We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Amazing Stay in Kitty Hawk'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Haven

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitty Hawk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach Haven
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“'Amazing Stay in Kitty Hawk'”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wow, what an amazing internet find, this small resort is definately a hidden treasure! We wanted a quiet, beachfront location and Beach Haven certainly ticked all the boxes. Beach Haven is located across a quiet side road from the beach and within a short distance of great restaurants. Our room was bright, airy and clean and Raina was the perfect host. We will definately be back to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    16
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
30
70
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

well just returned from another awesome stay here! the place has been totally remodeled and refurbished....made up to date in bedding...furniture...shower...art work...carpet! quaint and low foot traffic....very private....very small....just perfect! room rates are low. you'll not find a better motel with so many amenities as beach haven. and clean! and smells so amazing....we had to ask them what they use! febreeze and carpet powder! we've had the large rooms....we usually get the smallest rooms. they serve the purpose for sleeping and showering! the pelican nest to view the ocean across the street has a bench and a rocking chair with planters! there is a shower and hose to hose off feet and beach stuff etc. there is a charcoal grill! and this is really great....they rent brand new beach umbrellas...chairs...$1....yes...one dollar per day! don't haul your beach chairs and umbrellas down here...they have it! and they have boogie boards! and ice! paying is on the honor system...you plop your dollar down in a jar! same with ice! but ice is $2 for a big bag! nice TV's....all flat screens suspended on wall mounts....fridges...microwaves...coffee pots and real silverware if you bring food back to room which we always do! it's so convenient. and the beach...directly across the road....navigate the dune and you're right on the beach! couple steps to paradise....really! and the live on site property manager...raina....she's great and loves to chat! she's very informative...always helpful and wants to go out of her way to do what she can for everyone! you really can't walk to nice restaurants....hop in your car...drive two minutes and you're at the black pelican or hurricane mo's....excellent food! beach haven has off street free and plentiful parking behind motel! one way in...one way out driveway....a loop around to come and go....works very well. there are only 6 units....never a crowd....off season or high season. with 6 units....how could it possibly get crowded? and since there are no other motels or private houses on beach....the only people on beach in front of motel are motel guests! you have the beach all to yourselves! oh....one thing! the beach...in the water and and out on sand...it's very grainy to tiny pebbles. it's not one of those white powdery soft sands....it's tan in color and it's pretty hard on sensitive feet! bring water/sand shoes for comfort! you won't be sorry. the water is clean and clear. Beach Haven will be your new "go to" place in the outer banks! it's been ours now for 10 years at least and keeps getting better. Raina is always refreshing the place....always something new.

Room Tip: there is no bad room here! just decide if you want a sofa or not....that gives you more room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaunaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here this week for a night while traveling through the area. I wish we could've stayed longer! Beach Haven is located directly across the street from the beach and down the road from a few restaurants. Raina took my reservation when I called and she was incredibly helpful, gave specific directions for us to find Beach Haven since she knew we'd never been to the area before. She also checked us in and showed us around the property. I really enjoyed and appreciated her hospitality, especially since we only stayed one night.

The room was fantastic - very clean and there was a ton of space. There's fridge, microwave and water cooler in the room. There's an outdoor shower which is really convenient when you come back from the beach and two patio areas for guests to use as well. I highly recommend staying here and look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We wanted a quiet vacation in a small place close to the beach. Beach Haven was just that and so much more. Located between MP 3 & 4 on highway 12 (the beach road) in Kitty Hawk, NC it's just across the road from the beach. Our room was right next to the observation platform with a great view of the ocean and lovely landscaped property of Beach Haven. The room itself was well appointed with a queen bed, couch, coffee table, desk & chair, dresser, TV, wi-fi, frig, microwave, coffee maker, dishes & flatware, extra pillow and blankets. Oh, did I mention bottled water? The manager, Raina, was very helpful and friendly. She made us feel right at home with great ideas on where to eat. We'll be back, I'm sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jere G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire, il
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

was looking for someplace to stay prior to driving down the Outer Banks of NC and this place popped up. called the 800 number and Raina called back and we had a lovely chat. the room was great including a large TV, large coffee maker, nice fridge with ice cube trays and very comfortable bed. although we were only there one night it would have been a great place to spend a few days with an outdoor barbeque available for use. also, less than 5 minutes down the driveway, across the street, over a very small hill and you were on the beach. also nearby were several very nice places to eat. would we go back? in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: just let Raina talk about the various choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Beach Haven is undoubtedly the most accommodating place we have ever visited. Raina was a pure delight and made our perfect weekend even better. Her hospitality and refreshing personality made the experience feel more like we were staying at a home away from home than in a motel. In addition, our room and the grounds were immaculate. It was obvious that strict attention was given to every detail. The entire weekend was quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Beach Haven will be the only place for us to stay on the Outer Banks in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1260LLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was the nicest motel I have stayed at for years. The rooms are furnished with very clean and relaxing furniture, freshly painted and immaculately cleaned and maintained. The manager, Raina, is available all the time checking to make sure everything is comfortable and with helpful advice on places to eat and things to see (even on the weather forecast). Upon arrival Raina cheerfully greeted us, gave us a quick orientation and we were on our way to a relaxing stay. Initially we had only booked for two nights but we were treated so well that we decided to stay three more days and were able to do so because it was after peek season. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job. They gave attention to every detail as though they were staying there themselves. We told Raina that we would be booking early next season with her! I highly recommend Beach Haven for an extraordinary, enjoyable stay on the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
3.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
795 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
6.0 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Property: Beach Haven
Address: 4104 Virginia Dare Trl N, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4182
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel Kitty Hawk
Beach Haven Kitty Hawk, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing