee box telling us to hurry, but not wanting the threesome behind us to play through. I'd understand if we were goofing off, but we weren't, we were simply playing a round of golf. The group behind us was playing three man best ball, not rocket science, but that is faster than 4 playing straight up. Even faster when they aren't sanding divots or repairing ball marks (or waiting for the group in front of them to clear before they hit).
Its hard to play fast when "eating while you play", waiting on the cart girl to clear from in front of you every other hole (literally, they must have had a death wish), and a marshal constantly badgering you AT EVERY TEE BOX.
Funny enough, when people anger me I play worse, as do most, and the round takes longer. We finished up with a round that took 4 people 4 hours and 45 minutes, at a course we had never played full of blind shots. Not good enough for the marshal though, who said "it should only take 15 minutes a hole, that's 4 1/2 hours."
Good at math the guy was, but here it is more in depth:

par 72 course x 4 players = 288 total strokes shooting an even round. (like most people, we are not that good)
at 4 1/2 hours (270 minutes) that provides each player less than a minute to get to or locate their ball, line up the shot, and hit the ball.
Please. If you want rounds that fast, ask for a handicap and tell me in advance, or allow us to let someone play through. If you don't want people to eat, don't have the entire staff push lunch on customers. And if you want people to return to your course (which we didn't), don't let one marshal with a power trip and bad math skills undo all the great customer service the rest of the staff had.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank crpbroomell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Golf Course”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My two nephews scheduled a tee-time at Sea Scape Links Golf Course when we were in Duck, NC last week. They came back and said it was a really nice golf course and thought the price was very reasonable. They really enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bob was rude and criminal like”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Bob was rude and treated us like garbage under his foot acted like a criminal. We unknowingly purchased a 9.hole t time from their website and upon checking in Bob never mentioned 9 holes. In fact made us read a policy that after starting the 10th hole we could not get a rain check. After teeing off on the 10th Bob came out to tell us to pay for the back 9 immediately and threatened to call the police. He actually pulled his phone out and started to dial. I asked if he thought we were trying to steal 9 holes and he yes and then repeated to us to pay now or he is calling the police. First off all we all work hard and have professional jobs and stealing 9 holes was a ridiculous accusation, We then realized it was a scam to begin with - Get us out to the course for a cheap rate and when we check-in never mention 9 holes, and even mislead us into we were playing 18, then threaten us with incarceration right after we T-off on the 10th unless we pay now! Bob's behavior was so bizarre and he certainly was NOT being a gentleman as you would expect while out with your family for a nice outing. There was hardly anyone else at the course so this is how they get money out of the people that do come to play. Nice try for the bait and switch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Lar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Scape Links Golf Course also viewed

Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Outer Banks, North Carolina Coast
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Sea Scape Links Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing